The guys from Haste with Isaac Moorehouse

《小额支付是件大事》第10部分:用Haste重塑街机

Haste Arcade可能是最有趣的事物——你们所创造的即时排行榜支付系统简洁又美观——是我在游戏领域中所见过的最有趣的小额支付用例。——Isaac Morehouse

这就是Arcade的酷炫之处,它让我们觉得加密货币就在后台。您可以把它当作一款普通产品进行销售。如果您是一名游戏玩家,此处有一个新的方式来使用您今天已经在做的事情获利。——Joe DePinto

获客体验肯定是针对主流用户的,所以如果您正在倾听节目,而且您不是一个加密货币用户,从来都没有听说过加密货币,从来没拥有过一个钱包,这将是一个让您开始涉足的好地方。它就像您曾经注册过的任何其他平台一样。——Dan Wagner

Isaac Morehouse的“小额支付是件大事”YouTube系列视频的第10集介绍了Haste Arcade的Joe DePinto和Dan Wagner,这两位前小联盟棒球运动员曾在全国巡回比赛时成为室友。

自从这对搭档在BSV区块链领域首次亮相后,Haste Arcade被宣布为该领域中最具创新性的游戏应用之一,它具有吸引大众的巨大潜力。根据Morehouse的说法,Haste Arcade“绝对是普通人体验小额支付力量的最佳方式之一”,这正是DePinto和Wagner作为嘉宾出现在该系列节目中的原因。

Barpay和它在Haste Arcade中发挥的作用

当DePinto和Wagner提出关于Haste Arcade的想法时,他们既不是游戏玩家,也不是小额交易者;事实上,这一 “顿悟”的时刻可以追溯到他们创建Barpay时的创业时期,Barpay是一款非接触式移动订购与支付平台。

当他们在21世纪10年代中期建立Barpay时,两人对信用卡处理费用以及这一切在幕后的运作情况进行了解,他们亲眼见证了为什么不可能用信用卡进行小额支付。当他们在2015年第一次听到比特币系统时(那时BTC的交易费用还没有失控),他们耳目一新,由此对即时小额支付产生兴趣。

Wagner表示:“最初吸引我们的是【小额支付】,它将为我们为BarPay构建的事物带来竞争优势。”

2017年时人们目睹了ICO和BTC费用的起起落落,这对DePinto和Wagner来说是一件令人沮丧的事情,但正是出于这种沮丧,人们才开始关注小额支付能力。

“这是一种很有前途的事物,如果您要在互联网上构建任何一种技术,这种能够在互联网上转移少量资金的想法似乎应该是每个人心目中的首要观念。Wagner分享道:“我们刚刚偶然发现了这种能创造各种新机会和商业模式的事物。”

“我们一直想在产品中应用【比特币系统】,我认为我们每天都在接近该目标。但【Barpay】确实促使了Haste的诞生。”他肯定地说。

Haste Arcade诞生了

2021年1月2日,DePinto和Wagner在办公室里沉思,为什么人们没有利用比特币系统?我们能做些什么来帮助他们?他们非常想用不与“区块链”或“比特币系统”或“加密货币”挂钩的方式向现实世界中的人们展示小额支付,他们想避免人们混淆这些事情,他们想让每个人都认为小额支付简单且有趣。

这时他们想到了游戏……他们认为每个人都喜欢游戏。他们开始考虑在游戏中使用小额支付可以做什么,关于街机和排行榜的想法一直萦绕在他们的脑海中。

其中一人说:“如果我们只是按照排行榜支付奖励,那会怎么样?您投入25美分,它只是按照现有的排行榜支付奖励。我们当时想,‘哇。这很有趣……’”Wagner回忆说。

他补充说:“基本上来说,我们想采用即时排行榜支付(ILP)的概念,并将其转变为一个使第三方游戏开发者能够开始构建与提交游戏的平台。”

由于小额支付的存在,Haste Arcade诞生之后为游戏玩家和游戏开发者创造了一种新的盈利方式,并且有无数的方法来发展并充实这些概念。

“一些早期迹象表明这可能是一件重要的事情。”Wagner证实。

将加密货币排除在外

为了吸引大众,并将人们带到比特币狂热者泡沫的范围之外,Haste Arcade团队使游戏玩家能够在熟悉的平台(如Twitter)上注册,并使用信用卡购买Haste代币。这样BSV就实现了幕后运作,而游戏玩家甚至不需要知道它的存在。

“有很多休闲游戏玩家并不关心加密货币,我们只是认为他们会喜欢这个概念。我们把加密货币排除在外。”Wagner建议。

“没有人会关心解决方案的技术规格。他们关心的只是如何解决这个问题。”Morehouse补充说道。

DePinto指出,除了交易所之外,我们还没有看到区块链或加密货币公司向大众营销,但Haste Arcade即将改变这种情况,因为它可以被当做一个普通产品进行营销。一旦用户数量像DePinto和Wagner所期望的那样成倍增长,进入排行榜的游戏玩家有可能开始每周赚取500美元甚至1000美元,这时我们将开始看到用户的快速采用。

对于游戏开发者来说这是一个独特的机会

Haste Arcade SDK被推出以来,街机中的大多数游戏都是由第三方开发者建立的。这些开发者从其游戏产生的收入中获得一定比例的报酬——即时且直接地进入他们的钱包——这是游戏开发者创造收入的新途径。

DePinto指出,游戏开发者还没有意识到小额支付的潜力,例如,小额支付可以被用于排行榜以外的其他方式的支付,例如按照“战损”比来支付奖励,或者按照玩家在比赛后剩余的弹药量来支付奖励。

“有了小额支付,您可以把它用于上述任何一种用途。这就是小额支付的酷炫之处,它创造了所有这些潜在的商业模式或收入来源,我认为这些游戏工作室还没有意识到这一点。”DePinto说。

DePinto谈到了一些关于Haste的未来计划,其中包括与AAA工作室合作,并将ILP带入现实世界,例如与像Peloton这样的软件结合——如果用户认为他们在某一特定课程上花费的时间会超过其他人,他们能够以一分钱或一美元为计量单位进行支付。

“现实世界中的ILP真的非常有趣。”Wagner调侃道。

为什么是BSV?

Haste Arcade是一个完美的用例,除了BSV之外,人们不可能使用任何其他区块链来构建这样的事物。

在决定于哪条区块链上进行构建之前,Wagner在Discord频道上询问开发者对于使用Solana进行开发的体验,并且询问类似于单次支付可以产生多少输出的问题。Wagner承认,Solana一开始符合了他的很多标准,但是一旦他开始深入了解ILP的概念时,这一切都崩塌了。

Wagner还解释了使用HandCash SDK是如何帮助他相信BSV是可靠的选择的,并补充说坐等以太坊的第二层解决方案是绝对没有意义的。

DePinto同意这点并为Haste的计划作出解释,即最终让其他区块链参与到生态系统中来只是为了扩大他们的用户群,但他指出,实际上一切都可以在BSV上完成,BSV与其他区块链不同。

“我们仍然处于十分早期的阶段。大众还不关心我们所做的事情。所以我认为,随着我们把越来越多的人引入生态系统之中,在他们所享受的一系列不同产品中,他们会自然而然地开始被自己能够使用的产品所吸引。”DePinto预测道。

另请观看:CoinGeek纽约大会演讲,在线游戏:BSV区块链上的下一层次

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

The guys from Haste with Isaac Moorehouse

Tiny payments are a big deal Part 10: Re-inventing the arcade with Haste

Haste Arcade is probably the single most interesting – the beautiful simplicity of your Instant Leaderboard Payout system you guys created – is the single most interesting use case for micropayments in gaming that I’ve seen. – Isaac Morehouse

This is what’s been so cool about the Arcade and getting it to the point that we’re like crypto is in the background. You can just market this as a regular product. If you’re a gamer, here’s a new way to monetize something that you’re already doing today. – Joe DePinto

Onboarding experience is definitely tailored towards that mainstream user so if you’re listening and you’re not a crypto user, you’ve never heard of crypto, never had a wallet, this would be a great place to start and get your feet wet. It will feel just like any other platform you’ve ever signed up for. – Dan Wagner

The 10th episode of Isaac Morehouse’s “Tiny Payments are a Big Deal” YouTube series featured Joe DePinto and Dan Wagner of Haste Arcade, two former minor league baseball players who met sharing a room while they toured the country playing ball. 

Since the pair debuted on the BSV blockchain scene, Haste Arcade has been declared one of the most innovative gaming applications in the space with significant potential of appealing to the masses. According to Morehouse, Haste Arcade is “absolutely one of the best ways for normal people to experience the power of micropayments,” the precise reason why DePinto and Wagner appeared as guests on this series.

Barpay and its role in Haste Arcade

DePinto and Wagner were not gamers nor microtransactors when they came up with the idea for Haste Arcade; in fact, the “ah ha” moment goes back to their entrepreneurial days with Barpay, a contactless order and pay mobile platform.

When they were building Barpay in the mid-2010s, the pair learned about credit card processing fees and how it all works behind the scenes, seeing first hand why it’s not possible to do small payments with credit cards. When they first heard of Bitcoin in 2015 (back in the days when BTC transaction fees were not out of control) it perked their ears and this is where an interest in instant, micropayments began.

“The original thing that brought us in was [micropayments are] going to give us a competitive advantage for what we’re building with BarPay,” Wagner revealed.

Watching the rise and fall of ICOs plus BTC fee dramas in 2017 was frustrating for DePinto and Wagner, but it was out of this frustration that the focus on micropayment capabilities began. 

“This is such a promising thing, this idea of being able to move little bitty amounts of money across the internet, it seemed like this should be on the top of everyone’s mindset if you’re building any sort of tech on the internet. We’ve just stumbled across this thing that creates all sorts of new opportunities and business models,” Wagner shared.

“We’ve always wanted to implement [Bitcoin] and I think we get closer and closer every day. But [Barpay] truly is the thing that led to Haste,” he confirmed.

Haste Arcade is born

On Jan 2, 2021, DePinto and Wagner were in the office late thinking, why aren’t people getting it? This Bitcoin thing? What can we do to help? They so badly wanted to demonstrate micropayments to the real world in the way that does not tie back to “blockchain” or “Bitcoin” or “crypto,” they wanted to avoid confusion and make it simple and fun for everyone. 

This was the moment when they started thinking about games…everyone likes to game, they reasoned. They started toying with the idea of what you could do with micropayments in a game and the idea of an arcade and leaderboards just kept coming to mind.

“One of us said, ‘What if we just paid the leaderboard’? You put a quarter in and it just pays the existing leaderboard. And we were like, ‘Woah. That’s interesting…,’” Wagner reminisced.

“We would basically like to take this concept of Instant Leaderboard Payouts (ILP) and turn it into a platform and allow third party game developers to start building and submitting games,” he added.

Once born, thanks to micropayments, Haste Arcade created a new way for gamers and game developers to monetize and there are countless ways to grow and expand on these concepts. 

“We have some early indicators that this could be a thing,” Wagner confirmed.

Take crypto out of it

In an effort to appeal to the masses and expand beyond the Bitcoin enthusiast bubble, the Haste Arcade team allows gamers to sign up with familiar platforms such as Twitter and use a credit card to buy Haste tokens. This way BSV is working under the hood and the gamers don’t even need to know it’s there. 

“There’s so many casual gamers that don’t care about crypto and we just think that they’ll be into this concept. Take crypto out of it,” Wagner advised.

“Nobody cares about the technical specifications of the solution. They care about getting the problem solved,” Morehouse added.

DePinto pointed out we are yet to see blockchain/crypto companies marketing to the masses other than exchanges, but Haste Arcade is about to change that because it can be marketed as a regular product. Once the userbase grows exponentially as DePinto and Wagner expect it to, gamers who make the leaderboard can potentially start making $500 or even $1,000 a week and this is when we’ll start to see rapid user adoption.

A unique opportunity for game developers

Since the launch of the Haste Arcade SDK, the majority of the games in the arcade have been built by third party developers. These developers get paid a percentage from the revenues generated by their games—instantly and straight to their wallets—a new way for game developers to generate revenue. 

DePinto pointed out how game developers are not yet aware of the potential of micropayments, for example they can be used in ways other than paying out the leaderboard, take “kill to death” ratios for example, or how much ammo a player has left over after a match.

“Because of the micropayment you can assign it to any of these things. That’s what’s so cool about micropayments, it just creates all these new potential business models or revenue streams that I don’t think these games studios realize yet,” DePinto said.

DePinto touched on some of the future plans for Haste, including working with AAA studios and taking ILP into the physical world, for example with Pelotons—users could spend a penny or a dollar if they think their time on a particular course will beat everyone else’s. 

“ILP in the physical world is really, really fun to think about,” Wagner teased.

Why BSV?

The Haste Arcade is a perfect example of an application that could never be built using any other blockchain than BSV.

Before deciding on which blockchain to build on, Wagner went around Discord channels asking developers about their experience with Solana, how many outputs are possible from a single payment, questions like this. Wagner admitted Solana ticked a lot of the boxes at first, but once he started getting into the weeds with the ILP concept, it all just fell apart.

Wagner also explained how playing around with the HandCash SDK helped convince him that BSV was the solid choice and added how sitting around and waiting for a layer 2 solution on Ethereum absolutely makes no sense at all.

DePinto agreed and explained Haste’s plans to eventually involve other blockchains in the ecosystem simply to grow their userbase, but pointed out that everything can actually be done on BSV, unlike the rest of the blockchains out there.

“We are still super early. The masses don’t care yet. So I think that as we bring more and more people into the ecosystem they’ll just naturally start gravitating towards what they can use across a whole bunch of different products that they enjoy,” DePinto predicted.

Watch: CoinGeek New York presentation, Online Games: Next Level on the BSV Blockchain

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]