2021年7月BSV网络的扣块/重组攻击

此前发生了什么?

在2021年6月24日、7月1日、7月6日和7月9日这几天,一个名为“Zulupool”的未知矿工参与了对Bitcoin SV(BSV)网络的恶意区块重组攻击。这是一种被称为“区块扣留”的区块链攻击类型(以下简称“扣块攻击”),即作恶方自己秘密创建出一连串区块,让其与合法的区块链并行,再一次性释放这些区块,以重写区块链,从而实现对自己有利的双花交易。

当6月24日和7月1日的区块重组发生时,恶意攻击的意图并不明显。实际上,自然发生的区块重组本就是比特币系统的一个特性,它使网络的参与者和节点能够校准自己的区块链进度;并非所有的区块重组情况都被认为是有问题的,因此必须针对具体情况具体分析。

然而,使用区块重组进行双花攻击是严重违法的。Bitcoin SV基础架构团队在得知区块重组后就开始进行深入调查。在对7月6日区块重组的进一步调查中,团队发现了这些重组具有明显蓄意及恶意意图,因此立即采取了行动以降低风险并进行应对。

攻击是否仍在继续?

最后一次由假冒Zulupool矿工发起的重组攻击发生在7月9日(星期五),BSV网络随后实施了保护和预防措施,此后网络没有再发生进一步的攻击。但在现阶段,比特币协会和Bitcoin SV基础架构团队仍在高度关注相关情况,我们的全球团队正在持续密切监控网络情况。

本次攻击的幕后黑手是谁?

目前,比特币协会与Bitcoin SV基础架构团队均未能确定攻击者的真实身份。这次恶意攻击方似乎在冒用“Zulupool”的名号。请注意我们并不认为攻击者是与Hathor有关的“Zulupool”矿工;相反,我们认为攻击者是在冒充“Zulupool”。

就在几个月前,也曾有人使用“Zulupool”这个名号对Bitcoin ABC(BCHA)区块链实施了类似的攻击。虽然我们不能独立地验证对BCHA和BSV网络进行攻击的是否为同一人或组织,但从攻击方法、特征和Zulupool这个名称的相似性上看,这些要素都指向是同一方所为这个推断。

为什么会有恶意行为者以这种方式攻击BSV区块链?

  • 恶意行为者试图以这种方式对BSV区块链(或任意区块链)进行攻击的原因有很多。然而,在现阶段,在没有进一步资料的情况下,我们无法确定攻击者的动机。

可能的动机有:

– 之所以试图进行扣块或重组攻击,最明显的原因是想要尝试进行双花和欺诈——也就是通过操纵区块链的记录,多次花费同一笔BSV。当这类攻击发生时,其攻击目标通常是交易所——因为交易所往往拥有大量的代币流动性。然而值得注意的是,到目前为止,无论是比特币协会,还是Bitcoin SV基础设施团队,抑或是与我们保持联系的任何交易所,都未收到任何来自双花受害者的报告。

– 鉴于Bitcoin ABC(BCHA)区块链在几个月前经历了具有类似特征的重组事件,因此,这很有可能是一场有预谋的、针对比特币竞争链的行动。虽然本次攻击尚未让BSV区块链受到直接的损失,也没有直接的盗窃事件发生,但从交易所对BSV出入金以及交易的限制,以及攻击所造成的持续声誉损害可以看出,这种无形的不利影响才是攻击者是首要目标(而非攻击造成的次要影响)。

– 另一种可能性是,恶意行为者所做的这些区块重组行为,是在进行资产转移,他试图模糊某些代币的历史移动记录,从而提升对其跟踪的难度。然而,如果这就是攻击的动机,那这就是一次完全失败的攻击,因为人们现在有更强的意识及取证工具用于跟踪和记录攻击,攻击只会让人们更加关注这些交易,此外还为人们提供了动力去收集所有关联交易的全面证据。

BSV网络在遭受区块重组攻击期间是否产生了双花交易?

确实有双花交易发生,但现阶段,没有证据表明这些欺诈性的双花交易损害了另一个无辜方的利益。目前来看,发起攻击的“Zulupool”大概率从始至终一直在双花自己的交易。

比特币协会在技术层面有何响应?

比特币协会及其开发部门Bitcoin SV基础架构团队采取了若干技术措施,以应对冒名“Zulupool”的矿工的恶意攻击行为,并减少未来潜在攻击所产生的影响。这包括与BSV网络上的矿工和交易处理商协调,共同实施预防和响应措施,具体包括能让生态参与者和合作伙伴在受到攻击时迅速采取行动的分叉检测工具。自从采取这些措施以来,到目前为止,BSV网络没有再进一步受到攻击。

比特币协会是否将援引法律机制回应此次攻击?

自从7月6日BSV网络的区块重组被定性为恶意攻击以来,Bitcoin SV基础架构团队已经采取行动协助保护网络并收集非法攻击的相关证据,并定期向比特币协会的法务团队整理及分享这些信息。比特币协会的代表也已开始联系相关执法部门。协会还准备在一个或多个相关司法管辖区发起刑事诉讼;受此次攻击影响的相关方也可以独立就此提起诉讼。

为什么有些交易所暂停了BSV的出入金或交易?

自首次确认恶意行为以来,比特币协会的代表一直与支持BSV的交易所保持着系。协会还在2021年7月8日就此事发表了一份公开声明。

我们一直且依然认为,交易所的主要措施应该是冻结所有与双花地址相关的代币入金。

此外,比特币协会认为,如果交易所采取了以下两项措施,就足以避免攻击带来的负面影响:1)积极主动地监控区块链的区块重组;2)采取一项临时保护措施,在BSV入金被认定有效之前,将所需区块确认数维持或延长至至少20个。我们相信,这将提供免受区块重组攻击的充足保护。我们认为交易所不需要完全停止与BSV相关的所有出入金和交易活动。但是,在此类情况下,比特币协会只能以咨询的身份行事,因为交易所是独立的实体,并将根据他们自己的流程和对此类事件的容忍度行事。

比特币协会将在整个过程中继续积极地与交易所进行沟通,并将竭尽所能为尽快恢复BSV的出入金和交易服务提供支持。

我何时可以在交易所存取或交易BSV

每个交易所将自行决定何时以及如何重启与BSV相关的服务。在现阶段,我们无法确切地告知您,您所选用的交易所将在何时恢复BSV的出入金或交易服务。比特币协会及其代表将与交易所保持联系,并及时向大家分享所有的新闻、更新以及恢复可用时间等信息。

我存在交易所的BSV安全吗?

所有留存在交易所或未主动与不受信任方进行过交易的BSV都不会受到此次攻击的影响。

Bitcoin SV网络是否依然安全可用?

是的。Bitcoin SV网络仍然如往常一样安全可用。但是,比特币协会建议,在短期内,用户尽可能在已确定的各方之间收发BSV。在与未知或不受信任方进行交易时,我们建议设置一段过渡期,在认定交易安全及已结算之前等待至少20个区块确认。

我能继续使用我最喜欢的BSV应用吗?

可以。只要您使用的BSV应用不涉及非法双花,该应用将不受阻碍且不受影响地继续运行下去。

针对Bitcoin SV网络的扣块/重组攻击,比特币协会就我们自己和代表所收到的最常见问题进行了回答。

如果您有其他任何疑问,请直接联系:

Alex Speirs
公关主管 alexander@bitcoinassociation.net

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

FAQs: July 2021 block withholding/re-organisation attack on the BSV network

Last updated: July 27 – 7pm (UKT)

In response to the block withholding/re-organisation attack on the Bitcoin SV network, Bitcoin Association has prepared answers to the most frequently asked questions that we and our representatives are receiving.

What has happened?

On June 24, 2021 and then again on July 1, 6 and 9, an unknown miner operating (as an apparent impersonator) under the ‘Zulupool’ moniker engaged in malicious block re-organisation attacks on the Bitcoin SV (BSV) network. This type of attack, known as a ‘block withholding’ attack, involves a malicious actor creating a chain of competing
blocks – re-written to the benefit of the attacker, i.e., containing double spends – in parallel with the correct chain. These malicious blocks are created in secret then released all at once to orphan the correct blocks from honest nodes.

The malicious nature of the attack was not initially clear from the first sets of block reorganisations on June 24 and July 1. Block reorganisations are a feature of the Bitcoin system when they occur organically and are used to align participants and nodes on the network; therefore, not all block re-organisations should be treated as problematic and analysis must be done to assess the nature of each situation.

However, using block reorganisations for double-spend attacks is highly illegal. The Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team began extensively investigating the block re-organisations after learning of them. Further investigation after the July 6 block re-organisation revealed the deliberate and malicious nature of the activity, and then prompted immediate action by the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team to mitigate and respond.

Are the attacks ongoing?

The last re-organisation attack by the impersonating ‘Zulupool’ miner occurred on Friday, July 9. Protective measures have been implemented for the BSV network and there have been no further attacks since then. However, at this stage Bitcoin Association and the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team continue to treat this as an active situation, and we have a global team closely monitoring the network at all hours.

Update 27/7: Bitcoin Association is not aware of any further block withholding or re-organisation attacks on the BSV network following the last known attack on July 9, 2021. Bitcoin Association and the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team both continue to actively monitor the situation.

Who is behind the attack?

At this stage, neither Bitcoin Association nor the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team can confirm the exact identity or identities of the attackers. The malicious party is carrying out their attacks under the ‘Zulupool’ moniker. We do not believe that the malicious actor is the same ‘Zulupool’ that has long been associated with the Hathor miner of the same name. Instead, we believe the attacker is impersonating ‘Zulupool’.

Just a few months ago, an actor also using the same ‘Zulupool’ moniker carried out a deep block reorganisation of the Bitcoin ABC (BCHA) chain. While we cannot independently confirm that it is the same party who is behind the recent attacks on BSV, the BCHA chain incident had similarities in methodologies and characteristics with the reorganization attacks on BSV, and also used the same Zulupool name; these factors strongly suggest it is the same actor.

Why would a malicious party attack the BSV blockchain in this way?

There are several reasons why a malicious party may attempt to attack the BSV blockchain (or any blockchain for that matter) in such a fashion. At this stage, however, in the absence of further information, we cannot conclusively determine the motives of the attacker.

Possible motives are:

– The most obvious reason to attempt a block withholding or re-organisation attack would be as part of an effort to double-spend and defraud – that is, spend the same BSV tokens several times by manipulating the records of the blockchain. When these types of attacks occur, it is generally exchanges – which tend to hold significant token liquidity – that are targeted. However, it is important to note that to date, neither Bitcoin Association, nor the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team, nor any exchanges with whom we are in contact, have received any reports of anyone claiming to be a victim of a double spend.

– Given that the Bitcoin ABC (BCHA) chain experienced a reorganisation incident with similar characteristics just a few months ago, it is possible that this is a coordinated campaign against competing implementations and chains of Bitcoin. While no direct losses or thefts have yet been attributed to the attack on the BSV blockchain, the response by exchanges to restrict BSV deposit and withdrawals and/or trading activities and the attending reputational harm caused by the attacks could indicate that the detrimental intangible impact was the primary goal, not a secondary repercussion.

– Another possibility is that the malicious actor is undertaking these block re-organisations to move coins around in an effort to obfuscate the history of certain coins and make them harder to track. If this is what is motivating the attacks, however, it has been entirely unsuccessful, as the heightened awareness and forensic tools being used to track and document the attacks have only served to draw attention to these transactions, in addition to providing the impetus to collect comprehensive evidence for all connected transactions.

Has there been a successful double-spend on the BSV network as a result of the re-organisation attacks?

BSV transactions have been double spent, but at this stage, there is no evidence that these fraudulent activities have been carried out to the detriment of another (innocent) party. It is possible that the malicious ‘Zulupool’ has been double-spending their own transactions.

Update 27/7: Bitcoin Association has been made aware that digital asset exchange Bitmart has claimed that the attacker has used its exchange to deposit ‘fake’ BSV from the double-spend attack and trade them for other coins; the attacker was then able to move some of these fraudulently acquired to other exchanges.  On July 23, Bitmart filed a legal action for injunctive relief in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York seeking to prevent the attacker(s) from further transferring traded coins from Bitmart’s exchange accounts and asking for third-party exchanges to freeze traded coins they received from the attacker.

Bitmart’s legal action is being taken independent of Bitcoin Association; however, Bitcoin Association intends to offer its assistance to Bitmart.  Bitcoin Association also continues to regularly update law enforcement authorities in relevant jurisdictions concerning the attacks.

How is Bitcoin Association responding from a technical perspective?

Bitcoin Association, together with its development arm, the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team, have undertaken certain technical measures to respond to the malicious actions of the ‘Zulupool’ impersonating-miner and to mitigate the impact of any potential future attacks. This includes coordinating with miners and transaction processors on the Bitcoin SV network to implement both reactive and preventative measures – including fork detection tools that enable ecosystem participants and partners to move expeditiously in the face of attacks. Since these measures have been initiated, there have so far been no further attacks on the network.

Is Bitcoin Association invoking legal mechanisms to respond?

Since the malicious nature of the re-orgs on the Bitcoin SV network were identified following the July 6 attacks, the Bitcoin SV Infrastructure Team have taken action to both help protect the network and collect evidence of the illegal activity. This information is being collated and shared at regular intervals with Bitcoin Association’s legal team. Bitcoin Association’s representatives have already started to contact relevant law enforcement authorities. Bitcoin Association is also preparing to submit criminal complaints in one or more relevant jurisdictions; its affected constituents may also initiate proceedings independently.

Update 27/7: Bitcoin Association has been made aware that digital asset exchange Bitmart has claimed that the attacker has used its exchange to deposit ‘fake’ BSV from the double-spend attack and trade them for other coins; the attacker was then able to move some of these fraudulently acquired to other exchanges.  On July 23, Bitmart filed a legal action for injunctive relief in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York seeking to prevent the attacker(s) from further transferring traded coins from Bitmart’s exchange accounts and asking for third-party exchanges to freeze traded coins they received from the attacker.

Bitmart’s legal action is being taken independent of Bitcoin Association; however, Bitcoin Association intends to offer its assistance to Bitmart.  Bitcoin Association also continues to regularly update law enforcement authorities in relevant jurisdictions concerning the attacks.

Why have some exchanges suspended deposits, withdrawals or trading of BSV?

Bitcoin Association representatives have been in contact with BSV-supporting exchanges since the malicious activity was first identified. The Association also released a public statement about the situation on July 8, 2021.

It has been – and continues to be – our view that the primary response from exchanges should be to freeze deposits of any coins associated with the double-spend addresses.

In addition, Bitcoin Association believes an exchange will be adequately insulated from any negative impact of attacks if it: 1) actively monitors the blockchain for block re-orgs; and 2) as an interim protective measure, maintains or extends to at least 20 the number of block confirmations required before BSV deposits are considered valid. We believe this provides sufficient protection against the block reorg attacks. We do not believe exchanges need to completely halt all deposit, withdrawal and trading activity associated with BSV coins. However, Bitcoin Association can only act in an advisory capacity in this instance, as exchanges are independent and will act according to their own procedures and tolerances in such events.

Bitcoin Association continues to actively communicate with exchanges throughout this process, and are doing all that we can to support the reinstatement of BSV deposit, withdrawal and trading services as soon as possible.

Update 27/7: Bitcoin Association can report that several digital asset exchanges have implemented the recommended preventative security measures and re-activated BSV deposit and withdrawal facilities, as well as trading functionality.

For an up-to-date list of exchanges that have restored BSV services, visit the Bitcoin Association Twitter @BitcoinAssn.

When will I be able to deposit, withdraw or trade BSV from exchanges?

Each exchange will make its own decisions about when and how to re-enable BSV services. At this stage, we cannot provide exact timings for when BSV deposit, withdrawal or trading facilities will be active at your chosen exchange. Bitcoin Association and its representatives remain in contact with exchanges and will share any news and updates on this front, as and when it becomes available.

Is my BSV safe on exchanges?

Any BSV kept at exchanges or that isn’t being actively transacted with an untrusted party remains unaffected by the attacks.

Is the Bitcoin SV network safe to use?

Yes. The Bitcoin SV network remains safe to use and is operating as it usually would. However, in the short term, Bitcoin Association recommends only sending and receiving BSV between identified parties where possible. When transacting with unknown or untrusted parties, for an interim period, we advise waiting for at least 20 block confirmations before considering the transaction safe and settled.

Will my favourite BSV app continue to work?

Yes. So long as the BSV app in question isn’t involved in illegal double-spending, the app will continue to operate unimpeded and unaffected.

Should you have any further inquiries, please direct them to:

Alex Speirs
Head of Communications
alexander@bitcoinassociation.net

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]