全美篮球协会证券型代币销售失败

全美篮球协会证券型代币销售失败

布鲁克林篮网队(Brooklyn Nets)的控球后卫/得分后卫斯宾塞·丁维迪(Spencer Dinwiddie),最近主持了他的证券型代币发行(STO)——但执行效果不是很完美。

代币销售只有八个参与者。丁维迪的目标是通过出售90枚,每枚价格为15万美元的SD26代币,筹集1350万美元;然而,他只卖出了9枚SD26代币,总共筹集了135万美元——大约为丁维迪目标筹集总金额的10%。

SD26代币是什么?

SD26,是根据美国证券交易委员会条例第506(c)发行的ERC-20数字证券。从投资者的角度来看,SD26是一种运作方式类似于3年期债券的债务证券。

购买SD26的投资者,每月将获得本金+初始投资3%的利息。除了每月的本金+利息之外,SD26所有者还可以获得特殊的溢价,代币所有者可以将这笔钱当做奖金。

如果丁维迪参加了可能增加其合约价值,或授予他奖金的活动,那么,SD26代币持有者就可获得一笔特别的奖金。例如,征战季后赛的次数、全明星赛、或全明星周末活动,这些活动都可能会使SD26持有者,除了他们每月定期支付的费用以外,还能获得一笔特殊的奖金。

从资产发行到月度支付结算,SD8发行的所有方面都将在区块链上进行。每月的标准结算将以PAX稳定币的形式交付到SD26持有者的数字货币钱包中。本金和利息将以美元为主,但在付款时会转换为PAX。之后,PAX将被分发给SD26代币的持有者。

为什么丁维迪应该使用比特币

丁维迪此次的发行是独一无二的,这次发行首次允许个人投资职业运动员的体育合约,但此次发行在几个方面都有所欠缺,这很可能导致他的代币销售业绩不佳。

首先,此次代币发行以以太坊为基础;以太坊网络正遭受高额交易费用和可扩容性问题的困扰。按发布时的平均交易费用为0.50美元计算,我们可以认为,对于丁维迪的承销商来说,分发SD26代币是不必要的昂贵支出。此外,银河数码(Galaxy Digital)首席执行官迈克·诺沃格拉茨(Mike Novogratz)最近解释称,他的资产管理公司没有看到有机构投资者将资金投入到以太坊中。机构投资者很清楚以太坊所面临的阻碍,也知道以太坊不太可能克服这些问题,这也解释了为什么只有8个人投资了丁维迪的代币销售。

机构投资者希望将他们的资金投入到基于区块链协议的项目中,这些项目是有成本效益的、拥有稳定性以及可预测的未来,这也是比特币(BSV)受到传统机构青睐的众多原因之一。此时,比特币的平均交易费用为0.0002美元,而且比特币协议也已是板上钉钉的事情,这给了投资者信心,他们认为,如今建立在比特币系统上的业务正在通过使用该系统来降低成本,而且由于比特币协议不会改变,未来五年业务仍将可以继续运行。不像以太坊和丁维迪发行的代币,当以太坊在未来硬分叉到ETH 2.0时,SD26可能会与以太坊不兼容。

如果其他运动员步丁维迪的后尘,并且运行一种类似于代币持有者的债券,将他们的合约代币化,那么对他们来说,通过比特币区块链进行代币化,并使用像Tokenized这样的创新型比特币应用程序来成功地创建、分发和管理他们的代币,将是最有意义的。

代币销售告诉我们什么?

丁维迪代币销售的糟糕表现向我们透露了很多关于数字货币市场的情况。首先,这件事告诉我们丁维迪的代币定价过高。谁会愿意为一个没有历史的投资工具支付15万美元——15万美元可以用在可能比SD26投资更有回报的传统市场中。

代币销售也发生在一个糟糕的时期。全球许多投资者都受到了COVID-19的经济影响;也就是说,如果没有病毒全球大流行这种情况,很可能就有较多的人准备去投资一个全新的资产类别。

无论如何,观察SD26在市场上的销售情况,以及其他职业运动员是否会在比特币系统上推出类似的代币发行,这将会是一件很有趣的事情。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

NBA security token sale flops

Spencer Dinwiddie, the point guard/shooting guard for the Brooklyn Nets, recently hosted his security token offering (STO)—and it performed poorly.

The token sale only had eight participants. Dinwiddie was aiming to raise $13.5 million by selling 90 SD26 tokens priced at $150,000 per token; however, only nine SD26 tokens sold and a total of $1.35 million was raised—or about 10% of Dinwiddie’s goal.

What is the SD26 token?

The SD26 is an ERC-20 digital security issued under the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s Regulation D Rule 506(c). From an investor standpoint, the SD26 is a debt instrument that operates similar to a 3-year bond.

Investors who bought the SD26 will receive a monthly principal repayment + 3% interest on their initial investment. In addition to the monthly principal + interest, SD26 owners may earn special premiums which can be thought of as bonuses.

A special premium may be awarded to SD26 token holders if Dinwiddie is involved in activities that may increase the value of his contract or grant him bonuses. For example, playoff appearances, the All-Star Game, or All-star weekend events are occurrences that could entitle the SD26 holders to a special premium in addition to their regular monthly payment.

All aspects of the SD8 offering will take place over the blockchain, from asset issuance to monthly payment settlement. The standard monthly payment will be delivered to SD26 holder’s digital currency wallets in the form of the PAX stablecoin. The principal, as well as the interest, will be dollar-dominated but converted to PAX at the time of payment. Afterward, the PAX will be distributed to the holders of the SD26 token.

Why Dinwiddie should have used Bitcoin

Dinwiddie’s offering was unique, for the very first time, it allowed individuals to invest in a professional athlete’s sports contract, but it fell short in several areas which most likely contributed to the poor performance of his token sale.

For starters, it’s built on Ethereum; the Ethereum network is suffering from high transaction fees and scalability issues. With an average transaction fee of $0.50 at press time, we can assume it was unnecessarily expensive for Dinwiddie’s underwriters to distribute the SD26 tokens. In addition, Mike Novogratz, CEO of Galaxy Digital recently explained that his asset management company is not seeing institutional investors put their money into Ethereum. Institutional investors are well aware of the obstacles Ethereum faces and know that Ethereum is unlikely to overcome those problems, this also explains why only 8 people invested in Dinwiddie’s token sale.

Institutional investors are looking to put their money into projects build on a blockchain protocol that are cost-efficient, stable, and have a predictable future, which is one of the many reasons that Bitcoin (BSV) has been well received by legacy institutions. The average transaction fee on Bitcoin is $.0002 at press time and the Bitcoin protocol is set in stone, which gives its investors confidence that the businesses built on Bitcoin today are reducing their costs by using Bitcoin and will still be operational five years down the road because the Bitcoin protocol does not change. Unlike Ethereum and Dinwiddie’s offering, which might be incompatible with Ethereum when it hard forks to ETH 2.0 in the future.

If other athletes follow in Dinwididie’s footsteps and tokenize their contract in a way that operates similar to a bond for the token-holder, it would make the most sense for them to do it over the Bitcoin blockchain, and to use an innovative Bitcoin application like Tokenized to successfully create, distribute, and manage their tokens.

What does the token sale tell us?

The poor performance of Dinwiddie’s token sale tells us quite a few things about the state of the digital currency market. First, it tells us that his tokens were overpriced. Who would want to pay $150,000 per token for an investment vehicle with no history—$150,000 could be put to use in legacy markets that are probably more rewarding than an SD26 investment.

The token sale also came at a horrible time. Many investors around the globe have been economically impacted by COVID-19; that being said, the pool of individuals who are ready to invest in a completely new asset class is most likely smaller than it would be if there was not a global pandemic going on.

Regardless, it will be interesting to see how the SD26 performs in the market, and if other professional athletes will launch a similar token offering on Bitcoin.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.