万事达信用卡高管涉嫌非法Wirecard交易

据报道,万事达信用卡(Mastercard)的一位高管据称参与了一个洗钱活动,并与臭名昭著的德国支付公司Wirecard有关。

据《泰晤士报》报道,这位高管当时在位于塞浦路斯(Cyprus)的FBME银行任职,银行所有者曾委托《泰晤士报》出具了调查其涉嫌的犯罪活动的报告。这家新闻媒体揭露了他有关涉嫌欺诈活动的各种证据,包括欺诈国际支付系统处理潜在非法交易的机制。

犯罪指控还包括与恐怖主义、叙利亚化学武器计划有关的经济交易以及网上儿童性侵交易。

FBME银行通过一位未公开身份的客户与Wirecard建立了联系,鉴于这家德国信用卡运营商具有失踪的21亿美元现金的丑闻,这真是一个糟糕的关联。

资金的丢失致使Wirecard启动了破产程序,最终导致首席执行官马库斯·布朗恩(Markus Braun)被捕,该公司的首席运营官简·马尔塞克(Jan Marsalek)目前被认为藏匿在俄罗斯,资金来源则是以数字货币转给他的钱。

在该事件的最新转折中,调查人员指控该高管利用虚假交易逃避检查。据称,通过大量进行这些虚假交易,可疑交易的影响会被淡化,同时会使现有的万事达信用卡和维萨支付系统(Visa)无法标记这些交易。

FBME的股东否认了这些报道,指出调查人员的调查结果缺乏任何证据。

新闻媒体援引万事达信用卡发言人的话称,这些指控尚未得到证实,该公司对支付处理商保持着“严格的执法程序。”

Wirecard目前正在接受执法部门的调查,除了账目上的漏洞,该公司还因参与一起1亿美元的银行诈骗而受到美国司法部的调查。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Mastercard exec implicated in illegal Wirecard transactions

An executive at Mastercard was allegedly involved in a sophisticated money laundering operation with links to disgraced payments firm Wirecard, according to reports.

The executive was operating at Cyprus-based FBME Bank at the time, with the bank’s owners commissioning the report into the alleged criminal activity, The Times reported. The news outlet uncovered a variety of evidence about the alleged fraudulent activity, including a mechanism for fooling international payment systems into processing potentially illegal transactions.

Allegations of criminality include terrorism financing, with transactions processed in connection with Syria’s chemical weapons program, and transactions around online child sex abuse.

The bank is connected to Wirecard through an undisclosed client, an unfortunate connection given the ongoing scandal with over $2.1 billion of missing cash at the German card operator.

The missing funds led Wirecard to initiate insolvency proceedings, resulting in the eventual arrest of former CEO Markus Braun. The firm’s COO, Jan Marsalek is currently thought to be in hiding in Russia, funded by money transferred to him in digital currency.

In this latest twist to the story, the unnamed Mastercard exec has been accused by investigators of using phantom transactions to evade money laundering checks. By running these fake transactions at inflated volumes, it is alleged the impact of the suspicious transactions was diluted, preventing existing Mastercard and Visa payment systems from flagging the transactions.

FBME shareholders have dismissed the reports, citing a lack of any evidence behind the investigators’ findings.

A spokesperson for Mastercard was quoted by the news outlet saying the allegations had yet to be proven, and that the firm maintains “a rigorous enforcement process” for payment processors.

Wirecard is currently subject to ongoing investigations by law enforcement authorities. Alongside the hole in its accounts, the firm is being investigated by the U.S. Department of Justice over its role in a $100 million bank fraud conspiracy.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.