Hester Peirce在《区块链政策事务》节目中谈到了数字资产的监管,并为支持创新方面带来了更多的思路

随着数字资产监管格局的不断形成,全球各地的监管机构开始了解并着手处理区块链数字货币行业的具体需求的复杂细节。

在最新一期的区块链政策事务节目中,比特币协会的创始主席Jimmy Nguyen与美国证券交易委员会(SEC)委员Hester Peirce会面并一起讨论了目前的监管状况。

Peirce在2017年7月被美国前总统唐纳德·特朗普(Donald Trump)提名为美国证券交易委员会委员,这一提名在当年的晚些时候得到了参议院的认可,于是她从2018年1月开始了为期5年的任职生涯。因为她对数字货币行业积极主动的监管行为,她在该行业内被亲切地称为 “加密妈妈”。

相比于专注于通过监管来钳制该行业——这几乎必然会以创新为代价,Peirce解释道,她认为应该研究如何通过监管来帮助鼓励(数字货币)行业的创新和增长,这才是符合每个人利益的做法。

“我想敦促我的监管者同行们思考的是,不要只看到事物消极的方面,而是要切实地寻找其中积极的因素。所以,如果美联储正在考虑发行CBDC(央行数字货币)——这可能是他们在基础设施项目方面想做的事——我希望他们不要排除在纯私营部门也会有积极的事情发生的可能性。”

她指出:“请记住,很多真正的创新产生于私营部门中——不要试图压制这种创新,也不要把这看作是私营部门和公共部门之间的竞争。我认为人们可以拥有一个公共层面的的CBDC,但同时也可以在私营层面上拥有许多诸如此类的东西。监管机构总体倾向于保守主义——这一点可以从许多监管机构的评论看出来——但我们也应当从积极的方面看待这个问题,正视科技能够改变事物、并让所有人的生活都变得更好的潜力。作为监管者,我不认为试图遏制创新的产生或者将创新转移到美国以外的地方对于我们而言是胜利,因为这最终是不会给我们带来好处的。”

Peirce告诉Nguyen,关于政府应用如何与私营部门在区块链领域的创新并存的问题,他们仍在寻找两者之间的最佳的协同方案。

“我们现在还处于尝试解决这个问题的早期阶段。您可以想想(区块链)在金融和非金融方面的用途。从证券监管机构的角度出发,我会考虑区块链可以如何帮助我们提高在过去的几个月中被曝光的一些流程的效率,因为我们一直在思考迷因股票的上涨、关于股票结算的一些疑虑以及其他诸如此类的事情。”她说。

“我希望许多的创新能在私营部门中出现,而不是由我们作为证券监管机构来接管。我认为这些分布式账本类的创新带来的好处是,它确实有助于通过消除每个人都在使用的共同的(潜在)失败中心点/故障中心点来提高(金融系统的)弹性。所以如果我们能够利用这种技术来增强我们金融系统的弹性,那么我认为我们的情况会变得更好。”

Peirce在谈到安全港(safe harbor)时,表示这个想法很有吸引力,因为它可以为该行业的每个创新者都提供一个公平的竞争平台。

Peirce解释道:“我想,促使我考虑安全港的原因,就是我希望能为这个行业的创新者提供一个公平的竞争环境,让所有人都可以在相同的条件下进行竞争。”

“我们的想法是,如果您已经花费了大量的时间和金钱来开发一个项目并且已经准备好了随时启动它,那么您真的需要思考一下如何在符合法律规定的情况下将代币分发给能够真正使用它们的人。这将使您可以不用回答代币分发事件是否属于证券发行行为这个问题。取而代之的是,您应该按照安全港的规定进行信息披露,目的是公开代币购买者会有兴趣了解的信息。”

Peirce接着表示,为了更好地支持比特币行业的增长和创新,监管机构需要现在就给这个行业的从业者提供明确的指导,而不是在事后才给予建议。

“我现在关心的是,我们不能等到(事情发生)三年之后再回头说,好吧,这就是您做过的事情,而它违反了证券法。如果我们正在目睹事情发生,而且我们非常需要现在就告诉人们,那么(我们就应该告诉他们)这是您在参与这项活动时需要牢记的东西。”

您可以在比特币协会YouTube频道上观看《区块链政策事务》第二集。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Hester Peirce talks digital asset regulation and bringing more clarity to support innovation on Blockchain Policy Matters

As the regulatory landscape for digital assets continues to take shape, regulators worldwide are getting to grips with the ins and outs of the specific needs of the blockchain and digital currency industries.

In the latest episode of Blockchain Policy Matters, Bitcoin Association Founding President Jimmy Nguyen caught up with SEC Commissioner Hester Peirce to discuss the current regulatory picture.

Peirce was nominated by U.S. President Donald Trump in July 2017 as a Commissioner to the Securities and Exchange Commission and confirmed by the Senate later that year, beginning the balance of a five-year term in January 2018. She has come to be affectionately known in the digital currency industry as “Crypto-Mom,” for her proactive approach to regulation in the sector.

Rather than focusing clamping down on the sector through regulation – almost certainly at the cost of innovation – Peirce explained that she takes the view that it is in everyone’s interests to look at how regulation can help encourage innovation and growth in the sector.

“What I would urge my fellow regulators to think about is to think not only to have the reaction of looking at where the negatives are, but to really look for the positives. So if the Fed is considering a CBDC [central bank digital currency] – that may be something they want to do in terms of an infrastructure project – I would hope they don’t rule out the positive things that can happen in the purely private sector as well.”

She noted, “Remember that a lot of the real innovation happens in the private sector—don’t try to squelch that out, and don’t view this as a competition between the private and the public sector. I think you can have a public CBDC, but you can also have a lot of this stuff happening on the private side. There tends to be a conservatism—which I think is reflected in a lot of comments from regulators—but look at it optimistically too; look at the potential for technology to change things for the better for everyone. I don’t think we win out as regulators when we try to prevent innovation from happening or try to shift it outside of the United States. That will ultimately not serve us well.”

On government applications coexisting alongside private sector innovations in blockchain, Peirce told Nguyen that there is still progress to be made in figuring out the best synergies between the two.

“It’s early days in terms of trying to figure that out. You can think of financial and non-financial uses. From a securities regulator perspective, I think about how blockchain can assist us in making more efficient some of the processes that came to light over the past couple of months, as we’ve been thinking about things like the rise of the meme stocks and some of the concerns of settlement stocks, things like that,” she said.

“I hope that a lot of that innovation happens in the private sector as opposed to us taking it over as a securities regulator. I think the benefit of some of these distributed ledger-type innovations is that it does contribute to resiliency by taking away common central points of failure that everyone is using. So to the extent we can use this technology to enhance the resiliency of our financial system, I think we will be better off.”

Addressing safe harbors, Peirce said the idea was attractive as a way of providing a level playing field for everyone innovating in the sector.

“I think the thing that drove me to think about a safe harbor is just this idea of wanting to provide a level playing field so that anyone could take advantage of it on the same terms as anyone else,” Peirce explained.

“The idea is that if you’ve spent a considerable amount of time and money developing a project and you’re ready to launch your network and you want to get the tokens out into the hands of people who can actually use them, it really is a concern about how you could do that consistent with the law. This would allow you to not have to really answer whether that token distribution event wasn’t a security offering or not. Instead, you would make the disclosures prescribed in the safe harbor, which are intended to get to the things that token purchasers would be interested in knowing.”

Peirce went on to suggest the SEC needs to be giving clear guidance to industry now, rather than in retrospect, in order to better support growth and innovation.

“What I’m concerned about is that we can’t wait three years to go back and say, OK, well, this is what you did. And this is how it violated the securities laws. If we’re seeing things now when we really need to be telling people now, this is what you need to bear in mind as you’re as you’re engaging in this activity.”

You can find episode two of Blockchain Policy Matters on the Bitcoin Association YouTube channel.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]