美国法院支持BTC黄金案中Coinbase的立场

美国法院支持BTC黄金案中Coinbase的立场

针对达雷尔·阿切尔(Darrell Archer)起诉数字货币交易所Coinbase一案,美国上诉法院已做出有利于Coinbase的判决,阿切尔起诉的理由是该平台不允许其在平台使用BTC黄金。

阿切尔在2017年BTC黄金(BTG)分叉后提出诉讼。分叉前阿切尔的Coinbase账户中有350个BTC, 如果Coinbase支持BTG的话,这些BTC可以转为等值BTG。但Coinbase最终没有支持BTG。

Coinbase告知用户,由于BTG开发者没有公开源代码,导致安全风险过高——这一观点极有先见之明,因为第二年该网络就遭到入侵,导致持有该货币的用户和交易平台价值数百万的货币遭窃。

初审法官批准了Coinbase提出的即决判决申请,理由是阿切尔未能就与案件有关的任何重要事实提供可供审判的问题。阿切尔就这一点提出上诉,本周该上诉被驳回,意味着阿切尔的彻底落败。

本案中法院的立场极为重要,这样的立场表达着法院对Coinbase等交易所的态度,以及法院希望这些交易所在保护数字资产投资者方面的作用和需要对用户承担的责任。

阿切尔提出索赔的诉讼理由有三个:违反合约、侵占和过失。

有关违反合约,阿切尔在诉讼中声称,他在Coinbase开立账户时与交易所签有合约,而Coinbase不允许原告以适当方式将分叉的BTG存入账户的行为违反了该合约。阿切尔表示,他并不是因为Coinbase违反了书面协议而起诉,而是因为Coinbase并未按照“声称”,没有做到提供“常规和惯例”服务。

阿切尔提出索赔的第二个依据是侵占,他认为是Coinbase的错误导致自己无法拥有这笔财产(即BTG)。阿切尔辩称,本案中的“错误行为”指的是Coinbase的不作为,交易所未能支持新资产,导致他的财产损失。

阿切尔在诉讼中提出的最后一个索赔理由是过失。这一点与他上一个侵占索赔理由紧密相关:Coinbase应对阿切尔负有支持BTG的法律义务,但由于过失未能履行此义务。

上诉法院以与初审法官给出的相同理由驳回了阿切尔,并批准了Coinbase提出的即决判决申请。

关于违反合约索赔,法院表示没有找到任何理由能证明Coinbase和阿切尔签定的合约中规定Coinbase需向他提供BTG服务。事实上,关于BTG,Coinbase只陈述过它并非安全网络,因此拒绝支持,没承诺过其他内容。

法院也驳回了控诉Coinbase没有采取积极行动导致阿切尔损失财产的索赔,认为Coinbase平台拒绝支持BTG并不构成侵占。

法院以相同理由驳回了阿切尔的过失索赔。

虽然阿切尔一案件似乎注定以失败告终,但判决结果让人们得以窥见法院对类似Coinbase这样的交易所在数字货币生态系统中所扮演角色的一些权威观点。对法院而言,采信阿切尔就意味着无论新数字资产的安全性如何,所有交易所都有义务支持新数字资产。

考虑到如今构思粗糙、开发简易和管理不善的数字资产层出不穷,这样的结果本来就是不可为的,交易所还会仅因不支持鲜为人知且无安全保护的虚假货币面临违反合约索赔。这将使得合法的交易所不能审查和管理自己支持的资产,这样做将导致重要的管制失效,而无法保护投资者,投资者身处在几乎无形的市场,而且似乎每周都有可疑的代币试图混入这个市场。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

US court rules in favor of Coinbase in BTC Gold row

US court rules in favor of Coinbase in BTC Gold row

A U.S. Court of Appeal has confirmed an earlier judgment in favor on Coinbase in Darrell Archer’s suit against the digital currency exchange for not letting him use Bitcoin Gold on their platform.

Archer brought the suit after the BTC Gold (BTG) fork in 2017. Archer had 350 Bitcoin in a Coinbase account at the time of the fork, which would carry over to the new currency if BTG ended up being supported by Coinbase. It wasn’t.

Coinbase told its customers that the security risk created by the BTG developers not making the source code public was too great—which turned out to be well founded, as the network was hacked the very next year resulting in the theft of millions of dollars worth of the currency from users and trading platforms hosting the currency.

The trial judge granted an application for summary judgment made by Coinbase on the basis that Archer had failed to show any triable issue on any material fact of the case. Archer appealed, and this week that appeal was rejected, leaving Archer’s suit dead in the water.

The position taken by the Courts in this case is important because it shows the attitude of the Court in relation to exchanges like Coinbase, the role they play in protecting digital asset investors and the responsibilities they owe to their users.

Archer’s claim was based on three causes of action: breach of contract, conversion and negligence.

Regarding breach of contract, Archer alleged in his complaint that in opening an account on Coinbase, he had established a contract between himself and the exchange, which was breached by their refusal to allow the plaintiff to properly deposit his forked BTG to his account. Archer conceded that the breach comes not from a written agreement, but from Coinbase ‘holding itself out’ as an exchange that would provide ‘usual and customary’ services.

The second basis for Archer’s claim was conversion—that Coinbase had committed a wrongful act which interfered with Archer’s possession of his property, meaning BTG. Archer tried to argue that the ‘wrongful act’ here was in fact an omission on the part of Coinbase in taking no action to support the new asset and therefore depriving him of control over his property.

The last of the claims in Archer’s suit was for negligence. This is closely tied to the reasoning behind his conversion claim: that Coinbase owed Archer a legal duty to support BTG and negligently failed to do so.

The appellate court rejected Archer’s arguments and granted Coinbase’s application for summary judgment for the same reasons given by the trial judge.

Of the breach of contract claim, the Court said it could find no grounds which established a contract between Coinbase and Archer which would require that Coinbase provides BTG to him. In fact, all the representations made by Coinbase relating to BTG were that it was not a secure network and as such it would not support it.

They rejected the conversion claim because there was no positive act on the part of Coinbase to deprive Archer of his property—merely declining to support BTG on its platform could not amount to a conversion.

The negligence claim was rejected for similar reasons.

While it seems that Archer’s case was always doomed, the judgment provides good authority on the Court’s view on the role of exchanges like Coinbase within the ecosystem. For them to accept Archer’s reasoning would have meant imposing a duty on all exchanges to support all new digital assets at all times, regardless of safety features.

This would have been an untenable state of affairs given the deluge of poorly conceived, developed and managed digital assets that come and go, and expose exchanges to claims for breach of contract over the mere fact that they do not support, for example, a hardly-known sham currency with little to no security protections. It would remove the ability of legitimate exchanges to vet and curate the assets they support, and in doing so would remove an important control which ultimately protects investors in a world where few exist and seemingly more suspect coins attempt to enter the market each week.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]