彼得里斯·齐加尔维斯(Pēteris Zilgalvis) : 欧盟不会急于监管区块链

欧盟积极关注比特币和区块链,其采取了多项举措推动学习该行业、鼓励行业发展之余,还可能会加以监管。 

此项工作的核心是欧盟委员会数字创新和区块链部门,该部门的负责人是政治学家兼律师彼得里斯·齐加尔维斯(Pēteris Zilgalvis),就在最近,他以访问学者身份在牛津大学圣安东尼学院撰写了关于金融科技和区块链的文章。

彼得里斯极力强调,除非有明确理由,否则委员会无意监管区块链。对于总体方针,他表示:“首先,我们不急于介入”。欧盟委员会内部官员关注比特币和区块链行业至少已有七年之久,所以“如果真的是‘比特币和区块链有所发展,欧盟委员会就会加以监管,’但事实上并未发生。”

那么,“尽管……我们对人工智能、区块链、物联网、5G 方面的投资和基础设施建设提供支持,就像我们没有对晶体管、服务器或其他技术项目加以监管一样,我们也不会监管区块链。” 

其关注点将会放在更高层次,即基于区块链工作的应用程序,例如标记化产品。但是,重点是等待确定是否需要采取什么措施。例如,就智能合约而言,“问题仍然没有答案。我们需要就智能合约制定相关法规吗?我们想弄清楚的是,尤其在就欧盟27个国家之间进行小型跨境使用的情况而言,是否存在需要解决的问题,以确保人们不必在多个不同的司法管辖区使用不同类型的智能合约或不同的注册。”

欧洲区块链服务基础设施(European Blockchain Services Infrastructure)计划展示了欧盟对区块链的积极态度,欧盟成员国通过这一倡议建立各自的区块链网络,并在网络上建立“国家级节点,或者是政府级节点,最终将建立市政级节点和区域级节点。因此可能会建立出数百个,甚至数千个节点。” 

项目的部署将于今年启动,初步网络设有30多个节点,首先会从公共服务提供商感兴趣的一些领域项目开始:“监管科技、……文凭认证,还有自主身份和审计文件认证与发布。”

另一项举措则是欧洲投资基金为区块链初创公司提供资金支持。目前,该部分基金已向区块链领域投入1亿欧元,但很快将增至4亿欧元。举例而言,该基金已经在支持Helios,一个用于构建社交媒体应用程序的去中心化平台。 

彼得里斯强调,他本人或其他欧盟官员无权决定支持哪家初创企业。准确地说,这些钱的去向是由“风险投资家定夺,我们不从中干预”。他将这项举措与美国的小企业创新研究计划(SBIR)作为比较,该计划自1982年以来一直资助美国小企业进行研究与开发。 

当然,作为区块链不可知论者,欧盟不会明确支持BSV。但是,对于原则上单一区块链能为整个生态系统带来最佳结果这一观点,是否能表示支持呢?“我认为不管你读过哪些分析资料,几乎所有人都会同意将来的区块链数量肯定比现在少,区块链项目也会变少。” 彼得里斯说道。“有些人甚至说,将来只会有一个去中心化区块链。”但他认为自己没有权利决定这类问题的答案:“这是我们,以及公职人员必须谦虚的地方。”

至于我们目前处在比特币和区块链长期发展中的哪个位置,彼得里斯对此持乐观态度:“我认为我们现在正处于良性发展时期。当你参加区块链研讨会或类似会议时,大家把区块链吹的天花乱坠,感觉就像是场摇滚音乐会,人们欢呼雀跃,因为大家都认为自己要变成百万富翁了,当然这种情况有其积极的一面,但我认为怀揣不切实际的期望其实有点不健康。我认为现在进行的投资和推进的项目都是实事求是的……所以我认为我们现在处于一个实在、值得乐观的时期,而且跟风热潮在逐渐减少,就某种程度而言这是一个好现象”。

在本周的CoinGeek对话播客上收听彼得斯·齐尔加尔维斯的完整访谈:

您也可以在YouTube上观看播客视频。

您也可以在此阅读该访谈的文字记录。

请订阅CoinGeek对话——这是该播客第三季的第25集。如果您是新订户,欢迎观看前两季以及今年前几集的精彩内容。

查找方法如下:

无论您在哪里收听播客,只需搜索“CoinGeek ConversationsCoinGeek对话)”即可

iTunes订阅

Spotify收听

访问CoinGeek对话网站

观看CoinGeek对话YouTube播放列表

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Pēteris Zilgalvis: The EU will not rush to regulate blockchain

The European Union takes an active interest in Bitcoin and blockchain, with multiple initiatives to study, encourage and, potentially, to regulate the sector.

At the heart of this work is the European Commission’s Digital Innovation and Blockchain Unit, whose head is Pēteris Zilgalvis, a political scientist and lawyer and, quite recently, a visiting fellow at St Antony’s College, Oxford where he wrote about fintech and blockchain.

Pēteris is keen to stress that the Commission is not intent on regulating unless there is a clear reason to do so. The overall approach, he says, is that “first of all, we don’t rush in”. The subject of Bitcoin and blockchain have been followed by officials within the European Commission for at least seven years, so “if it was ever true that ‘if it moves, the European Commission regulates it’, it hasn’t.”

So, “while …we support investment and infrastructure, for instance, in artificial intelligence, blockchain, IOT, 5G, we’re not going to have a regulation on blockchain – the same way we don’t have a regulation on transistors or on servers or on other items of technology.”

The focus will be at a higher level, in the applications working on blockchain, such as tokenization products. But again, the emphasis will be on waiting to be sure of what, if anything, is needed. In relation to smart contracts, for instance, “the question is still very open. Does anything need to be said about it legally? But we’re asking, especially in the cases of small cross-border use across the 27 countries of the EU for instance, if there are problems that perhaps need to be addressed to ensure you don’t have to have a different type of smart contract or a different registration in many different jurisdictions.”

A more pro-active EU approach is seen in the European Blockchain Services Infrastructure, an initiative through which the EU member states are setting up their own blockchain network with “nodes at the country level, probably ministry level, eventually municipality and regional level. So hundreds and maybe even thousands of nodes.”

With more than 30 nodes in the network initially, the project will be in deployment this year, starting with projects in a number of areas of interest to public service providers: “regtech, …diploma certification and also self sovereign identity and audit document authentication and publication.”

Another approach involves money from the European Investment Fund to back blockchain startups. This part of the fund is now worth 100m Euros, but will rise to 400m soon. It’s already backing Helios, a decentralised platform for building social media apps, for instance.

Pēteris stresses that it won’t be him or other EU officials deciding which startups to support. Rather, the money “goes out to venture capitalists who make the choices with no interference from us”. He draws parallels with SBIR in the United States, the Small Business Innovation Research programme which has been funding research and development in small companies in the States since 1982.

Being blockchain-agnostic, the EU is not able to back BSV specifically, of course. But what about, at least, the idea that a single blockchain, in principle, would deliver the best results for the ecosystem as a whole? “I think almost everyone agrees, whichever analysis you read, that there will be less blockchains than there are now or less blockchain projects,” Pēteris says. “Some go as far to say as saying there will be one decentralized blockchain.” But he doesn’t claim the right to decide on that kind of question: “this is where we have to be humble, as well as civil servants.”

As to where we are now in the long development of Bitcoin and blockchain, Pēteris is optimistic: “I think we’re at a healthy moment. The time when there was so much hype where you were going to a blockchain seminar or something and it felt like a rock concert with people cheering because they thought they were all about to become millionaires, had some positive sides but I think was a little bit unhealthy with unrealistic expectations. I think we’re at a point now where the investment and the projects that are going forward are realistic ones …So I think a realistic, optimistic time is one that we’re in now and that the hype is dying down, which is healthy in a way”.

Pēteris Zilgalvis was a speaker at the Asia Blockchain Summit 2020: https://abasummit.io/

Hear the whole of Pēteris Zilgalvis’ interview in this week’s CoinGeek Conversation podcast:


You can also watch the podcast video on YouTube.

And you can read a transcript of the interview here.

Please subscribe to CoinGeek Conversations – this is the 25th episode of the podcast’s third season. If you’re new to it, there are plenty of episodes from the first two seasons to catch up with, as well as plenty from this year.

Here’s how to find them:

– Search for “CoinGeek Conversations” wherever you get your podcasts

– Subscribe on iTunes

– Listen on Spotify

– Visit the CoinGeek Conversations website

– Watch on the CoinGeek Conversations YouTube playlist

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.