比特币技术标准委员会寻求公众审查

比特币技术标准委员会寻求公众审查

比特币可以被治理吗?

区块链技术的某些方面属于NIST、IEEE和网络、计算机科学和信息安全行业中许多标准的管辖范围。然而,从来没有一个技术标准委员会特别关注比特币或像过时的Ethereum网络这样的竞争性区块链协议。相比之下,数字货币行业通常会赞扬自己缺乏专业精神,同时为自己“去中心化”自治的成功而欢呼:这是一种文化基因,只有在缺乏对Digital Currency Group研究的情况下才经得起推敲(译者注:若对此有研究的话,这种说法是经不起推敲的)。

当然,大多数区块链组织的自我表扬,也受到了同样一群希望公众忽视他们与这个行业的接近程度以及在这个行业中的参与程度,这个行业充斥着赤裸裸的骗局,周期性的炒作泡沫,有时还会出现全球协同的欺诈。在这种黑暗的背景下,比特币协会建立了一个比特币SV技术标准委员会,作为BSV与广义区块链经济之间日益明显的区别的基础。在过去的一周里,他们已经达到了正式要求公众对一项拟议技术标准进行审查的里程碑!

标准是什么?

这是一个众所周知的话题:Simplified Payment Verification(SPV)和Merkle inclusion proofs,在委员会寻求建立一种标准化的数据格式时,将会成为首个被建议用于反馈和审查的标准。标准的制定将允许SPV在商业实体的钱包之间以一种交叉兼容的方式实现,就像USB设备在Mac、Windows和Linux pc之间的兼容一样。

如果实施,钱包可以采用这个标准,并宣传自己与简化支付验证的行业标准兼容,增强消费者对这项技术的信心。随着时间的推移,这类事情会让比特币SV在两方面与众不同:

1:创建专业的文件和标准,以吸引来自比特币经济以外的发展,利用SPV(以及其他即将推出的比特币SV标准),同时也允许比特币经济更从容地与全球科技行业交叉传递。

2:与比特币白皮书(即第8节简化支付验证)建立更有意义的联系,作为比特币协议的另一个参考点,该协议仅在比特币SV网络上完全可用。值得注意的是,在大多数其他基于比特币网络的竞争中,SPV是不可用的、不可行的、或被完全否决的。

挑战

技术标准也有自己的缺陷(在标准格式与专有格式之间的拉锯战中经常受到批评),它们往往会引领整个行业范围内的可预见性,再加上成功的商业采用,有助于行业专业化并融入现有技术。但是不会缺少诋毁者对他们评头论足!

与任何新的想法一样,不想遵守(诚然可选)标准的商业开发人员可能会提出一些反对意见。或者,正如我们在其他技术领域看到的那样,多个管理机构可能会提出不兼容的、相互竞争的标准,这将创造与VHS和Betamax并无区别的第二层格式战争。

但这些标准可能有助于消除困扰新Bitcoiners的一些困惑,它们将为比特币SV真正成为企业数据管理和点对点商业的专业级区块链指明道路。

如果您想参与,向比特币SV技术标准委员会提供反馈,请点击注册并参与制定标准的过程,这将有助于将比特币SV推向全世界!

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin Technical Standards Committee seeking public review

Can Bitcoin be governed?

Certain aspects of blockchain technology fall under the purview of NIST, IEEE and any number of standards in the networking, computer science and information security industries. However, there has never been a technical standards committee established with specific focus on Bitcoin or competing blockchain protocols like the obsolete Ethereum network. In contrast, the digital currency industry typically praises itself for a lack of professionalism while cheering for the successes of its own “decentralized” self-governance: a meme which only stands up to scrutiny in the absence of research into Digital Currency Group. 

Of course, the self-praise from most blockchain groups is lauded by the same people hoping that the general public ignores their proximity and participation in an industry plagued by blatant scams, cyclical hype bubbles and sometimes globally coordinated fraud. Against this murky backdrop, the Bitcoin Association has established a Bitcoin SV Technical Standards Committee as a cornerstone of BSV’s increased distinction from the blockchain economy at large. This past week, they have reached the milestone of formally requesting public review of a proposed technical standard!

What’s the standard? 

A subject well known to big blockers: Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) and Merkle inclusion proofs will be the first standard proposed for feedback and review as the committee seeks to establish a standardized data format. Codifying the standard would allow SPV to be implemented by commercial entities in a way which is cross-compatible between wallets, much the same way as USB devices are compatible between Mac, Windows and Linux PCs.

If enacted, wallets could adopt the standard, and advertise that they are compatible with the industry standard for simplified payment verification, and give consumers greater confidence in the technology. Over time, this sort of thing could set Bitcoin SV apart in two ways: 

1: Creating professional documentation and standards which will attract development from outside of the bitcoin economy to utilize SPV (and other, upcoming Bitcoin SV standards,) while also allowing the Bitcoin economy to cross pollinate more deliberately with the global technology sector. 

2: Establish more intentional connections to the bitcoin white paper (namely Section 8 “Simplified Payment Verification”) as another point of reference for the Bitcoin protocol only being fully available on the Bitcoin SV network. SPV is notably unavailable, infeasible to implement or completely deprecated across most other competing, Bitcoin-based networks. 

Challenges

While technical standards have their own pitfalls (often criticized amid the tug-of-war between standardized vs proprietary formats), they tend to lead to an industry-wide predictability which, coupled with successful commercial adoption, helps industries professionalize and integrate into existing technologies. But they won’t be without their own detractors! 

As with any new idea, there could be some pushback from commercial developers who do not want to conform to (admittedly optional) standards. Or as we have seen in other technology sectors, multiple governing bodies could emerge to propose incompatible, competing standards which would create layer 2 format wars not unlike VHS vs Betamax.

But standards could help clean up some of the confusion that plagues new Bitcoiners, and they will clarify a path forward for Bitcoin SV to truly become the professional grade blockchain for enterprise data management and peer-to-peer commerce.  

If you would like to participate in giving feedback to the Bitcoin SV Technical Standards Committee, please click to register and get involved in the process of establishing standards which will help bring Bitcoin SV to the world! 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.