BitMEX诉讼让数字货币交易平台蒙上阴影

在过去6个月左右的时间里,数字货币交易平台BitMEX已经收到了两起诉讼,让该行业最大的运营商之一蒙上了阴影。

第一次诉讼发生在2019年12月,当时BitMEX被早期投资者弗兰克·阿马托(Frank Amato)和RGB Coin起诉,指控BitMEX在投资的早期阶段承诺收购股权。但从未实现过。

本月,又有一起针对BitMEX对数字货币蓄意操纵的新诉讼,指控其涉嫌敲诈勒索、电汇欺诈、洗钱等与BitMEX交易平台的建设和运营有关。

BMA LLC与HDR Global Trading(BitMEX)等公司的纷争

这项诉讼是由BMA LLC提起的,这是一家位于波多黎各的公司,在过去六个月里,该公司对其他公司提起了类似的诉讼,包括区块链公司Ripple

据诉讼称,BitMEX不仅为数字货币市场的操纵提供了便利,而且用手段从中获益。BitMEX的核心产品是其高杠杆交易(高达100倍)。换句话说,用户可以有效地以实际需要一百倍比特币作为抵押品进行交易,让交易员有机会从数字货币价格的微小波动中获得高水平的利润,换取更高的可能性,即他们将失去基于更小价格波动的一切。

该公司指责BitMEX故意将其期货发行的指数价格建在规模较小的、流动性较差的交易所上,从而提高了杠杆交易对其有利的能力。

诉讼还称,BitMEX暗中与其客户进行交易,并引用了他们最近才更新的服务条款,披露BitMEX从事营利性交易业务,并在平台上的其他交易员不知情的情况下使用BitMEX上的产品进行交易。

该诉讼将这种行为定性为非法,通常是犯罪,并提出13个诉讼理由:

• 洗钱、无照汇款、电信欺诈和跨国运输被盗财产的方式进行敲诈勒索,意图诈骗BMA和其他加密货币交易商
• 串谋敲诈勒索被告非法企业的利润
• 在州际贸易中销售任何商品时使用操纵或欺骗手段
• 比特币期货和现金比特币的价格操纵
• 对员工操纵行为负责
• 协助和教唆操纵比特币期货和现金比特币
• 未能维持功能性加密货币衍生品市场,疏忽为交易者提供纯粹经济损失的责任
• 市场操纵引起的欺诈
• 在平台上欺骗交易者的民事阴谋
• 违反加州竞争法(商业和职业法)不公平商业行为
• 以BMA为代价的不当得利
• 推定信托,被告对所收取的资金没有法律权利要求,而被BMA托管
* 第13条要求全面说明被告与诉讼中指称的市场操纵有关的收支情况

在所有这些指控中,BMA要求法院赔偿赔偿、三倍赔偿金、律师费以及惩戒和惩罚性赔偿(惩罚性赔偿高达50,000,000美元)。

现在将由BitMEX来回应这些指控。从他们的角度来看,他们运营的是一个合法的交易平台,在美国没有合法注册,因为美国官网不向美国客户提供其衍生产品。它将驳回对内幕交易的指控,指出他们在服务条款中承认它确实在平台上从事营利易,但令人不安的事实仍然是,这是在2018年的后期阶段才添加的。

诉讼让BitMEX蒙上阴影

该诉讼将对BitMEX自2014年以来一直在灰色区运营再次考验。BitMEX没有向美国公民提供服务的许可,而且正式来说,美国公民不能使用该平台。

诉状称,这不是BitMEX的实践运作方式,而是谁都可以使用平台,缺乏真正的控制,并引用了一些数据,表明美国交易者占该网站交易流量的15%——更不用说BitMEX几乎所有的业务都来自加州及其周边地区。

虽然对BitMEX来说无疑有利,但在美国监管机构之外运营(或声称要运营)却让美国交易者得不到保护。这个灰色地带已经引起了美国监管机构的担心:Bloomberg于2019年7月报道,商品期货交易委员会(CFTC)正在调查BitMEX,尤其是他们是否违反了CFTC规则,允许美国人在平台上进行交易。CFTC尚未宣布任何调查结果。

法院最终是否接受BMA的长篇指控还有待观察。

数字货币的批评者经常抨击,BitMEX目前受到的这种市场操纵特别脆弱,如果法院接受,这些指控暴露了加密交易的丑陋一面,迫切需要监管。然而,无论BMA是否得到他们想要的结果,美国法院都将有机会对BitMEX等企业的总体状况进行评论,并可能削减他们经营中的灰色地带。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

BitMEX lawsuits cast shadow on digital currency trading platform

Digital currency exchange and trading platform BitMEX has been on the receiving end of two lawsuits within the last six or so months, and they cast a long shadow over one of the largest operators in the sector.

The first came in December 2019, when BitMEX was sued by early investors Frank Amato and RGB Coin over equity that was allegedly promised to them by BitMEX in the early stages of investment. The equity was never granted.

A new, separate suit was filed this month, accusing BitMEX of deliberate digital currency manipulation, among allegations of racketeering, wire fraud, money laundering and more in relation to the construction and operation of their BitMEX trading platform.

BMA LLC VS HDR Global Trading (BitMEX) et al

The suit was brought by BMA LLC, apparently a one-man band based out of Puerto Rico and which has filed similar suits against other companies over the past six months, including against blockchain company Ripple.

According to the complaint, BitMEX not only facilitated manipulation of digital currency markets, but was built in a way to specifically benefit from such manipulation. A core offering of BitMEX has been their highly leveraged trades (up to 100x). In other words, users can effectively trade in a hundred times as many bitcoins as they actually need to put up as collateral, allowing traders the chance to profit at a high level from minor fluctuations in digital currency prices in exchange for the much higher chance that they would lose everything based on even smaller price fluctuations.

It accuses BitMEX of deliberately basing the index price of its futures offerings on smaller, illiquid exchanges that it could easily manipulate, giving it increased ability to gear leveraged trades in their favour.

The suit also alleges that BitMEX surreptitiously trades against its clients, citing their only-recently updated terms of service which now disclose that BitMEX engages in a for-profit trading business, and uses the products on BitMEX to do so—unbeknownst to other traders on the platform.

The suit characterizes the behaviour as unlawful, often criminal, and giving rise to 13 causes of action:

• Racketeering by way of money laundering, unlicensed money transmitting, wire fraud and interstate transportation of stolen property, with the intention of defrauding BMA and other cryptocurrency traders
• Conspiracy to commit racketeering with the profits of the defendants illegal enterprise
• Use of a manipulative or deceptive device in the sale of any commodity in interstate commerce
• Price manipulation of Bitcoin futures and cash Bitcoin
• Responsibility for the manipulative acts of their employees
• Aiding and abetting the manipulation of Bitcoin futures and cash Bitcoin
• Negligence in its duty to prevent purely economic loss to traders, by failing to maintain a functional cryptocurrency derivatives marketplace
• Fraud arising from the market manipulation
• Civil conspiracy to defraud traders on their platform
• Unfair business practices in contravention of California’s competition law (Business and Professions Code)
• Unjust enrichment at the expense of BMA
• Constructive trust, alleging that the defendants have no legal claim to the money collected, instead that it is being held in trust for BMA
• Count 13 demands a full accounting of the defendants’ receipts and disbursements in connection with the market manipulation alleged in the suit

On all of these counts, BMA is asking the Court for compensatory damages, treble damages, attorneys fees and exemplary and punitive damages (punitive damages to the tune of $50,000,000).

It will now be down to BitMEX to respond to the allegations. From their perspective, they are operating a legal trading platform, legally unregistered in the United States because it officially does not offer its derivative products to American customers. It will dismiss the accusations of insider trading by pointing to their admission in their terms of service that it does engage in for-profit trading on the platform, but the uncomfortable fact remains that this was only added at a late stage, in 2018.

Lawsuit exposes BitMEX grey area

The suit will further test the apparent grey area that BitMEX has been operating in since its founding in 2014. BitMEX does not hold a licence to provide its services to U.S.-based citizens, and officially, U.S. citizens cannot use the platform.

The suit alleges that this isn’t the way BitMEX operates in practice, pointing to the lack of any real controls on who can use the platform and citing figures which suggest that American traders account for 15% of the site’s trading traffic—not to mention the fact that virtually all of BitMEX’s operations are based in and around California.

While undoubtedly good for BitMEX, operating (or purporting to operate) outside the reach of U.S. regulators leaves U.S. traders without protection. This grey area has already drawn the ire of U.S. regulators: it was reported by Bloomberg in July of 2019 that the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) was investigating BitMEX, particularly whether they were in breach of CFTC rules by allowing Americans to trade on the platform. The CFTC has yet to announce any resolution to the investigation.

Whether the Court ultimately accepts BMA’s long list of allegations remains to be seen.

Digital currency’s detractors often cite particular vulnerability to market manipulation of the sort BitMEX is currently being accused, and if accepted by the Court, the allegations expose an ugly side of crypto trading that is in desperate need of regulation. Whether or not BMA gets the result they want, however, it will be an opportunity for the U.S. courts to comment on the general status of businesses like BitMEX, and perhaps cut back on the grey area in which they are operating.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.