“极其不严格”的币安再度被控洗钱——FATF对其保持关注

监管机构甚至其他一些数字资产交易所都在对币安施加法律方面的压力。本周,日本的Fisco控告这家人气颇高的交易所参与洗钱,称其子公司Zaif在2018年被盗取的900多万美元正是通过在币安开设的账户洗钱的。此外,金融行动特别工作组(FATF)发布了一份关于洗钱和恐怖主义融资的报告,除了未直接点名之外,其中部分内容所述均指向币安

Fisco/Zaif

据报道,Fisco加密货币交易所于周一向美国加州圣何塞北部地区法院提起诉讼,要求赔偿其损失。Fisco在诉讼书中称,Zaif交易所在2018年的一次黑客入侵中损失的部分(当时)价值940万美元的比特币(BTC)都进入了币安所属的一个地址。

2018年9月,黑客从Zaif的钱包中盗取了价值近6,000万美元的比特币(BTC)、比特币现金(BCH)和萌奈币(Monacoin),而当时这家总部位于大阪的交易所才刚刚进入日本的数字资产行业。不久之后,Fisco向该公司提供了50亿日元(合4,730万美元)的援助,并接管了公司。

此外,诉讼书还称币安对其平台被利用进行非法收益洗钱的事实,要么心知肚明,要么疏于防范。Fisco表示,该公司的“了解客户/反洗钱”(KYC/AML)政策“极其不严格”且达不到行业标准,并声称盗窃团伙正是因此而选择通过币安来洗钱。并且该公司既没有采取任何行动来冻结他们的账户,也没有阻止他们进行交易并离开平台,诉讼书补充道。

币安被指控任由洗钱团伙利用其平台进行交易已经不是一两次了。就在上周,独立调查人员在报告中称,有超过100万美元与“Ryuk”勒索软件有关的资金是过币安进行交易的。克雷格·怀特(Craig S. Wright)博士之前曾表示,每年约有21亿美元的违法所得是通过币安进行洗钱的。

该公司是世界上最活跃的交易平台之一(在客户数量和上市资产方面),并且对新账户的“了解客户/反洗钱”要求也相对宽松,这两点常常被认为是造成这种情况的原因。

FATF密切关注险信号

除了上述指控之外,国际监管机构也都在密切关注币安的一举一动。金融行动特别工作组(FATF)本周发布了一份名为“虚拟资产:危险信号的标志”的报告。报告强调了数字资产行业中表明存在洗钱风险的一些迹象,提供的案例研究没有指明任何公司的名字,但其中一个案例与币安的经历非常相似。

该案例对一家不断变换司法辖区的虚拟资产服务供应商(VASP)进行了详细描述,一旦之前所在的辖区实施了更严格的“了解客户/反洗钱”法规,该公司就会迁至别处:

2017年,在亚洲的A辖区实施禁止虚拟资产服务供应商经营的政策之前,一家设在A辖区内的虚拟资产服务供应商(交易所)将其业务转移至了同一地区的B辖区。2018年,在一些主要虚拟资产服务供应商(交易所)遭遇严重黑客攻击后,B辖区加强了针对虚拟资产的反洗钱/反恐融资(AML/CFT)法律制度。同年3月,该虚拟资产服务供应商宣布有意将其总部迁往欧洲的C辖区(当时,该辖区尚未出台有关虚拟资产和虚拟资产服务供应商的全面反洗钱/反恐融资制度)。当年11月底,C辖区出台了针对虚拟资产服务供应商的法规,并于2020年2月确认未批准这家虚拟资产服务供应商开展经营。2020年的一些最新报告显示,该虚拟资产服务供应商已将其注册和所在地迁至非洲的D辖区。

该报告还补充说,“本报告中所列出的标志特指与虚拟资产相关的固有特性和隐患。”然而,业内并没有哪一家公司的经历比币安更符合上述描述,这就意味着当局极有可能把币安视作一种风险,并对此保持着密切关注。

任何为了逃避监管而变换辖区的交易所迟早会发现自己其实别无选择。只有可能会更容易引起监管部门的注意。一直以来,监管机构对这些公司,尤其是针对币安,都进行过许多暗示性或明确的警告,此类公司的员工和客户均应对此多加留意。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

‘Shockingly lax’ Binance again accused of money laundering—and FATF is watching

Regulators and even other digital asset exchanges are turning up the legal heat on Binance. The popular exchange was this week targeted in a money laundering complaint by Japan’s Fisco, alleging Binance allowed over US$9 million in stolen funds from Fisco’s subsidiary Zaif to be washed through its accounts in 2018. Additionally, the international Financial Action Task Force (FATF) issued a report on money laundering and terrorist financing that referred to Binance in all but name.

The Fisco/Zaif case

According to news reports, Fisco Cryptocurrency Exchange, Inc. filed a complaint on Monday in the U.S. District Court of the Northern District of California San Jose, seeking damages and restitution. The complaint claims US$9.4 million worth (at the time) of BTC, part of the proceeds from a hack on the exchange Zaif in 2018, ended up in a single address belonging to Binance.

Osaka-based Zaif was only a recent entrant to the Japanese digital asset industry when hackers stole almost US$60 million in BTC, BCH and Monacoin from its wallets in September 2018. Fisco stepped in to take over the company soon after, in a JPY5 billion (US$47.3 million) bailout.

Moreover, the complaint alleges Binance was either well aware or negligent of the fact that proceeds of the crime were being laundered on its platform. It described the company’s KYC/AML policies as “shockingly lax” and not measuring up to industry standards, and claimed the thieves had chosen Binance for this reason. The company had failed to take any action to freeze the accounts or stop them being exchanged and leaving the platform, it added.

It’s not the first time Binance has been accused of being money launderers’ exchange of choice. Nor is it the second. Just last week, independent researchers reported over $1 million in proceeds from the “Ryuk” ransomware passed through Binance. Dr. Craig S. Wright has claimed in the past that Binance may be responsible for laundering around $2.1 billion in criminal proceeds each year.

The company’s status as one of the world’s most active trading platforms (in both customers and assets listed) and its comparatively relaxed KYC/AML requirements for new accounts are often cited as reasons for this.

FATF is watching for ‘red flags’

As if all that weren’t enough, international regulators are also watching Binance closely. The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) published a report this week titled “Virtual Assets: Red Flag Indicators”. It highlighted signs of money laundering risk in the digital asset industry, providing case studies that didn’t name any company by name, but one of which closely mirrors Binance’s story.

The case study detailed a VASP (virtual asset service provider) that has hopped between various jurisdictions, relocating operations as the previous jurisdiction’s KYC/AML laws became stricter:

“Ahead of the implementation of a policy to prohibit VASP operation in Jurisdiction A in Asia in 2017, a VASP (exchange) established in Jurisdiction A transferred its operation to Jurisdiction B in the same region. In 2018, Jurisdiction B stepped up its AML/CFT legal regime on VAs following significant hacks of some major VASPs (exchanges). In March 2018, the VASP announced its intentions to relocate its headquarters to Jurisdiction C in Europe (a jurisdiction which had not yet introduced a comprehensive AML/CFT regime in relation to VAs and VASPs at the time). Later in November 2018, Jurisdiction C introduced certain regulations on VASPs, and in February 2020, it confirmed that no authorisation was given to the corresponding VASP to operate. More recent reports in 2020 indicated that the VASP had already relocated its registration and domicile status to Jurisdiction D in Africa.”

The report added that “the indicators included in this Report are specific to the inherent characteristics and vulnerabilities associated with VAs”. However there is no other company in the industry whose narrative matches the description above as closely as Binance’s, meaning the authorities most likely see Binance as a risk—and one they’re keeping an eye on.

Sooner or later, any exchange engaging in jurisdiction-hopping to avoid regulation will find itself out of options. Chances are that will be sooner. There have been many implicit and explicit warnings about these companies and particularly Binance—staff and customers alike would be advised to heed them.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.