Aaron Russell:重要的是,BSV拥有比JavaScript更丰富的软件工具集和基础设施

Aaron Russell:重要的是,BSV拥有比JavaScript更丰富的软件工具集和基础设施

Aaron Russell(a.k.a.Libs)为比特币系统开发开发了许多有用的工具,其中包括Paypresto、TxForge以及新发布的Univrse。

Aaron最近还推出了一个不错的用于赞助的网站,在这个网站中那些想赞助他开源开发的人可以换取一些好看的NFT交易卡。我有机会联系到Aaron,问了一些关于最近他正在做的开发方面的问题。

您是如何想到通过赞助来创收的?

Aaron Russell:在更广泛的开源世界中,赞助是一种相对常见的资助模式。许多独立开发人员能够通过赞助来维持他们的工作,许多知名度高的框架和工具完全由赞助的方式来让使用这些工具的企业出资。

自去年年底以来,我一直在考虑赞助的想法,并给赞助商一些NFT数字收藏品。但只是在最近几周,我们看到一些平台突然出现,这些平台使得铸造、转移以及交易代币变得更容易。现在是时候推进这个想法了。

对于这种有代币的赞助模式将如何改变开源开发者未来的赚钱方式,您怎么看?

Aaron Russell:我对把赞助包装成一种不像捐赠的方式感兴趣。我认为给予一些回报——在这种情况下,给予的是一件限量版的数字艺术品——这会让赞助对个人赞助商来说更具吸引力。

开发者可以(在此基础上)更进一步。代币可以兑换成咨询或开发服务。代币可以被绑定到特定的工作上,并用于为特定的开源项目提供众筹资金。

您将使用哪种代币协议来铸造您的NFT卡,为什么(选择这种代币协议)?

Aaron Russell:我对于底层协议(这一方面)是不可知论者。最终,我只是想要一个快速且简洁的用户体验。如果可以避免的话,我不想弄明白自己的智能合约或编写代码——我只想有一个带有简洁外形的漂亮用户界面,一个公平对待艺术品的平台,以及通过密码学来证明我们铸造了这些代币。

这些卡看起来很了不起——NFT会附带实体卡吗?

Aaron Russell:我在这个想法上反复考虑过,但是让我做个承诺,给您一个CoinGeek的独家新闻…

如果到2021年7月1日,我们已经筹集了7500英镑的赞助,我们将打印高质量的实体卡,并将其邮寄给全球的代币持有者。

我会更新赞助网站,以确认这一承诺的细节,并显示筹集进展。

您是否亲自为您的各种代码库创建了徽标(例如Tx Forge、Shapeshifter)?

Aaron Russell:是的。我总是留出几个小时来想名字,并为我发布的每个开源项目创作一些艺术品。对我来说,这只是一件有趣的事情,但它也把一个无聊的GitHub repo变成了一个有点个性的东西,以及适合一个包罗万象的品牌的东西。

您为什么选择在Elixir实现各种代码库(例如Txbox,Manic,curvy,Shapeshifter等等)?

Aaron Russell:我认为重要的是,BSV有一个比JavaScript更丰富的软件工具集和基础设施。由于JavaScript自身的受欢迎程度和可访问性,它非常重要。但是在许多情况下,还是看得比JavaScript更远一点比较明智。

TonicPow的团队已经做了很好的工作,他们开发出了一个Golang工具集,我也一直在尝试用Elixir做同样的事情。这可以将BSV置于一个更加健康的位置,而且还能使它吸引更广泛的开发者。

您创建Univrse的主要动机是什么?

Aaron Russell:我对探索比特币系统如何用于创建可互操作的应用程序和服务很感兴趣。我认为,到目前为止,我们在这方面还没有取得很大的进展,但如果应用程序能够与它们的序列化和数据安全保持一致,我们就可以走得更远,而且这也可以使我们为用户创造更好的体验变得更容易。

总之那些都是我的目标。推出Universe是第一步,但在接下来的几周和几个月里,我将用我自己的应用程序来演示如何使用Universe来创造我想象的那种体验。

您希望Univrse为开发者解决哪些痛点?

Aaron Russell:Universe使得序列化所有任意数据有效负载变得容易许多,并通过数字签名和加密来保护数据。这些并不是我们不能做的事情,但是通过用合理的惯例将这些打包到一个库中,开发人员不需要一遍又一遍地执行相同的Bitcom协议,他们不需要执行加密算法并祈祷他们对其他人都是这样做的。

它确实有效,这节省了人工时间,所以您可以花更多的时间来构建您的应用程序中真正重要的部分。如上所述,这可以指引我们创建真正可互操作的应用程序和体验。

在发布Univrse后,您在Twitter上对与另一个组织合作开发标准vs.自行创新的想法做出了有趣的回应——您能详细说明为什么您会做出这样有趣的回应吗?

Aaron Russell:LOL(大笑)。这条推文实际上是对一个人的回应,他似乎在暗示,因为TSC正在制定一个Envelope“标准”,所以创建Univrse是浪费时间。我显然不同意。

郑重声明,我认为标准是一件值得(为之)努力的积极的事情,我接受核心机构(这样的角色)来指导这个过程,但这不是我感兴趣的事情。最终,开发应用程序和服务的开发者和企业将决定我们会采用的惯例和标准。

Aaron,谢谢您花时间回答我的问题。我期待着开发人员利用Aaron开发的工具,以及他独特的赞助方式将如何发挥作用。希望读者喜欢这次的书面采访。

为了内容清晰起见,这篇文章(部分内容)稍作编辑。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Aaron Russell: It’s important that BSV has toolset and infrastructure richer than just JavaScript

Aaron Russell: It’s important that BSV has toolset and infrastructure richer than just JavaScript

Aaron Russell (a.k.a. Libs) has developed many useful tools for Bitcoin development including Paypresto, TxForge and the newly released Univrse.

Aaron also recently launched a slick sponsorship website where those who want to sponsor his open-source development can do so in exchange for some awesome looking NFT trading cards. I had the opportunity to catch up with Aaron and ask some questions regarding these recent developments.

How did you come up with the idea to generate revenue via sponsorships?

Aaron Russell: Sponsorship is a relatively common funding model in the broader open-source world. Many independent developers are able to sustain their work though sponsorship, and many high-profile frameworks and tools are entirely funded by the businesses that depend on them through sponsorship.

​I’ve been toying with the idea of sponsorships and giving sponsors some kind of digital collectible NFT since the end of last year, but it’s only in the last few weeks we’ve seen a few platforms pop up that are making it easy to mint, transfer and trade tokens. The time felt right to press ahead with the idea.

How do you think this sponsorship model with tokens can change how open-source developers can monetize going forward?

Aaron Russell: I was interested in packaging the sponsorship in a way that didn’t feel like a donation. I think giving something in return—in this case a limited-edition piece of digital artwork—makes the sponsorship a more compelling proposition to individual sponsors.

Developers could take this further. The tokens could be made exchangeable for consultation or development services. Tokens could be tied to specific pieces of work and used to crowd-fund specific open-source projects.

Which token protocol will you use to mint your NFT cards and why?

Aaron Russell: I’m agnostic about the underlying protocol. Ultimately, I just want a quick and easy user experience. I don’t want to figure out my own smart contract or write code if I can avoid it—I just want a nice UI with a simple form, a platform that does justice to the artwork, and the ability to cryptographically prove that we minted the tokens.

The cards look amazing—will there be physical cards to go along with the NFTs?

Aaron Russell: I’ve gone back and forth on this idea, but let me make a pledge and give you a CoinGeek exclusive…

If by July 1st 2021 we have raised GBP £7,500 in sponsorship, we WILL print high quality physical cards and post them to token holders globally.

​I’ll update the sponsorship site to confirm the details of this pledge and show progress.

Did you personally create the logos for your various libraries (ex. Tx Forge, Shapeshifter)?

Aaron Russell: Yes. I always put a few hours aside to think of a name and create some artwork for each open-source project I release. For me it’s just a fun thing to do, but it also turns a boring GitHub repo into something with a bit of character, and something that fits in to an over-arching brand.

Why have you chosen to implement various libraries in Elixir (Txbox, Manic, curvy, Shapeshifter, etc.)?

Aaron Russell: I think it’s important that BSV has a toolset and infrastructure that is richer than just JavaScript. JavaScript is important due to its popularity and accessibility, but there are many scenarios where it may be advisable to look a little further afield than JavaScript.

The TonicPow team have done great work building out a Golang toolset and I’ve been trying to do the same with Elixir. This puts BSV in a far healthier position and makes it attractive to a broader range of developers.

What was the primary motivation for creating Univrse?

Aaron Russell: I’m interested in exploring how Bitcoin can be used to create interoperable apps and services. I think we’ve failed to deliver much on this so far, but if apps can be consistent with how they serialise and secure data, we can go a lot further and make it easy to create some great experiences for users.

That’s my goal anyway. Launching Univrse is the first step, but in the coming weeks and months I’m going to demonstrate with my own apps exactly how Univrse can be used to create the kind of experiences I imagine.

Which pain points do you hope Univrse solves for developers?

Aaron Russell: Univrse makes it simple to serialize any arbitrary data payload, and secure that data with digital signatures and encryption. These aren’t things we can’t do already, but by packaging this up in a single library with sensible conventions, developers don’t need to implement the same Bitcom protocols over and over, they don’t need to implement cryptographic algorithms and keep their fingers crossed they are doing it consistently to everyone else.

It just works, saving man hours so more time can be spent building the parts of your app that actually matter. And as said above, this leads us to a place where we can create truly interoperable apps and experiences. 

Upon releasing Univrse, you had an interesting response on Twitter to the idea of working with another organization on developing standards vs. innovating on your own—can you elaborate why you feel this way?

Aaron Russell: LOL. That tweet was actually in response to someone who seemed to be insinuating that because the TSC are working on an Envelope “standard” that creating Univrse was a waste of time. I obviously don’t agree with that.

For the record I think standards are a positive thing to work towards and I accept the role of a central body to shepherd that process, but that’s not something I’m interested in being involved in. Ultimately the developers and businesses on the ground building apps and services will determine the conventions and standards we adopt.

Thank you, Aaron, for taking the time to answer my questions. I look forward to how developers can leverage the tools Aaron has produced, and how his unique sponsorship approach plays out. I hope the readers enjoy this written interview.

This article was lightly edited for clarity purposes.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]