报告:黑客劫持欧洲超级计算机,用于处理门罗币

过去一周,随着黑客们部署了处理数字货币的恶意软件,出现了一些针对欧洲超级计算机最大规模的攻击。这是他们首次进行此类攻击,这扰乱了英国、德国、瑞士和西班牙的研究活动。安全研究人员已经追踪到了这些攻击是来自中国的受损网络。

第一份攻击报告来自苏格兰爱丁堡大学,该大学运行着ARCHER超级计算机。根据5月11日的一份现状报告,该机构注意到了ARCHER登录节点上的一个安全漏洞,并决定在调查入侵时,完全禁止了对超级计算机的访问。截至记者发稿时,ARCHER仍不可访问,该大学表示将在本周晚些时候恢复服务。

欧洲各地都有报道类似的例子。在德国,一个负责协调超级计算机研究项目的组织bwHPC报告说,它的五台超级计算机被关闭。其他类似的例子包括了巴伐利亚科学院的莱布尼茨超级计算中心、德累斯顿技术大学和瑞士国家科学计算中心。

受到威胁的机构没有透露多少关于恶意软件的信息。然而,欧洲网格基础设施(EGI)向安全研究人员公开了恶意软件样本。据EGI称,袭击者从中国两所大学和波兰一所大学联合发起了攻击。黑客通过盗用的SSH凭证获得了对超级计算机的访问权。

一旦他们攻击了这个系统,他们就会部署一个处理隐私币门罗的应用程序。

这是黑客第一次劫持超级计算机来处理数字货币,而且是在最糟糕的时候劫持的。大多数受到攻击的超级计算机一直在运行针对COVID-19的模拟研究。他们中的大多数还没有从攻击中恢复过来,这对COVID-19的研究工作是一个重大的打击。

虽然黑客过去没有劫持超级计算机来处理数字货币,但员工自己安装数字货币处理器来挖矿的情况时有发生。在俄罗斯,一名核科学家在2019年末被判入狱三年,罪名是他使用其设备——超级计算机处理数字货币。这位科学家在全俄实验物理科学研究所工作。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Hackers take over supercomputers in Europe to process Monero: report

The past week has seen some of the most widespread attacks on supercomputers in Europe, with the hackers deploying digital currency processing malware. The attacks were the first of their kind and disrupted research activities in the U.K., Germany, Switzerland and Spain. Security researchers have traced the attacks to compromised networks in China.

The first report of the attack came from the University of Edinburgh in Scotland which runs the ARCHER supercomputer. According to a status report on May 11, the institution noticed a security exploitation on the ARCHER login nodes and decided to disable access to the supercomputer altogether as it investigated the intrusion. At press time, ARCHER is still unavailable, with the university stating that it could resume services later this week.

Similar instances were reported all across Europe. In Germany, bwHPC, an organization responsible for coordinating research projects across supercomputers reported that five of its supercomputers were shut down. Others included the Bavarian Academy of Sciences’ Leibniz Computing Center, the Technical University in Dresden and the Swiss Center of Scientific Computations.

The compromised institutions didn’t divulge much information about the malware. However, the European Grid Infrastructure (EGI) released the malware samples to security researchers. According to the EGI, the attackers coordinated the attacks from two universities in China and one in Poland. The hackers gained access to the supercomputers through compromised secure shell (SSH) credentials.

Once they attacked the system, they would deploy an application that processed privacy coin Monero.

This is the first time that hackers have taken over supercomputers to process digital currencies, and it couldn’t have come at a worse time. Most of the supercomputers under attack have been running simulations aimed at COVID-19 research. Most of them have yet to recover from the attack, dealing a significant blow to the COVID-19 research efforts.

While hackers haven’t taken over supercomputers to process digital currencies in the past, there have been incidences when employees installed the digital currency processors themselves. In Russia, a nuclear scientist was put behind bars for three years in late 2019 on charges of processing digital currencies using his facility’s supercomputers. The scientist was working at the All-Russian Scientific Research Institute of Experimental Physics.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]