尼日利亚监管机构确定将数字资产划归为证券

尼日利亚证券监督部门现已正式认可数字资产。在一份新声明中,尼日利亚证券交易委员会(SEC)将日益兴起的数字资产视作一种投资机会,并承诺将制定相关法律法规,以激励相关创新与采用。 

该监管机构指出:“数字资产类产品为投资大众提供了另类投资机会;因此有必要确保这些产品的运行方式与投资者保护、公众利益、市场诚信以及透明度要求相一致。”

尼日利亚证券交易委员会制订了三重目标,基于市场深化、安全性以及问题解决方案而对创新加以监管。根据这一目标,该监督部门透露将在数字代币与货币符合证券交易要求后对其进行管理。

尼日利亚证券交易委员会指出,除非另有证明,一律将数字资产视作证券。“因此,须由相应资产的发行人或发起人证明所要推出的加密资产不属于证券且不在证券交易委员会管理范围之内。”

仅向用户提供产品或服务的实用型代币将被视为商品,不在监管部门管理范围之内。

该监管机构进一步透露,在尼日利亚推出或面向尼日利亚投资者的所有首次代币众筹(ICO)、证券型代币发行(STO)及其他基于区块链的数字资产产品均在其监督范围之列。

“在监管指引实施之前推出的现有数字资产产品,需要根据具体情况在三(3)个月时间内提交初步评估备案或相应登记文件。”

从事任何区块链相关业务的个人或公司也均需向尼日利亚证券交易委员会进行登记。该监管机构透露,这些业务包括“代表他人接受、传递与执行订单,自营交易商,资产组合管理,投资建议,保管人或代理人服务等。”

位于拉各斯的Afrivest Securities董事总经理Ayodeji Ebo认为,由尼日利亚证券交易委员会认定与监管数字货币将确保尼日利亚投资者免遭该行业内众多诈骗者的欺诈。Ebo在接受彭博采访时表示:“加密交易已经在实施之中,越早受到监管,则对经济造成的破坏就越少。这是向投资者提供另类资产的另一种方式。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Digital assets recognized as securities in Nigeria, regulator confirms

The Nigerian securities watchdog has officially recognized digital assets. In a new statement, the Nigerian Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) recognized the rising prominence of digital assets as an investment opportunity and pledged to formulate regulations that will spur innovation and adoption.

“Digital assets offerings provide alternative investment opportunities for the investing public; it is therefore essential to ensure that these offerings operate in a manner that is consistent with investor protection, the interest of the public, market integrity and transparency,” the regulator stated.

The SEC has adopted a three-pronged objective to regulate innovation hinged on market deepening, safety and providing solutions to problems. In line with this objective, the watchdog revealed that it will be regulating digital tokens and currencies if they qualify as securities transactions.

The SEC will regard digital assets as securities unless proven otherwise, it stated. “Thus, the burden of proving that the crypto assets proposed to be offered are not securities and therefore not under the jurisdiction of the SEC, is placed on the issuer or sponsor of the said assets.”

Utility tokens that simply provide users with a product or service will be treated as commodities and will not fall under the purview of the regulator.

The regulator further revealed that all ICOs, STOs and other blockchain-based offers of digital assets launched in Nigeria or targeting Nigerian investors will fall under its oversight.

“Existing digital assets offerings prior to the implementation of the Regulatory Guidelines will have three (3) months to either submit the initial assessment filing or documents for registration proper, as the case may be.”

Individuals or firms operating any blockchain-related business are required to register with the commission as well. These businesses include “reception, transmission and execution of orders on behalf of other persons, dealers on own account, portfolio management, investment advice, custodian or nominee services,” the regulator revealed.

The recognition and regulation of digital currencies by the SEC will ensure Nigerian investors are protected from scammers who are rife in the industry, Ayodeji Ebo believes. Ebo, who is the managing director at Afrivest Securities in Lagos told Bloomberg, “Crypto transactions are already happening and the earlier it is regulated, the less havoc on the economy. It’s another way to provide alternative assets to investors.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.