克莱曼(Kleiman)诉怀特(Wright)案:法官驳回伊拉·克莱曼(Ira Kleiman)要求结案的请求

佛罗里达州南部地区法院驳回了伊拉·克莱曼(Ira Kleiman)提出的制裁诉求,该诉求主要针对克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright)在“克莱曼(Kleiman)诉怀特(Wright)”案件当中的行为。如果该请求获准,则将会如克莱曼所愿,法院会作出缺席判决并结束诉讼。

这是克莱曼与怀特双方在法庭调查阶段,就各种细节与事件所进行的一连串程序争议的最新发展。法院最新颁布的命令驳回了克莱曼的请求,意味着实际审判可能于2020年8月31日如期开始(已从原定的七月初开始审判有所推迟)。

在美国地方法官贝思·布鲁姆(Beth Bloom)所签署的命令当中,结论部分提到:

在审查记录并仔细考虑双方各自的简述后,本院不认为原告履行了举证责任,通过剔除被告所具状书以及本案作缺席制裁,使本案不会交由陪审团裁断。

上述命令指出,克莱曼及其法律团队就本案当中截至目前所提出的部分证供与证据“表述的多个问题令人不安”,并且“当然理解原告的不满情绪。”

“但是,抛开这些不满与困惑不谈,就本案提出的证据、不同证据的作用与重要性、被告的意图、各位证人的可信度等而言,在事实层面具有重大争议。”布鲁姆(Bloom)补充,所有这些均表明,应由陪审团对于证据进行权衡,继而作出最终裁定。

上述命令指出,克莱曼指控怀特的行为已构成伪证罪并伪造证据一说是“极端”且“严重”的。布鲁姆还提到,怀特博士已经指出原告对于各种事件和权利主张的描绘存在多处“缺漏”。有鉴于此,对法官而言,现阶段不适合作出准予制裁的决定。

“原告在本案过程中一直对于被告的行为颇有抱怨,但原告并未(尤其是在提出异议之后)提交令人信服的明确证据,证明被告编织‘不和情理诡计’ 来欺骗法院。”

本来,布鲁姆法官还可能会批准克莱曼提出的“较轻制裁”请求,即:在审判期间,将克莱曼感到不满之事正式认定为事实。其中最令人瞩目的是,怀特博士被指称未能出示其在相关时期所持有的比特币资产的详细清单。但布鲁姆表示怀特在那之后已出示详细清单,因此也驳回了上述请求。

虽然该“较轻制裁”请求不会导致此案立即终结,但其决定可能会对即将开展的审判工作带来相当大的影响。但现在克莱曼与怀特将以相对平衡的姿态进入到审判工作的下一阶段,这想必不是原告所乐见的。

6月1日,怀特博士及其团队针对伊拉的请求提出异议,声称原告提出的请求企图剥夺怀特博士在陪审团面前作证的权利,阻止其发声,继而损害其作为比特币创始人的可信性。不管该案最终结果如何,这些攻击(一旦被确定为法律事实)将对数字资产领域产生更深层次的影响,也会被人用来损害更广泛的比特币BSV行业,因为攻击者的意图是要向公众证明,只有他们才能够代表真正原始的比特币。

另外,布鲁姆法官还指出,怀特博士承认自己确诊患有自闭症谱系障碍。因此法院认为,在评估怀特博士作出各项回应以及其对某些事件的回忆时,须考虑这一情况。

案件的内容与核心所在

本案争议点在于早期比特币挖矿活动的比特币所有权,以及怀特博士所拥有的知识产权与研究内容。

怀特博士坚称自己现为上述资产唯一所有人。戴夫·克莱曼(Dave Kleiman)的兄弟伊拉(Ira)(克莱曼家族代表人)则主张应获得怀特与戴夫·克莱曼共同资产的一半。戴夫于2013年4月去世。

现阶段,公众对于这些资产的总价值尚不知悉,因为在克莱曼去世之前,怀特未公布其所持比特币资产的清单。虽然怀特博士已经表示他将遵从法院的最终裁定,但是对于怀特博士是否具有转让控制权/所有权的能力或方法一事,仍然存在争议。

有趣的是,本案主要的焦点仅只是比特币领域中的一件小事。从相对长远的观点来看,不管怀特博士个人将会受到何等程度的影响,在公众与投资人眼中,BTC与比特币(BSV)的价值与可信度远比谁将获得这笔早期财富更具意义。

怀特博士亦指责Tether和Kraken等支持BTC的企业,为克莱曼一方暗中出资。但是这两家公司均已表态否认。

在预审程序中,原告提出多项指控,就怀特博士自称为比特币唯一真正发明人中本聪一说的可信度进行攻击。这些攻击虽在业界和科技媒体已被广泛报道,但对于其是否属实,却没有最终定论。此外,怀特博士也就原告自身行为及其背后的动机提出反诉。

距离法庭作出最终判决还有数月之久。但从目前情况来看,至少怀特博士将有机会在陪审团面前提出自身主张。预计审判过程中将触及怀特与戴夫·克莱曼二人友谊的性质以及双方此前共事的更多深层细节情况。如今,众人正在等待法官对怀特博士提出的即决判决动议作出裁决。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Kleiman v Wright: Judge denies Ira Kleiman request to declare case over

The Southern District Court of Florida has denied Ira Kleiman’s request to sanction Dr. Craig Wright over his conduct in the Kleiman v Wright case. Had it been approved, the court could have declared the lawsuit over by issuing a default judgment in Kleiman’s favor.

It’s the latest in a string of procedural battles between Kleiman and Wright over details and events during the discovery period. The latest order denying Kleiman’s request means the actual trial period will likely start as scheduled on August 31, 2020 (it had already been delayed from the original start time in early July).

United States District Judge Beth Bloom signed the order which noted in its conclusion:

Upon review of the record and careful consideration of the parties’ briefings, the Court does not find that Plaintiffs have carried their burden to remove this case from the jury by striking Defendant’s pleading and entering a default judgment as a sanction.

The order notes that Kleiman and his legal team “depict unsettling issues” regarding some of the testimony and evidence presented in the case so far, and “certainly appreciates Plaintiffs’ frustrations.”

“However, these frustrations and doubts aside, significant factual disputes abound regarding the evidence presented, the role and importance of various pieces of evidence in the case, Defendant’s intentions, and the credibility of witnesses.” Bloom added that all this meant it should be left to a jury to weigh the evidence and make a final decision.

Kleiman’s allegations that Wright had committed perjury and fabricated evidence were “extreme” and “severe,” the order noted. Bloom also wrote that Dr. Wright had also pointed to several “deficiencies” in the Plaintiff’s characterization of events and claims. As such, approving the sanction was not appropriate for a judge to decide at this point.

“Plaintiffs have aired longstanding grievances about Defendant’s conduct throughout this case, but they have not shown clear and convincing evidence of an ‘unconscionable plan’ designed to defraud the Court, most especially since the Objections Order was entered.”

Judge Bloom could also have approved Kleiman’s “lesser sanctions” request that his grievances be officially established as fact in the trial. The most notable one of these was Dr. Wright’s alleged failure to produce an accurate list of his Bitcoin holdings at the relevant time. However, Bloom said Wright had since done so and also denied that request.

While the lesser sanctions request would not have ended the case immediately, it would have carried considerable weight in arguments for the impending trial. Instead, Kleiman and Wright will enter the next stage on a far more even keel than the Plaintiffs would have liked.

Dr. Wright and his team countered Ira’s request on June 1, claiming Plaintiffs’ request was an attempt to silence him by denying him the right to testify before a jury, and further damage his credibility as the creator of Bitcoin. Regardless of the final outcome of the case, these attacks (if established as legal facts) would have further-reaching effects in the digital asset world and could be used to damage the wider Bitcoin BSV industry as it seeks to prove to the public that it alone represents the original and true Bitcoin.

Judge Bloom also noted Dr. Wright’s admission that he has been diagnosed as being on the autism spectrum, which the court considers relevant when assessing his responses and recollection of some events.

What the case is about, and what it’s really about

At issue in this case is the ownership of early-mined Bitcoin, plus intellectual property and research owned by Dr. Wright.

Dr. Wright maintains he is now the sole owner of said properties. Dave Kleiman’s brother Ira (representing the Kleiman family) claim any assets should be shared 50/50 between Wright and Dave Kleiman’s estate. Dave passed away in April 2013.

At this stage it is still not publicly known what the total value of these assets even is, since the list of Wright’s Bitcoin holdings prior to Kleiman’s death remains sealed. Whether Dr. Wright even has the ability or means to transfer control/ownership is also in dispute, though he has stated he will comply with the court’s final decision.

Interestingly, the main focus of this case is itself a sideshow in the bigger picture of Bitcoin. The value and credibility of BTC vs. Bitcoin (BSV) in the public’s and investors’ eyes, longer-term, are arguably more substantial than who gets some of the early money (regardless of its personal impact on Dr. Wright).

Dr. Wright has accused some of BTC’s corporate supporters, namely Tether and Kraken, of secretly bankrolling Kleiman’s side of the case. Both companies have issued denials that this is true.

Plaintiffs have made several allegations attacking Dr. Wright’s credibility and claims to be Satoshi Nakamoto, original and sole inventor of Bitcoin, throughout the pre-trial proceedings. These have been reported and published far and wide in the business and technology press, despite there being no final word on their truth. Dr. Wright has also made several counter-claims about the Plaintiffs’ own conduct and motives.

The final judgment is still now months away from being heard, but it seems at least for now that Dr. Wright will have his chance to make his claims in front of a jury. The expectation is that any trial will include more in-depth detail about the nature of Wright and Dave Kleiman’s friendship and previous work together. We are now waiting to get word that the judge has ruled on Dr. Wright’s Motion for Summary Judgement.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.