Craig Wright在最新博客文章中对比了短期利益与长期利益

区块链数字货币领域,短期建设与长期建设是网络上经常被讨论的热门话题。人们认为,有些项目启动时只着眼于短期的成功,这些企业把创造利润看做成唯一的目标,这也是这些项目存在的意义,其中没有规划一个能创造长期利润的蓝图。

然而,在Crag S. Wright博士在最新的博文《短期利益好还是长期利益好?》中,解释了为什么所有积极的社会变革并非都需要代价,并且他着眼于短期和长期的建设以及对社会的影响,以及它们对企业生存能力的影响进行了分析。

Wright博士写道:“目前许多企业的高管试图辩称,他们存在的意义就是为了利润(Friedman,1970/2007年)。

“但是,如果企业的存在仅仅是为了赚取利润,且这些企业并不能为其整个行业创造最佳回报率,那么这些企业就应该停止经营。例如,如果金融股的回报率为7%,而您的企业利润为3%,那么“利润就是一切”的观点将迫使您关闭企业并且重新投资这些资金。

创办企业的人一般都是明知道有亏损的风险但仍期望回报的情况下创办它们的。因此,很明显,企业的成立不仅仅是为了盈利,其实还有其他目的。”

正如Wright博士所说,一个企业创建的目的不仅仅是为了盈利。相反,如果企业的成立只是为了盈利,那么,您将会看到更多的企业在未达到盈利目的之后就倒闭。在“企业只为盈利而存在”的理念中被忽视的一点,就是有一些企业是抱着让世界变得更美好的想法去制定目标的,也就是说即使他们要亏损几年,但是他们依然会为了目标而努力。

Wright博士写道:“短期的利润往往会以牺牲长期的利益为代价。”

“例如,汽车制造商的存在就不仅仅是为了盈利,而是为客户提供一种交通方式。我将从特斯拉(Tesla)的例子开始分析。

“创始人和旗下工作人员宣传称特斯拉是一种不需要使用化石燃料的交通工具。虽然它也有一些负面影响,例如大多数的锂电池都是从战乱地区获得的,而且是有毒的(如钴),但其创始人对社会变革的奉献依旧是显而易见的。”

2019年,特斯拉没有盈利,净亏损8.62亿美元。然而,特斯拉的目标不仅仅是为了盈利,他们已经着手解决一个造福世界的问题(减少化石燃料的使用)。尽管特斯拉现阶段已经开始盈利并取得了短期的成功,但特斯拉制定了一项更长远的计划,这个计划将影响世界,以及增加特斯拉的发展空间。

Wright博士写道:“正如Simpson、Fischer和Rohde(2013)所解释的那样,拥有长期盈利的能力,并且按照道德体系(如有意识的资本主义)行事所获得的成果,可以为团队组织带来更好的长期回报。”

这一点在特斯拉身上就得到了体现,特斯拉在2020年首次实现全年盈利,收入7.21亿美元。

商业道德

有时候,有道德、有意识的资本主义甚至可以以牺牲一个有利可图的行业为代价。

Wright写道:“所有积极的改变都是来自于少数人,这些少数人的行动与现状和大多数人的决定都是背道而驰的。”随后,他解释了奴隶制是一个被普遍接受且利润丰厚的全球产业,但由于人们对社会变革的需求增高,奴隶制进而被终结。

特斯拉亏损经营以追求减少世界上化石燃料用量的例子,以及尽管奴隶制是一个有利可图的行业但被终结的例子,都让人明白并非所有的企业都是为了创造利润而存在的。即使这个行业存在的唯一目的就是为了盈利,但也不代表该行业中的企业能在未来生存下来。除了利润以外,还有其他因素在发挥作用,例如道德和企业以及行业对世界的影响。

Wright博士说:“无论我们谈论的是公司还是其他团体,任何实体企业成立的主要原因都不仅仅是利润。”

“也不是所有的社会变革或所有的变革都是好的,但发起运动或创办公司的个人会寻求他们认为是最好的结果。其实我们需要衡量的并不仅仅是是对个人的回报,甚至是对社会或国家的经济回报,而是可能会发生的变革。所有的变革都会给人们带来一些积极或消极的影响。困难就出在这里:我们需要做出决定,这些决定对我们自身以外的事物或人具有长期影响,这涉及到更深层次的思考,而这些思考并不是大多数人所追求的。”

如果您想了解更多关于短期建设与长期建设的信息,除了盈利能力以外的事物以及它们对企业前景的影响,您一定要阅读Wright博士在CraigWright.net上的最新博文《短期利益好还是长期利益好?》。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Craig Wright tackles short term v long term building in new blog post

Craig Wright tackles short term v long term building in new blog post

Building for the short term vs. building for the long term is a topic that is often discussed when it comes to blockchain and digital currency networks. There is a belief that several projects launch with a sole focus on short-term success; this typically looks like a project existing for what seems to be just one goal, generating profit without a roadmap that will allow the business to persist into the future.

However, in Dr. Craig S. Wright’s latest blog post, “The Short versus the Long Term?,” he explains why this is not always the case, and takes a look at short and long-term decisions as well as social impact and the effect they have on a business’s ability to survive.

“Many executives of current organisations attempt to argue that the very reason for their existence is to create profit (Friedman, 1970/2007),” Dr. Wright writes. 

“But, if corporations merely existed to make a profit, any firm that is not making the best rate of return for their industry, but the economy as a whole, should stop running. For instance, if the returns on financial shares come in at 7 per cent and your organisation is making a profit of 3 per cent, the argument that profit is all that matters would dictate that you shut down the company and reinvest the funds.

The people who found companies do so under the expectation of returns knowing that there is a chance of losing money. As such, it is clear that companies are formed not only to make a profit, but for other purposes.”

Businesses have goals beyond making a profit. As Dr. Wright said, if that was not the case, you would see more businesses shutting down after they failed to profit. What is ignored in the “businesses only exist to profit” idea, is that some enterprises have goals that will make the world a better place, goals beyond generating profit—even if that means they must operate at a loss for a few years.

“Short-term profit can often come at the expense of long-term gains,” Dr. Wright writes.

“For instance, a car manufacturer does not exist merely to make a profit, but to provide clients with a form of transport. An example I will start with would be the case of Tesla. 

“The purpose being promoted by the founder and others in the firm is to deliver a form of transportation that does not require the use of fossil fuels. There are some negatives to it, with many of the inputs to lithium batteries being obtained from conflict zones and being toxic (such as cobalt), but the aims of the founders in creating social change are evident.”

In 2019, Tesla was not profitable and had a net loss of $862 million. However, Tesla has goals beyond profiting, they have set out to solve a problem that will benefit the world (cutting down fossil fuel usage). Despite profit and short-term success, Tesla has a plan in place that will impact the world, and Tesla’s bottom line, in the long term.

“As Simpson, Fischer, and Rohde (2013) explained, long-term profitability, and the pay-offs from acting in accordance with ethical systems such as conscious capitalism, can produce better long-term returns for organisations,” Dr. Wright writes.

This is playing out to be the case with Tesla, which reported its first full-year profit in 2020 bringing in $721 million.

Ethics in business

Sometimes, ethical and conscious capitalism even takes place at the expense of a profitable industry. 

“All positive changes come from the actions of a few individuals that go against the decisions of the status quo and the many,” Dr. Wright writes, before going on to explain how slavery was a global industry that was commonly accepted and extremely profitable, but was brought to an end because there was a higher demand for social change.

The example of Tesla operating at a loss to pursue its greater goal of reducing the amount of fossil fuels used in the world, and the example of slavery being brought to an end even though it was a profitable industry, drive home the idea that not all businesses exist for the sole purpose of generating profit. And even if the industry does exist for the sole purpose of generating profit, it does not always mean that the business will survive into the future, there are other factors in play beyond profit, such as ethics and the impact the business or industry has on the world.

“Whether we’re talking about corporations or other bodies, the primary reason that any entity is formed is never merely profit,” Dr. Wright says. 

“Not all social change, and for that matter not all change, is good, but the individuals who start a movement or a company seek what they believe is the best outcome. We need to weigh it not merely with the returns to the individuals, or even with economic returns to society and our countries, but with the change that can occur. All change will impact some people positively and others negatively. Here lies the difficulty: making decisions that have long-term impacts on more than ourselves involves a deep level of thought that not many seek to pursue.”

If you’re looking to learn more about short term and long term success, the factors that are at play beyond profitability, and the effect they have on an enterprise’s outlook, you are going to want to read Dr. Wright’s latest blog post, “The Short versus the Long Term?” on CraigWright.net.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]