法官称Telegram判决对Kik一案不构成约束性先例

美国法官否认Telegram的判决结果会对正在审理中的Kik诉讼案构成先例约束的说法,Telegram的判决将极大拓宽通过豪威测试(Howey test)判定代币发行是否构成证券发行的适用范围。

目前,美国法院正在审理多起涉及指控以数字资产形式发行未经注册的证券的案件。这些案件大多涉及创建并发行数字代币,出售给投资者以换取资金。这其中的问题在于,依据美国证券交易委员会(SEC)严格的证券发行治理框架,这种发行是否属于证券发行。

早在5月份,该问题就曾引发司法界广泛关注,当时法院对Telegram及其Gram代币发出了初步禁令,理由是美国证券交易委员会极有可能在指控Gram发行属于未经注册的证券发行中胜诉。

外界普遍认为此判决代表着法院会与美国证券交易委员会持相同分析意见:即法院在评估代币发行是否属于证券发行时,将不仅只考虑代币本身,而是会把整个发行过程(从投资协议到开发出的代币的最终分配)算作同一个发行计划的一部分,而这一整体过程则符合证券的定义。

美国证券交易委员会肯定也是这么认为的,因此在Telegram裁决后,美国证券交易委员会旋即针对Kik的诉讼提交了一份即决判决。尽管Telegram案件并非权威性先例(审理此案件的法官只是针对初步事项做出判决,所以只需要考虑是否存在实质胜诉可能性),美国证券交易委员会认为他们能说服Kik诉讼的审理法官采信同一判定理由,从而最终胜诉。

但在上周SEC提出即决判决动议的听证会上,海勒斯坦(Hellerstein)法官明确表示,他并不会在判决时受Telegram案件的约束。他指出,由于该案件是针对Telegram提出初步禁令申请进行裁决,所以法官仅需查明是否存在实质胜诉可能性,而不是就案件本身作出裁决:他说:“不管怎么说,我都认为该案件不构成约束性先例。”

在创造和销售自己的数字代币方面,Telegram和Kik的策略大致相似:两家公司都想通过未来货币简单协议(SAFT)模式为开发代币筹集资金;在首次代币发行(ICO)时还未开发出代币支撑系统;意图凭借各自不断发展的区块链技术来实现代币增值和后续利润增长。

人们难免会比较这两个案例,但由于Telegram彻底放弃了Gram代币,因而使原本针对Telegram案件的最终判决失去了效力,也避免了在当时看来是对SAFT模式在所难免的司法级致命打击。

不过,虽然法官否认了Telegram案件的先例约束,但是Kik诉讼还是让数字资产ICO和SAFT模式面临国家级权威司法的裁决。海勒斯坦法官尚未就申请即决判决作出最终裁决,但由于不具约束性先例和争议中相对新颖的法律问题,本案似乎只能走向庭审。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Judge in Kik lawsuit not bound by Telegram reasoning

A U.S. judge has refused to apply the Telegram reasoning—which would significantly widen the applicability of the Howey test for whether a coin offering constitutes a security or not—to the ongoing Kik litigation.

A number of cases are making their way through the U.S. courts at the moment concerning the alleged offering of unregistered securities in the form of digital assets. The cases typically involve the creation and offering of the rights to digital tokens to investors in return for capital, and the question is whether or not this offering counts as a security for the purposes of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s (SEC) rigorous framework governing the offering of securities.

That question got a significant amount of judicial attention back in May, when the Court granted a preliminary injunction against Telegram and their Gram token on the basis that the SEC had shown a substantial likelihood of success in their lawsuit alleging that the Gram offering was an unregistered security.

The ruling was largely taken as a sign that the Courts would align with SEC’s analysis of the issue: that the Court would look beyond just the tokens themselves in assessing whether a security is being offered and would consider the entire offering process—from the investment agreement through to the eventual distribution of the developed tokens—as a part of the same scheme, which taken as a whole falls within the definition of security.

The SEC certainly thought so, anyway: almost immediately after the Telegram ruling, the SEC filed for summary judgment in its lawsuit against Kik. Despite the Telegram case not being an authoritative precedent—the Judge in that case was only ruling on a preliminary matter and only needed to consider whether there was a substantial likelihood of success—the SEC thought that they could convince the Judge in the Kik litigation to adopt the same reasoning and resolve the suit in their favor.

In a hearing regarding the SEC’s motion for summary judgment last week, however, Judge Hellerstein made it clear he did not find himself bound by the Telegram case, noting that as that ruling was in response to an application for a preliminary injunction against Telegram, the Judge only had to find a substantial likelihood of success and was not providing a ruling on the case itself: “I think that there is no binding precedent on me one way or another,” he said.

Telegram and Kik offered similar arrangements in the creation and sale of their digital tokens: both used the Simple Agreement for Future Tokens (SAFT) structure to raise capital for the development of their tokens, had yet to develop the systems underpinning the tokens at the time of the ICO, with the increase in value and subsequent profits intended to be brought about by each company’s continued work on the technology.

The comparison between the two invites itself, but what could have been a definitive ruling in the Telegram case was neutered by Telegram abandoning its Gram token entirely and avoiding what seemed at that point like an inevitable judicial death blow to the SAFT model.

Still, the Kik litigation offers the best chance for an authoritative judicial decision on the state of digital asset ICOs and the SAFT model, despite the Judge not considering himself bound to the reasoning accepted in the Telegram case. Judge Hellerstein has yet to issue a final ruling on the application for summary judgment, but without a binding precedent and the relatively novel questions of law at issue, it seems unlikely that this case is headed anywhere but trial.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]