美国指控五名中国黑客进行加密货币劫持和电信欺诈

美国司法部(DoJ)公布了对五名中国公民的指控,称他们参与了一个针对全球至少一百家公司的网络犯罪团伙。这五人被指参与了加密货币劫持、窃取源代码以及获取客户账户数据等活动。

在9月16日公布的起诉书中,美国司法部指控五名被告入侵了美国及其它地区几家公司的电脑。这些被入侵者包括软件开发公司、电信供应商、电脑硬件制造商、社交媒体平台、大学以及视频游戏公司等。

据称,这些黑客从受害者那里窃取了包括源代码、客户账户数据和软件代码签名证书在内的各种关键数据。

美国司法部称,“这些入侵活动也为被告的其它犯罪计划提供了便利,包括勒索软件攻击和‘加密货币劫持’计划,后者是指该团伙在未经授权的情况下利用受害者的电脑来‘挖掘’加密货币。”

美国司法部还透露,已经逮捕了两名与中国黑客合谋的马来西亚商人。华盛顿特区的一个联邦大陪审团提交了起诉书,指控两人与黑客勾结并从中获利。在哥伦比亚特区法院发出逮捕令后,马来西亚当局在实兆远逮捕了两人。

几名中国黑客仍然“逍遥法外”,美国政府因此指责中国保护这些网络罪犯。

美国司法部副部长Jeffrey Rosen称,“令人遗憾的是,中国的做法不太一样,只要这些网络罪犯攻击的是中国境外的电脑,窃取的是对中国有用的知识产权,他们在中国就是安全的。”

起诉书对张浩然(Zhang Haoran,音译)和谭戴林(Tan Dailin,音译)提出了共谋、恶性身份盗用、洗钱、电信欺诈和违反《计算机欺诈和滥用法》等25项指控。如果罪名成立,他们将面临80多年的监禁。

钱川(Qian Chuan)、蒋立志(Jiang Lizhi)和傅强(Fu Qiang,音译)三人面临的是洗钱、敲诈勒索、访问设备欺诈和共谋违反《计算机欺诈和滥用法》等指控。如果罪名成立,他们将面临长达70年的监禁。

美国司法部对两名马拉西亚商人的指控是敲诈、故意损坏受保护的计算机、访问设备欺诈和恶性身份盗用。

近几个月来,美国司法部一直在持续打击数字货币犯罪。本周早些时候,他们公布了对两名俄罗斯公民的指控,称两人配合实施了一起精心策划的网络钓鱼活动,三家数字货币交易所和一百多名用户受到了攻击。8月份,美国司法部还查获了300个被称用于资助恐怖活动的数字货币钱包

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

5 Chinese hackers face cryptojacking, wire fraud charges in US

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) has unveiled charges against five Chinese nationals for their roles in a cybercriminal ring that targeted at least 100 companies globally. The five are alleged to have engaged in cryptojacking, stolen source code, accessed customer account data and more.

In the indictments announced on September 16, the DoJ alleged that the five defendants engaged in computer intrusions that affected several companies in the United States and beyond. They included software development companies, telecommunications providers, computer hardware manufacturers, social media platforms, universities, video game companies and more.

The hackers allegedly stole critical data from their victims, including source code, customer account data, software code signing certificates and more.

“These intrusions also facilitated the defendants’ other criminal schemes, including ransomware and “crypto-jacking” schemes, the latter of which refers to the group’s unauthorized use of victim computers to “mine” cryptocurrency,” the DoJ alleged.

The Justice Department also revealed that two Malaysian businessmen who had conspired with the Chinese hackers had been arrested. A federal grand jury in Washington D.C. had returned an indictment charging the two with colluding with the hackers and profiting from their crimes. Following a warrant for their arrest issued by a District of Columbia court, Malaysian authorities had arrested them in Sitiawan.

The Chinese hackers are still at large, with the U.S. government accusing China of protecting cybercriminals.

“Regrettably, the Chinese communist party has chosen a different path of making China safe for cybercriminals so long as they attack computers outside China and steal intellectual property helpful to China,” Deputy Attorney General Jeffrey Rosen alleged.

The indictment charged Zhang Haoran and Tan Dailin with 25 counts of conspiracy, aggravated identity theft, money laundering, wire fraud and violating the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act. If convicted of their charges, they face over 80 years behind bars.

The other three, Qian Chuan, Jiang Lizhi and Fu Qiang, face charges of money laundering, racketeering, access device fraud and conspiracy to violate the CFAA, among others. They face up to 70 years in prison if convicted of their charges.

For the two Malaysian businessmen, the DoJ charged them with racketeering, intentional damage to protected computer, access device fraud and aggravated identity theft.

The DoJ has continued to crack down on digital currency crime in recent months. Earlier this week, it unveiled charges against two Russian citizens whom it claims coordinated a sophisticated phishing attack targeting three digital currency exchanges and over 100 users. In August, it seized 300 digital currency wallets it claimed were used to fund terrorist activities.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.