比特币系统如同一台计算机:“比特币理论:比特币课程”着眼于矩阵运算、逻辑与微处理器

Ryan X. Charles在本周这集“比特币理论——比特币课程”中表示:“比特币系统可以做到微处理器所能做到的任何事。”如果您理解了这些概念,(那么您就会知道)这句话揭示了很多的可能性——而本系列节目将继续由常规的三人组:比特币系统的创建者Craig S. Wright博士、Coasian的创始人兼首席执行官Ryan X. Charles以及sCrypt的创始人刘晓晖组成。

比特币课程》系列讲述的是关于人们可以从大的方面思考——想得更远大些——它是关于比特币系统可以做到些什么,以及比特币系统实际上是哪种系统的课程。Wright博士关于“比特币即一切”的说法,在这些年被人们反复提及,但这句话的确切含义是很难理解的,即使对于富有经验的老手来说也是这样的。

需要说明的是,本系列的内容是高度专业化的,Wright博士甚至给他的主持搭档们布置了家庭作业。本周,Wright博士要求他们研究矩阵编码,使用表格和图形来存储信息,并理解诸如逻辑运算符(AND,OR,XOR等)和条件语句等东西该如何应用。

请您回想一下过去的微处理器

Wright博士提出了几个类比来帮助理解,与此同时,刘晓晖和Ryan提出了其他可能更易于人们理解的类比。请您回想一下19世纪60年代、70年代以及80年代时的更简单的机器(例如电梯),那个年代制造商们都自己制造处理器。他承诺在下一集中将再进行一次白板会议,以帮助人们更直观地理解这些内容,但他提醒他们,矩阵的多维本质只是人类理解其结构的方式,而对于机器来说,矩阵则是线性的。

当我们将条件与逻辑运算结合在一起时,Wright博士表示:“我们拥有非常强大的机器,可以在它们处于非常少量的状态下,对其进行构建。”

他们讨论了,如何利用处理器的脉冲周期,将信号传输至微处理器,以接收输出,并且Wright博士指出:支付渠道(及其UTXO序列)是脉冲周期的一种工作形式。

“我可以从概念的层面上理解你们正在谈论的内容。”Ryan说了几遍,刘晓晖回忆起自己研究生时期在MATLAB(MATLAB上“所有东西都是矩阵”)上进行编程的经验。虽然很显然,即使是这两位经验如此丰富的人,也仍需做一些准备工作。

Wright博士表示:“我们正慢慢实现这个目标。每周我们都在建造新东西。随着时间的推移,当您开始一点一点地理解乐高积木时,您的积木将搭得越来越多。这就是我的看法。”

前几集中,有对“旅行推销员”问题的简短回顾——“旅行推销员”问题仅作为一个例子,以说明开发人员如何请求其他用户计算出问题的答案,以及该系统会自动地给找到正确答案的人支付报酬。

目前的问题以及未来的可能性

刘晓晖提出了一些有趣的问题值得人们思考,诸如怎样才能确定(在代码中)您得到的答案是否是您想要的,尤其是当您此前并不知道答案的时候(因为它还没有被计算出来,例如物理模拟)。他还询问了如何才能使不同业务的交易费用变得更具有成本效益,他们讨论了这些话题:为什么未来可能会出现不同种类的钱包来完成这项任务,一款消费级的钱包以供日常支付,另一款则是可以用于处理大型应用程序的更加复杂的需求。

他们还考虑,是否有一天会出现一款专门用于比特币系统的芯片,以便系统更高效地执行这些功能,并且Wright博士认为这种芯片将很有可能会出现——在特定使用Forth编程语言的(比特币系统脚本所基于的编程语言)芯片上,人们已经完成了很多工作, 而与之相关的大部分工作内容已经有15年的时间了,不属于专利的范畴了。这是一种提示,提示。

所以,比特币系统能够完完全全地做到计算机所能做到的任何事吗?是的,但是(实现这些的)途径需要被人们创造出来。这些过程最终可能会给创造出实现途径的人带来丰厚的收益。

刘晓晖表示:“每当有人跟我们说不可能做到什么事情的时候,我就向他们展示代码,并将在主网上实现它。”Wright博士回复道:“然后他们又会去改口改变这件事的规则和目标。”

但是,开发比特币系统就是要做些人们以前认为不可能的事,并对此进行尝试与探索。这就更有理由不去听那些唱反调的人的话了,他们只是把事情看成是不可能实现的,并没有兴趣弄清楚它会不会成真。《比特币课程》系列介绍了很多新想法,希望它们能给一些才华横溢的人提供一些灵感。

如果您想观看《比特币理论》的前几集,在此订阅《比特币理论》YouTube频道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Bitcoin as a computer: ‘Theory of Bitcoin: Bitcoin Class’ looks at matrix operations, logic and microprocessors

“Bitcoin can do anything that a microprocessor can do,” says Ryan X. Charles in this week’s episode of “Theory of Bitcoin – Bitcoin Class.” That opens up a lot of possibilities, if you understand the concepts—and this series continues with the now-regular trio of Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright, founder and CEO of Coasian Ryan X. Charles, and sCrypt founder Xiaohui Liu.

The Bitcoin Class series is about thinking bigger—much bigger—about what Bitcoin can do, and what sort of system it really is. Dr. Wright’s statements that “Bitcoin is everything” have been repeated often over the years, but the exact meaning of that can be difficult to grasp, even for experienced veterans.

To be clear, this series is highly technical and Dr. Wright sets homework assignments even for his co-hosts. This week, he asks them to look at coding in a matrix function, using tables and graphs to store information and understanding how things like logical operators (AND, OR, XOR etc.) and conditional statements can be applied.

Think back to microprocessors of the past

Dr. Wright draws several analogies to help, with Xiaohui and Ryan suggesting others that might be easier to grasp. Think back to the 1960s, 70s and 80s to simpler machines (e.g. elevators) in a time when manufacturers made their own processors, he says. He promises another whiteboard session in the next episode to help understand more visually, but reminds them that the multi-dimensional nature of matrices is just the human way of understanding the structure, whereas to a machine it’s all linear.

When we combine conditionals with logical operations, “we have very powerful machines that can be constructed in a very small amount of state,” he says.

They discuss how signals are sent to microprocessors using the processor’s clock cycle to receive an output, and Dr. Wright notes that a payment channel (and its sequence of UTXOs) works as a form of clock cycle.

“I can understand conceptually what you’re talking about,” says Ryan a few times, and Xiaohui brings back his post-graduate experience coding in MATLAB (where “everything is in matrices”), though it’s clear that even these two, with all their experiences, have some work to do.

“We’re slowly getting there. Every week we’re building new things. Over time, as you start understanding bit by bit the Lego blocks, you’ll build more and more. That’s the way I look at it,” says Dr. Wright.

There are brief throwbacks to the “Traveling Salesman” problem from previous episodes—as just one example of how a developer could request an answer that other users would need to compute, and automate a reward payment for the completed task.

Questions and future possibilities

Xiaohui has a few interesting questions to consider, such as how to determine (in the code) if the answer you received is the one you wanted, especially if you don’t already know that answer (since it hasn’t been computed yet, e.g. a physics simulation). He also asks about the ways transaction fees for different operations could become more cost-efficient, and there’s a discussion of how there might be different kinds of wallets in the future to perform this task, a consumer-grade one for everyday payments, and another to handle the more complex demands of larger-scale applications.

They also ponder whether there could someday be a dedicated Bitcoin chip to perform these functions more efficiently, and Dr. Wright suggests it well could—there has been lots of work done on Forth-specific (the programming language Bitcoin Script is based on) chips, and much of it is 15 years out of patent. Hint, hint.

So can Bitcoin do absolutely anything a computer can do? Yes, but the ways need to be invented. These processes could eventually become quite lucrative for their inventors.

“Whenever someone tells us something is impossible, I show them the code and put it on the mainnet,” Xiaohui says. “And then they change the rules, move the goalposts,” Dr. Wright replies.

But developing on Bitcoin is all about doing things previously-thought impossible, and experimenting and exploring. It’s all the more reason to not listen to the naysayers, who are really just people who see something as impossible and aren’t interested in actually finding out if it is. The Bitcoin Class series introduces a lot of new ideas, hopefully they’ll provide some talented people out there with some inspiration.

To watch previous episodes of the Theory of Bitcoin, subscribe to the Theory of Bitcoin YouTube channel here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]