Lee Rainie:区块链能恢复人们对技术的信任吗?

如果比特币SV按照其开发人员和企业家所希望的方式取得成功,这将是自20多年前互联网大规模应用以来,技术基础设施发生的最大变革。但是普通用户会对这种变革持接受态度还是抵制态度呢?

Pew研究中心(Pew Research Centre)的李·雷尼(Lee Rainie)研究了公众对于技术的态度,并根据Pew对人们在线和互联网使用情况的调查,雷尼负责撰写了650多份报告。那么他是如何看待比特币和区块链迈入主流应用的前景呢?

Rainie说:“我们生活的环境中,人们对彼此和机构的信任度正在下降,尤其是在发达国家。因此,区块链一直被视为一种可以重建信任的非常有趣的替代方式,它以技术为核心来调解人与人之间的互动……区块链中的一些最有趣的应用不是与加密货币有关的,而是与可信的文档和智能合约系统有关。”

如果这个承诺可以通过减轻用户对信任的担忧来吸引他们,那么Rainie不会暗示技术可以解决所有问题:“这不能仅靠技术来解决,你无法做到在拨动一个开关的瞬间,信任就得以恢复,系统就能完美地运行。你需要相关人员来设计、监测、介绍这些系统。”

在技术的大规模采用方面,Rainie认为,这可能不是一个等待“杀手级应用”的问题,这种应用会作为人们广泛接受区块链技术的转折点。“这可能不会是一种突然就有大量的人使用它的大爆炸的时刻。然后世界其他地方的人说,‘哦,我们必须加入’。对这种技术的接受可能更具有进化意义。”

供应链和金融市场等部门可能会首先在工业层面采用区块链技术(更多是在“幕后”采用)。

此外,与互联网不同的是,用户了解互联网技术,人们甚至可能不会意识到自己正在使用区块链。“在某些情况下,人们的财务将完全以区块链技术为支撑。当他们想为自己刚出生的孩子办理一张国民身份证时,可以通过多种方式与政府机构进行互动——现在,互动的方式可能是一个区块链系统。但是,如果你在调查中问他们‘你是区块链用户吗?’,他们可能不会这么认为。”

如果区块链不是因为“吸引力”因素而被采用,那么区块链可能会因为人们对科技巨头的保留意见,以及针对性广告和数据收集的整个“监控资本主义”模式而向前发展。

lee-rainie

Pew最新研究并没有对公众进行民意调查,取而代之的是雷尼(Rainie)作为互联网和技术研究总监(Director of Internet and Technology Research)下令进行的一系列研究之一。该研究向700位专家征求了对技术的未来的看法,并将这些专家描述为“技术创新者、开发者、商业和政策领导者、研究人员和活动家”。研究发现,专家们“非常明确地指出区块链是如何恢复人们的信心的,他们让人们相信自己的数据得到了妥善的处理,自己与他人的互动以负责任的方式被记录下来并进行调解,心存不轨的人介入中间过程的机会减少了”。

那么在这方面,在众多可能有能力预测未来的人中,Pew对区块链的前景持乐观态度。另一方面,专家们似乎对自己的预测能力不太自信。Rainie在先前的一项研究中对此进行了调查:“在过去的几年里,我们问过的一件事是: 这些专家们自己是否对未来5年、10年或15年后的科技新动向有信心。而绝大多数人都说没有。”

听到专家谦虚的表态,真是让人耳目一新。这确实激发了人们信任科技的信心!

Lee Rainie was a speaker at the Asia Blockchain Summit 2020: https://abasummit.io/

在本周的CoinGeek对话播客中收听Lee Rainie的全部采访:

您也可以在YouTube上上观看播客视频。

请订阅CoinGeek对话–这是播客第三季的第24集。如果您是第一次接触该频道,那么前两个季节有很多剧集可以赶上,今年还有很多。

找到视频的途径如下:

–在任何播客中搜索“CoinGeek对话”

–在iTunes上订阅阅

–在Spotify上收听

–访问CoinGeek对话网站

–在YouTube播放列表上观看CoinGeek对话

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Lee Rainie: Can blockchain restore trust in technology?

If Bitcoin SV succeeds in the way its developers and entrepreneurs hope, it will be the biggest change in technology infrastructure since the mass adoption of the Internet more than 20 years ago. But will ordinary users be open or resistant to that kind of change?

Lee Rainie of the Pew Research Centre studies public attitudes to technology and has been responsible for more than 650 reports based on Pew surveys of people’s online and Internet usage. So how does he see the prospects for Bitcoin and blockchain entering the mainstream? 

“We live in an environment where people’s trust in each other and in institutions is declining, particularly in the developed world,” Rainie says, “and so blockchain has been held out as a really interesting alternative way to rebuild trust, using technology as the centrepiece of mediating interactions between people …Some of the most interesting applications of blockchain are not about cryptocurrency, they’re about trusted systems of documentation and smart contracts.”

If that promise could attract users by mitigating their fears about trust, Rainie does not go so far as to suggest that technology could solve all the problems: “this can’t just be done by technology. You can’t flip a switch and all of a sudden trust is restored and systems operate beautifully. You need human actors to design those systems, monitor those systems, explain those systems.”

In terms of mass adoption, Rainie says that it may not be a question of waiting for the ‘killer app’ that will act as a tipping point for wide acceptance of the technology: “it possibly won’t be sort of a big bang moment where all of a sudden a critical mass of people are using it. And then the rest of the world says, ‘oh, we’ve got to get on board’. It might be more evolutionary.”

It could be that adoption will first happen at an industrial level – more ‘behind the scenes’ – in sectors like supply chain and the financial markets. 

Then, unlike the Internet, where users are aware of the technology, people may not even realise that they’re using blockchain: “there will be ways in which people’s finances absolutely are underpinned by blockchain technology. There are ways in which their interactions with government agencies, when they want to get a national identity card for their newborn child – now, that’s going to be probably a blockchain system. But if you ask them in a survey, ‘are you a blockchain user?’ they might not say yes.” 

If blockchain isn’t adopted by a ‘pull’ factor of attraction, it could be nudged forward by reservations about the tech giants, and the whole ‘surveillance capitalism’ model of targeted advertising and data collection. 

lee-rainie

Pew’s latest research didn’t poll the public, but instead was one of a series of studies that Rainie has ordered as Director of Internet and Technology Research, soliciting views about the future of technology from almost 700 experts, whom the report describes at “’technology innovators, developers, business and policy leaders, researchers and activists”. The study found that the experts “very explicitly invoked how blockchain can be a restorative to people having confidence that their data were treated well and that their interactions with other people were being chronicled and mediated in a responsible way, that there were fewer opportunities for bad actors to step into the middle of the process.”

In that respect then, Pew is reporting an optimistic view of the prospects for blockchain among a wide range of people who should be well placed to predict the future. On the other hand, it seems the experts themselves aren’t too confident about their own powers of prediction. Rainie investigated that in a previous study: “one of the things that we asked in years gone by was whether these experts themselves felt confident about what the new big thing in technology was going to be five or 10 or 15 years into the future. And the vast majority said no.”

How refreshing to hear of modest experts. That really does inspire confidence!

Lee Rainie was a speaker at the Asia Blockchain Summit 2020: https://abasummit.io/

Hear the whole of Lee Rainie’s interview in this week’s CoinGeek Conversation podcast:

 

You can also watch the podcast video on YouTube.

Please subscribe to CoinGeek Conversations – this is the 24th episode of the podcast’s third season. If you’re new to it, there are plenty of episodes from the first two seasons to catch up with, as well as plenty from this year.

Here’s how to find them:

– Search for “CoinGeek Conversations” wherever you get your podcasts

– Subscribe on iTunes

– Listen on Spotify

– Visit the CoinGeek Conversations website

– Watch on the CoinGeek Conversations YouTube playlist

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.