俄罗斯籍BTC诈骗犯认罪, 承认参与美国最大网络诈骗案

俄罗斯籍BTC诈骗犯认罪, 承认参与美国最大网络诈骗案

美国当局表示,该国史上最严重的网络诈骗案幕后国际网络犯罪集团的关键人物之一,已承认自己敲诈勒索的罪行,这名俄罗斯籍罪犯通过操控网络诈骗活动,造成了受害者超过22亿美元的损失。

美国司法部(DoJ)透露,谢尔盖·梅德韦杰夫(Sergey Medvedev)在美国内华达州地方法院承认犯罪指控。33岁的梅德韦杰夫是Infraud组织的重要成员,该网络犯罪团伙从事金融诈骗和身份盗窃。

Infraud成立于2010年,直到2018年2月才被关停,彼时Infraud已经发展成为最大的网络诈骗团伙之一。该组织成员以“In Fraud We Trust(诈骗即信仰)”为座右铭,进行银行和支付卡欺诈活动,是被盗信用卡信息买卖的最大交易市场之一。

根据美国司法部的调查,Infraud受害者直接被盗金额达5.68亿美元,造成的间接损失超过22亿美元。该平台为信息销售提供了便利,泄露了包括Visa、American Express、Mastercard和Discover在内多家行业领头公司400多万张卡号,此外还有无数美国金融机构受牵连。

美国司法部称,梅德韦杰夫与同案被告乌克兰人斯维亚托斯拉夫·邦达伦科(Svyatoslav Bondarenko)一起创立了Infraud。邦达伦科是Infraud平台最高管理层之一,同时负责会员托管服务。

另外,梅德韦杰夫还提供数字货币兑换服务,为平台会员洗钱。

美国司法部称,梅德韦杰夫通过提供支付服务、托管维护和广告监管,赚取了100多万美元。

Infraud是目前运作最好的网络犯罪团伙之一。管理员会甄别盗取的数据,确保其真实性,并负责批准新成员的加入。他们还雇佣了多名监督员,根据各自的专业领域经验监督管理各板块工作。Infraud甚至还为早期会员设立了VIP等级。

疯狂洗劫近十年后,在澳大利亚、法国、美国、英国、科索沃、塞尔维亚和意大利当局的共同努力下,该犯罪团伙终于落网。美国司法部接着以跨国敲诈勒索罪起诉了36人

2018年2月,梅德韦杰夫在泰国曼谷被警方逮捕。据当地报道,他一直与妻子居住在泰国。当地警方称,被捕时,梅德韦杰夫持有10多万比特币,价值超9亿美元。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Russian BTC scammer pleads guilty in largest US cyber fraud case

One of the key figures in an international cybercrime ring has pleaded guilty to racketeering charges in the largest-ever cyber fraud case in the U.S.  The Russian national was part of an operation that led to over $2.2 billion in losses to its victims, U.S. authorities said.

Sergey Medvedev agreed to the guilty plea in the U.S. District Court of Nevada, the Department of Justice (DoJ) revealed. The 33-year-old was a critical member of Infraud Organization, an online crime ring engaging in financial fraud and identity theft.

Infraud launched in 2010, and until it was brought down in February 2018, it had grown to become one of the largest online fraud organizations. Operating under the motto ‘In Fraud We Trust’, the members of the ring engaged in bank and payment card fraud, acting as one of the largest markets for stolen credit card information.

According to the DoJ, Infraud directly stole $568 million from their victims, with the indirect losses amounting to more than $2.2 billion. The platform facilitated the sale of over 4 million compromised card numbers from leading companies including Visa, American Express, Mastercard and Discover, “in addition to countless financial institutions located in the United States.”

The DoJ alleged that Medvedev founded Infraud along with Svyatoslav Bondarenko, a Ukrainian who is his fellow co-defendant. In addition to being one of the most senior administrators on the Infraud platform, he was in charge of the escrow service for the members.

Medvedev also operated a digital currency exchange service which the members used to launder money.

The DoJ alleged that he made over $1 million after facilitating the payments, maintaining the escrow and overseeing the advertisements.

Infraud was one of the best-run online criminal organizations in the world. The administrators would screen the stolen data to ensure it was genuine and approve new members. They also appointed moderators who would supervise various segments depending on their area of expertise. Infraud even had a VIP tier for its early members.

After wreaking havoc for close to a decade, the crime ring was finally brought to a stop through the coordinated efforts of authorities in Australia, France, the U.S., the U.K., Kosovo, Serbia and Italy. The DoJ went on to charge 36 individuals for transnational racketeering conspiracy.

Medvedev was arrested by police in Bangkok, Thailand, in February 2018. According to local reports, he had been residing in the country with his wife. The local police alleged that at the time of his arrest, he was in possession of over 100,000 BTC, now worth over $900 million.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.