菲律宾的退休计划走向数字化

菲律宾中央银行将在9月8日推出一项数字化退休和投资计划。退休账户于三年前问世,这次推出的数字化计划是该行实现金融系统数字化工作的一部分。

菲律宾中央银行(BSP)在一份新闻稿中透露,此次的推出工作将由中央银行行长本杰明·迪奥诺(Benjamin Diokno)领导。该发布会将在中央银行的Facebook页面直播。

个人证券和退休账户(PERA)为自愿办理的账户,供年满18岁及以上的菲律宾人为最终退休后的生活做准备。菲律宾中央银行在2016年12月推出了该产品,与现有的产品不同的是,它不是从工资扣除。相反,它是由公民自愿投资,年度投资上限为10万菲律宾比索(2061美元)。海外员工的投资上限则加倍,即4120美元。

菲律宾中央银行推出PERA的目的是鼓励菲律宾人投资长期退休储蓄产品。

随着该数字化产品的推出,监管机构希望能让公民未来进行投资时更加便利。

迪奥诺行长表示,“数字PERA让菲律宾人可随时随地使用手机和其他设备在PERA进行投资。这与菲律宾中央银行力推金融系统数字化,以及拉近菲律宾中央银行与人民之间的关系的主旨是一致的。”

过去几年,菲律宾中央银行一直在这个东南亚国家大力推动数字支付服务数字化。虽然该国有60%的人口使用智能手机,但其经济市场仍然极度依赖现金交易

但在过去五年,数字支付呈现稳定高速增长态势。2013年,数字平台仅占所有支付方式中的1%,如今已占菲律宾零售类支付方式的20%。新冠肺炎疫情更加凸显出数字支付的重要性。

如果菲律宾中央银行的央行数字货币项目能够取得积极成果,将对数字化趋势注入一支强心针。据CoinGeek报道,菲律宾中央银行近期委托了一个专责小组,负责调研央行数字货币的可行性。预计该专责小组将在2020年9月提交调研结果。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Retirement plans go digital route in the Philippines

The Philippines central bank is set to launch a digital retirement and investment plan on September 8. The retirement account rolled out three years ago, with the digital launch coming as part of the efforts by the bank to digitalize the financial system.

In a press release, the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) revealed that the launch will be led by the central bank Gov. Benjamin Diokno. It will be broadcast live via the bank’s Facebook page.

The Personal Equity and Retirement Account (PERA) is a voluntary account that allows any Filipino aged 18 and above to prepare for their eventual retirement. Launched in December 2016 by the BSP, it doesn’t rely on salary deductions—unlike existing products. Rather, it allows the citizens to invest voluntarily, with an annual cap of 100,000 peso ($2,061). For overseas workers, the annual cap is doubled to $4,120.

In launching PERA, the BSP aimed at encouraging Filipinos to invest in long-term retirement saving products.

With the digital launch, the regulator is seeking to make it even more convenient for the citizens to invest in their future.

Governor Diokno remarked, “The digital PERA will allow Filipinos to invest in PERA investment products anytime, anywhere using only their mobile phones and other devices. This is firmly in line with the BSP’s thrust to foster digitalization in the financial system and to bring the BSP closer to the people.”

The BSP has been pushing to digitize payments in the Southeast Asian nation for the past few years. Despite 60% of the population in the country using smartphones, the economy is still heavily reliant on cash transactions.

However, in the past five years, digital payments have seen a sharp and steady rise. Having accounted for just 1% of all payments in 2013, digital platforms now make up 20% of retail payments in the country. The COVID-19 pandemic has further shone a light into the importance of digital payments.

This trend could get a big boost if the BSP’s CBDC efforts yield positive results. As CoinGeek reported, the BSP recently commissioned a task group to explore the feasibility of a CBDC. The task group is expected to present its findings in September 2020.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.