伊朗加大对区块奖励挖矿业的监管力度

本周,伊朗副总统埃沙格·贾汉吉里(Eshaq Jahangiri)宣布了一项政府指令,旨在加强控制新兴的区块奖励挖矿行业,打击非法经营者。

根据这项指令,所有区块奖励矿工都必须向工业、矿业和贸易部进行身份注册。矿工还必须如实告知他们的数字货币矿机数量和类型。矿工将有一个月的时间履行新规。

之后,相关部门将公布一份获得牌照的矿场名单,区块奖励矿工要想在该国挖矿,就必须使用这些设备进行作业。区块奖励矿工可以申请作业许可证,同时所有获得牌照的挖矿中心必须在系统上登记发货收据。

这项指令没有具体说明违法新规的处罚措施。

伊朗开始接纳数字货币挖矿行业,部分原因是为了应对美国特朗普政府制裁可能带来的经济动荡。据悉,伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼(Hassan Rouhani)甚至在2018年曾提议开发国家数字货币。据比特币挖矿地图显示,伊朗已约占BTC总算力的3.5%。

伊朗成为BTC挖矿的领先市场并不奇怪。据去年一月份发布的一份行业报告称,伊朗已发放了1000多个区块奖励挖矿许可证,其中很多都给了中国挖矿公司,这些公司为寻求更低电价,蜂拥而至伊朗这一能源大国,在这里,电力成本可获得国家补贴。

今年5月,据新闻媒体Arzdigital报道,鲁哈尼向伊朗中央银行(CBI)官员表示,伊朗需要制定一项鼓励数字货币矿工的新提案。与此同时,该国政府向土耳其公司Iminer颁发了许可证,之后,这家区块奖励矿业公司投资了730万美元,建造了一个拥有6000台矿机的矿场。

由于挖矿政策、关税和法律的相互矛盾,伊朗的监管框架引发了不少混乱,致使许多经营者处于非法或灰色地带。伊朗政策制定者表示,本周发布的新指令旨在为数字货币挖矿活动“消除困惑”。

为对付该指令的违规者,伊朗政府以现金奖励形式,鼓励民众举报影响国家电网的非法数字货币挖矿活动。虽然伊朗对数字货币挖矿持有积极态度,但该国境内仍然禁止数字货币的兑换和交易。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Iran takes further steps to regulate block reward mining

This week, Iranian Vice President Eshaq Jahangiri announced an official government decree designed to tighten its control over the growing block reward mining industry and stamp out illegal operators. 

According to the directive, all block reward miners have to register their identity with the Ministry of Industry, Mines, and Trade. Miners must also disclose the number and type of equipment used to mine digital currencies. Officials gave miners one month to comply with the new order. 

The ministry will then publish a list of sanctioned mining facilities that block reward miners must use if they intend to operate within the country. Block reward miners may apply for an activity license, and all licensed mining centers must register the delivery receipt on their system.

The order did not specify the penalties for failing to comply with the new measures.  

Iran embraced the digital currencies mining industry in part to offset the potential economic turmoil from U.S. sanctions put in place by the Trump administration. In 2018, Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani allegedly even flirted with the idea to launch a national digital currency. According to Bitcoin Mining Map, Iran already has roughly a 3.5% share of BTC’s total hash rate.  

That Iran is a top market for BTC mining should come as no surprise. An industry report last January said Iran had issued over 1,000 block reward mining licenses. Many of which have gone to China mining operators flooding in searching for even cheaper electricity prices inside the energy-rich nation where electrical costs are state-subsidized. 

In May, news outlet Arzdigital reported that Rouhani told officials from the Central Bank of Iran (CBI) the country needs to devise a new scheme that welcomes digital currency miners. Around this time, officials issued a license to Turkish-based company Iminer, which saw the block reward miner spend $7.3 million settings up a facility set to house 6,000 mining rigs. 

Iran’s regulatory framework has been a source of confusion because of conflicting mining policies, tariffs, and laws leaving many operating illegally or in a grey area. Iranian policymakers said the new directive published this week endeavors to “eliminate the confusion of” activities related to mining digital currencies.

For those that refuse to comply with the order, officials are still offering cash rewards for reporting illegal digital currency mining activities that impact the national power grid. While the country has discovered its love for mining digital currencies, usage of digital currency as a medium of exchange and trading of digital currencies remain prohibited inside Iran. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.