比特币与分布式观念抑制复合体

Thiel Captial的董事总经理埃里克·为恩斯特(Eric Weinstein)创造了“DISC”一词,即“分布式观念抑制复合体”。他的理论探索的观点为,社会之间存在一种网络,作为反对主流叙事的观念抑制机制。

思考DISC并不需要相信自上而下的全球阴谋或类似阴谋,它只是需要探索在挑战现状时,有些会被人忽略,或甚至是被压制的创新想法。用埃里克自己的话来说,“滑动DISC”就是围绕这个压制复合体工作,并将这个观念带入主流。

当一种存在的权力结构可能受到新思想威胁时,以及网络上的所有个体致力于压制这些想法,DISC即存在。DISC不需要个人网络的相互串通即可存在——这种对其集体权力结构的存在性威胁的存在,确保激励每个人尽自己的一份力量,为此观念的分布式压制做出贡献。

比特币在2009年的诞生促成了新业务和应用程序的创建。许多人开始看到一个大型数字现金系统足以为各种行业带来新机。

由于长期和荒谬的扩容辩论,在比特币之上创建业务和应用程序是短暂的,相反,在这个领域的企业家和开发人员开始致力于竞争加密货币,而业务出售与比特币无关的“区块链”解决方案。这个数千种数字货币代币和基本上不受监管的交易所组成的新生态系统,将大量财富交到不太可能拥有的人手中。

随着比特币的挖矿奖励减半,比特币扩容辩论的历史将再次成为焦点。正如中本聪多次概述的那样,一直以来的计划是大规模提升比特币交易(和费用)来补贴矿工,取代不断减少的区块奖励。

虽然BTC的支持者已经转向认为比特币是数字黄金(而不是现金),但他们还未想出一个经济动机,在区块奖励消失后,让矿工继续挖矿的理由。正如小库尔特·伍克特(Kurt Wuckert Jr.)在上述链接文章中优雅地勾勒出来,我们不得不好奇,所有对数字黄金叙事这种不可持续的警告的合理人士发生了什么事情?

我提出了一个简单的理论:数字货币生态系统中的大量财富(约2,400亿美元市值)创造了一个由个人组成的分布式网络,这些个人的资金投资对比特币的成功投下了反对票。这些人一度支持比特币的成功,他们的经济利益取决于抑制任何暗示其业务、解决方案和区块链如果不使用比特币SV(BSV)区块链都不可能成功的想法。让我们举几个例子:

  • 埃里克·沃海斯(Erik Voorhees)曾经是比特币的早期支持者。他主张比特币的成功,并提倡在链上扩容比特币。2014 年,他创立了 Shapeshift,这是一家允许用户在加密货币之间进行交易的公司。他的公司盈利模式主要来自当时存有的多种加密货币并让用户交易这些加密货币。他反对将比特币最大化,并直言克雷格·怀特(Craig Wright)不是中本聪。

  • 维塔利克布特林(Vitalik Buterin)是比特币的早期倡导者,他通过为比特币杂志写作维生。当他最初萌生了构建去中心化虚拟器的想法时,他一开始是想在比特币之上构建它。由于BTC核心开发人员的限制,因此他决定在单独的区块链上进行构建,也就是后来的以太坊。比特币能够做到以太坊能做的一切(甚至更好),并且不会遭受以太坊面临的扩容问题,这一想法对布特林的前景是非常危险的。不仅是他持有的价值数百万美元的代币存有销售风险,而且他的声誉也危在旦夕。布特林毫不掩饰地公开表示,克雷格·怀特不是中本聪,仿佛他比盖文·安德森(Gavin Andresen)更清楚一切。

  • 赵长鹏(CZ)是币安的首席执行官,币安作为一家加密货币交易所,获益于用户与其他数字货币交换比特币。他们的整个商业模式基于替代数字货币的存在,并且显然受到一个全球区块链的存在的威胁。CZ在社交媒体上大声疾呼,克雷格怀特不是中本聪
  • 格雷戈里麦克斯韦尔(Gregory Maxwell)是一名从事黑客活动的BTC核心开发商,一直以来都强烈批评链上扩容比特币。不存在扩容问题的原始比特币上存有全球不可变的证据线索,对麦克斯韦尔的声誉和参与非法活动的能力构成重大威胁。格雷戈里·麦克斯韦尔不仅大声疾呼克雷格·怀特不是中本聪,而且经常在网上与马甲号交谈,试图说服其他人相信他的说法。

尽管我尝试不列出数字货币领域的500名其他著名人物,但这份名单远远不止于此。作为一个一直跟随比特币的追随者,从BTC代码、然后是BCH,到最后的BSV,我对理所当然的两件事情遭到打压感到愤怒:

虽然不难想象,比特币领域长期存在着全球自上而下的阴谋以压制BSV,但事实实际上更为复杂。在BTC和BCH代码下的比特币,已经背离了比特币的最初愿景,比特币(BSV)不只必须对抗挑战任何突破性技术的DISC,它被迫对抗数字货币生态系统中出现的另一个DISC。我称后者为“比特币DISC”。

比特币DISC:

  • 存在于并分散数字货币爱好者的注意力,阻止他们理解比特币能够在世界上实现的真正创新。
  • 多年来(自2011年初中本聪公开离开该项目以来)一直隐藏着有关比特币的真正本质和潜力的信息,并阻止它实现中本聪给予世界的愿景。
  • 将中本聪神化,并使克雷格怀特创造比特币的事实塑造成一个不值得认真考虑、荒谬的想法。

在数字货币领域进行个别研究的个人已经滑动了比特币DISC。Unbounded Capital等公司已经记录了他们自己的研究,使他们能够发现这些真相。其他公司已经从其他区块链上构建转向,因为他们意识到比特币的最初愿景能够实现他们在区块链上构建所需的一切。

唯一能维系比特币DISC现象的是BTC价格(以及随之形成的“加密货币市场”)将继续上涨的谬论,为其持有者带来财富,并证明DISC成员的权利。不幸的是,对于这些个人来说,这一证明即将来到尾声。BTC奖励减半已经过去,但我们还没有看到预言中,宣称能够让现在只获得一半的区块奖励补贴的矿工维持盈利的BTC飙升。

持有者开始质疑,为什么他们的投资没有因奖励减半事件而获得增长。他们开始质疑他们向朋友和邻居力推的制度的经济性。有些人会要求对该经济做出改变,但他们将是少数派。大多数人会看向隔岸,看到中本聪在很久以前就进行的计划。BSV区块链将继续发展,并允许矿工以交易费用取代区块奖励补贴。然后,这个小生态系统的大部分人将滑动比特币DISC,而我们将面临下一个挑战。我们必须构建产品,说服全球行业和消费者相信,比特币区块链能够为他们提供比现有服务更好的解决方案。

比特币奖励减半使所有人得益。BTC的支持者和更广泛的数字货币界中的人们将了解到比特币从来不是一种你持有,并祈祷会升值的投机资产,与此同时,比特币(BSV)的支持者持奋不顾身,需要构建应用程序和产品,以提高比特币区块链中的资金流通速度。不管他是否知道,我怀疑他知道,比特币内置的激励允许真相以某种方式呈现。随着2020比特币奖励减半的发生,矿工、开发人员和企业家将了解这一真相。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Bitcoin and the Distributed Idea Suppression Complex

Eric Weinstein, the managing director of Thiel Capital, has coined the term “DISC” – the Distributed Idea Suppression Complex. His theory explores the idea that there is a network that exists amongst society that acts as a suppression mechanism for ideas that counter a prevailing narrative.

Thinking about the DISC doesn’t require one to believe in a top-down global conspiracy or anything like that—it just requires one to explore the possibility that innovative ideas can sometimes be ignored, or even suppressed, when they challenge the status quo. To “slip the DISC,” in Eric’s own words, is to work around this suppression complex and bring the idea into the mainstream.

A DISC exists when there exists a power structure that can be threatened by new ideas, and a network of individuals all work to suppress these ideas. This network of individuals doesn’t need to collude for the DISC to exist—the existence of this existential threat to their collective power structure ensures that each individual is incentivized to do their part and contribute to the distributed suppression of these ideas.

The creation of Bitcoin in 2009 led to the creation of new businesses and applications. Many began to see the promise that a large-scale digital cash system could bring to industries old and new.

As a result of a long and nonsensical scaling debate, the creation of businesses and applications on top of Bitcoin was short-lived, and instead entrepreneurs and developers in the space began working on competing cryptocurrencies and businesses selling “blockchain” solutions that had nothing to do with Bitcoin. This new ecosystem of thousands of digital currency tokens and largely unregulated exchanges brought large amounts of wealth into the hands of unlikely people.

As Bitcoin’s mining reward halves, the history of Bitcoin’s scaling debate is going to become relevant again. As Satoshi outlined many times, the plan was always for a large-scale increase in Bitcoin transactions (and fees) to subsidize miners in lieu of the decreasing blocksize reward.

While BTC proponents have pivoted to argue that Bitcoin is digital gold (and not cash), they haven’t yet come up for an economic motive for miners to continue mining the chain after the block reward is gone. As Kurt Wuckert Jr. elegantly outlines in the linked piece above—we have to wonder what happened to all of the reasonable people who warned about this unsustainability of the digital gold narrative?

I propose a simple theory: the vast amount of wealth in the digital currency ecosystem (aproximate $240B market cap) has created a distributed network of individuals who are financially invested against Bitcoin’s success. This group of individuals, who at one point supported Bitcoin’s success, have a financial stake in suppressing any ideas that suggest their businesses, solutions, and blockchains all cannot succeed without using the Bitcoin SV (BSV) blockchain. Let’s take a few examples:

  • Erik Voorhees was once an early proponent of Bitcoin. He advocated for Bitcoin’s success and for scaling Bitcoin onchain. In 2014 he founded Shapeshift, a company that allows users to trade between cryptocurrencies. His entire company creates revenue from the existence of multiple cryptocurrencies and having users trade between them. He argues against Bitcoin maximalism and is outspoken that Craig Wright is not Satoshi.

  • Vitalik Buterin was an early advocate for Bitcoin who made money writing for Bitcoin magazines. When he initially had the idea to build a decentralized virtual machine, he initially looked to build this on top of Bitcoin. Due to limitations put in place by the BTC Core developers, he decided instead to build what would become Ethereum on a separate blockchain. The idea of Bitcoin being able to do everything Ethereum can do (only better) and not suffer from the scaling issues that Ethereum does is a very threatening prospect for Buterin. Not only are the millions of dollars in ether he holds that were raised from token sales at risk, but his own reputation is on the line. Buterin infamously publicly stated that Craig Wright was not Satoshi as if he knew more than Gavin Andresen.

  • Changpeng Zhao (CZ) is the CEO of Binance, a cryptocurrency exchange that makes money on users exchanging Bitcoin with other digital currencies. Their entire business model is based on the existence of alternative digital currencies, and is clearly threatened by the existence of one global blockchain. CZ is very vocal on social media that Craig Wright is not Satosh
  • Gregory Maxwell is a BTC Core developer that engaged in hacking and has been a vocal critic of scaling Bitcoin onchain. The existence of a global immutable evidence trail on the original Bitcoin that suffers from no scaling problems is a big threat to Maxwell’s reputation and ability to engage in illegal activity. Gregory Maxwell is not only vocal that Craig Wright is not Satoshi, but regularly spends his time talking to himself with sockpuppet accounts online to try to convince others of this as well.

While I struggled to not list 500 other prominent individuals in the digital currency space, this list could go on and on. As someone who has been following Bitcoin under the ticker BTC, then BCH, and finally BSV, it is infuriating to see a suppression of two things that I see as obvious:

While it’s easy to imagine that there is a global top-down conspiracy being perpetuated on Bitcoiners to suppress BSV, the truth is actually more complex. Bitcoin, under the tickers BTC and BCH, have been so far removed from Bitcoin’s original vision that not only does Bitcoin (BSV) have to go up against the DISC that challenges any groundbreaking technology—it is forced to fight another DISC that has emerged in the digital currency ecosystem. I will call the latter the “Bitcoin DISC.”

The Bitcoin DISC:

  • Exists and distracts digital currency enthusiasts and prevents them from understanding the true innovations that Bitcoin enables in the world.
  • Has for years (since early 2011 when Satoshi publicly left the project) hidden information about Bitcoin’s true nature and potential and prevented it from achieving the vision that Satoshi Nakamoto gave the world.
  • Has turned Satoshi Nakamoto into a mythical character and makes the thought that Craig Wright created Bitcoin a preposterous idea not worthy of serious consideration.

Individuals that do their own research in the digital currency space have slipped this Bitcoin DISC. Companies like Unbounded Capital have documented their own research that allowed them to uncover these truths. Other companies have switched from building on other blockchains after they realized that the original vision of Bitcoin fulfilled everything they needed from building on a blockchain.

The only thing holding together the Bitcoin DISC is the fallacy that the BTC price (and the ensuing “cryptocurrency market”) will continue to go up, enriching its holders and proving the members of the DISC right. Unfortunately for these individuals, this validation is coming to an end. The BTC halving has come and gone, and we have not seen the prophesied pump of BTC to sustain miners that will now receive half of their block reward subsidy.

Holders are going to start to question why their investment isn’t growing in response to this halving event. They will begin to question the economics of the system that they are touting to their friends and neighbors. Some will argue for a change in these economics, but they will be the minority. The majority will look across the river and see that Satoshi planned for this a long time ago. The BSV blockchain will continue to grow and allow miners to replace the block reward subsidy with transaction fees. Then, the majority of this small ecosystem will slip the Bitcoin DISC and we will face the next challenge. We will have to build products to convince global industries and consumers that the Bitcoin blockchain provides them a better solution than their existing services.

The Bitcoin halving is a good thing for everyone. BTC proponents and those in the wider digital currency world will learn that Bitcoin was never a speculative asset that you hold and pray goes up in value, and meanwhile Bitcoin (BSV) proponents get their feet held to the fire and are required to build applications and products to increase the velocity of money in the Bitcoin blockchain. Whether he knew it or not, and I suspect he did, the incentives built into Bitcoin allows the truth to come out one way or another. With the 2020 Bitcoin halving over and done with, miners, developers, and entrepreneurs are about to learn that truth.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]