Kleiman诉Wright案第二日回顾:Andreas Antonopoulos承认没有进行过BTC挖矿,Patrick Paige与Gavin Andresen出庭作证

Kleiman诉Wright案第二日回顾:Andreas Antonopoulos承认没有进行过BTC挖矿,Patrick Paige与Gavin Andresen出庭作证

Kleiman诉Wright案开庭第二天,当Dave Kleiman的前同事Patrick Paige作证时,他提出了人们从未见过的证据——有趣的是,在开庭的第二天,Ira Kleiman没有出现在法庭上,这引起了许多人的注意。

这一天开始时延续了第一天的审判,Andreas Antonopoulos接受了原告的询问。Antonopoulos的询问让对于区块链或数字货币一无所知的陪审团,对比特币所有权的运作有了一个基本的了解。Antonopoulos尤其强调“不是你的密钥,不是你的币”这句话。

“这是一种提醒人们的方式,控制他们的资金就是控制他们的密钥,对于BTC,对于密钥的控制完全等同于对你的钱的控制。”他表示。

Antonopoulos接着向观众介绍了私钥、比特币分叉和比特币挖矿的运作原理;然而,在辩方的交叉询问中,律师Andres Rivero质疑Antonopoulos是否真的有资格被视为“专家”,为陪审团提供这方面的基础知识。

“先生,你从未成功挖出过BTC。”Rivero说。

对此,Antonopoulos回答道:“我没有挖出过BTC,没有。”

Antonopoulos既不是训练有素的经济学家,也没有经济学背景。他被原告以每小时750美元的价格聘用,他承认对本案的核心问题一无所知:Craig Wright博士和Dave Kleiman是否是一起挖出110万个比特币的商业伙伴,如果是,这笔巨款的一半是否应该有权被包含进Dave Kleiman的遗产。

从未见过的证据

在Paige作证期间,Wright博士曾写给Paige的一封电子邮件被宣读出来,其中写道:“Dave和我在美国有一个项目,他在那里经营着。我们对我们所做的事情保密……我们在那里经营的公司进行了比特币挖矿。”

据Paige所述,Craig Wright博士告诉他,Dave是比特币的创造者之一。这个新的证据说明了该诉讼中心的核心问题,Wright博士和他的法律团队则认为‘不’——在110万枚比特币被挖出来时,Wright博士和Dave Kleiman并没有商业合作关系。当Paige出庭作证时,他认为Wright博士和他的法律团队的说法与新引入的证据(电子邮件通信)中Wright博士以及Paige的相关信息不一致。

但是什么构成了商业伙伴关系呢?

在原告(Kleiman的法律团队)询问了Patrick Paige之后,被告(Wright的法律团队)交叉询问了Paige。他们的问题围绕着合伙关系意味着什么,这个问题Paige应该很熟悉,因为他是Dave在他们推出的名为“Computer Forensics LLC”的企业中的商业伙伴。

其中所提出的主要论点是,合作伙伴关系是有书面协议的;而当合作伙伴关系被违反时,个人通常会起诉——这也是Paige所经历过的另一个领域,因为在他们还是合伙人时,Kleiman就一个商业方面的问题起诉了Paige。

当日的最后一次取证

当天的最后一次取证是由Gavin Andresen进行的,他是一名软件开发者,曾是Bitcoin Core的首席开发者。原告在他的证词中向Andresen提出的问题主要围绕着Andresen、Wright博士和一些与Wright博士有关的人如Stefan Matthews之间的电子邮件通信。

Andresen曾经看到Wright博士在BTC区块链上签署了只有中本聪才能签署的信息,他回答了原告提出的关于个人创建比特币协议所需的技术能力的许多问题。他还说,“最可能的事情是,Craig拥有第9区块的密钥”,但也有可能是Craig Wright博士过去亲自向Andresen展示的其他证明具有欺诈性。

有趣的是,Andresen和Paige似乎都认为,中本聪是个三个人的团体。然而,尽管是在原告的提示下,Andresen确实表示他相信Dave和Craig一起做了很多重活。

现在作出判断还为时过早

现在判断孰是孰非还为时过早;当Wright博士的律师证明Andreas Antonopoulos缺乏专业知识时,这显然是被告方的胜利。然而,当Paige出庭作证,介绍了新的证据,并表达了他对情况的理解,这使人们对Dave Kleiman在使比特币系统起步时所发挥的作用产生了怀疑。

辩方交叉询问质疑什么是合作伙伴关系以及合作伙伴关系是如何形成的,是在试图抵消Paige的非常有力的证词,而Andresen也通过他的线上作证传达了他认为Wright博士不是一个人作为中本聪的看法,其依据是他过去与Wright博士的电子邮件往来。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第一天:

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第二天:

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright Day 2 recap: Andreas Antonopoulos admits not mining BTC, Patrick Paige and Gavin Andresen take the stand

Kleiman v Wright Day 2 recap: Andreas Antonopoulos admits not mining BTC, Patrick Paige and Gavin Andresen take the stand

Never-before-seen evidence was introduced on day two of the Kleiman vs. Wright trial when Patrick Paige, a former colleague of Dave Kleiman testified—and interestingly, Ira Kleiman was not present in the courtroom for day two of the trial which raised many eyebrows.

The day started with a continuation from the first day of the trial, with Andreas Antonopoulos being examined by the plaintiffs. Antonopoulos’s examination provided the jury—that knows nothing about blockchain or digital currency—a base understanding of how Bitcoin ownership works. Antonopoulos put a lot of emphasis on the phrase, “not your keys, not your coins.”

“It’s a way of reminding people that controlling their funds is all about controlling their keys, in BTC, control over keys is entirely equivalent to controlling your money,” he said.

Antonopoulos proceeded to educate the audience about private keys, Bitcoin forks, and how mining Bitcoin works; however, during the defense cross-examination, lawyer Andres Rivero called into question how qualified Antonopoulos really is to be considered an “expert” that gives the jury their base knowledge on the subject.

“You sir, have never successfully mined BTC,” Rivero said.

To which Antonopoulos replied, “I have not mined BTC, no.”

Antonopoulos is neither a trained economist, nor does he have a background in economics. He has been retained by the plaintiff at a rate of $750 per hour and has admitted to knowing nothing about the core question of this court case: whether Dr. Craig Wright and Dave Kleiman were business partners that mined 1.1 million Bitcoin together, and if they were, should Dave Kleiman’s estate be entitled to half of that whopping sum.

Never-before-seen evidence

An email from Dr. Wright to Paige was read during the latter’s testimony, which stated: “Dave and I had a project in the U.S. He ran it there. We kept what we did secret…the company we ran there mined Bitcoin.”

According to Paige, Dr. Craig Wright told him that Dave was one of the creators of Bitcoin. This new evidence speaks to the core questions at the center of this lawsuit which Dr. Wright and his legal team are arguing ‘no’—Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman did not have a business partnership at the time the 1.1 million Bitcoin were mined. When Paige took the stand, he argued that the claim Dr. Wright and his legal team are making is not consistent with the messages in the newly introduced evidence (email correspondences) that Dr. Wright had with Paige.

But what constitutes a business partnership?

After the plaintiffs (Kleiman’s legal team) examined Patrick Paige, the defense (Wright’s legal team) crossed examined Paige. Their questions revolved around what it means to have a partnership, an issue that Paige should be well-versed in since he was Dave’s business partner in a business they launched called “Computer Forensics LLC.”

The main argument being made was that partnerships are documented in written agreements; and when partnerships are violated, individuals typically sue—another area Paige has experienced with since Kleiman sued Paige over a business matter while they were partners.

The last deposition of the day

The final deposition of the day was given by Gavin Andresen, a software developer who was formerly the lead developer at Bitcoin Core. The questions that the plaintiffs asked Andresen in his deposition largely revolved around email correspondence between Andresen, Dr. Wright, and a few individuals associated with Dr. Wright such as Stefan Matthews.

Andresen, who had Dr. Wright sign messages on the BTC blockchain that only Satoshi could sign, answered many questions the plaintiffs asked regarding the technical skills an individual would need to create the Bitcoin protocol. He also said it is “most likely that Craig has the keys for block 9,” but that it was possible that the other proof that Dr. Craig Wright showed to Andresen in person in the past was fraudulent.

Interestingly, both Andresen and Paige seemed to be of the belief that Satoshi was a group of three people. However, Andresen, although prompted by the plaintiffs, did express that he believe Dave and Craig did a lot of heavy lifting together.

Too early to tell

It is too early to tell which way the pendulum swings; when Dr. Wright’s lawyers proved Andreas Antonopoulos’s lack of expertise, it was a clear victory for the defense. However, when Paige took the stand, introduced new evidence and expressed his understanding of the situation, it called into question the role Dave Kleiman played in getting Bitcoin off the ground.

The defense’s cross-examination questioned what it means to have a partnership and how a partnership is formed, which was an attempt to neutralize the very strong Paige testimony, while Andresen also communicated via his virtual deposition that he believes Dr. Wright alone is not Satoshi due to his email correspondences with Dr, Wright in the past.

CoinGeek will feature Kurt Wuckert Jr. in daily recap coverage which will be livestreamed on a daily basis at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 1 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Watch our Day 2 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]