为什么电子竞技和比特币是“天作之合”

电子竞技,又名竞技性电子游戏锦标赛,从一直被认为是可以完美应用比特币的行业之一。轻松的支付和奖池、便携式游戏的所有权、通过永久保存和透明的记录的公平游戏、反作弊措施、不受位置局限的可访问性,以及价值数十亿美元的市场。那么,体育场级别的比特币电子竞技活动何时会发生呢?让我们来了解一下问题,你就会知道为什么这件事很快会实现。

这并等同于说之前没有人试图实现比特币电子竞技。只是与许多其他许多雄心勃勃的想法一样,遇到区块链行业的技术(和人为)限制。比特币核心(BTC)岌岌可危的区块大小否定了所有区块链创意。其他平台,比如以太坊和EOS,对游戏构建者更具吸引力,但仍受到这些平台技术和扩容的限制。

还有一个难点,就是要让游戏行业的大公司和玩家相信比特币可以提供他们需要的优势。这在任何行业都很常见。即使你相信比特币,并希望从零开始建立自己的电子竞技平台,也会面临许多挑战,要吸引足够的游戏设计和培养远离主流制作者的人才。

随着比特币SV的登场,在2020年初恢复了原始比特币协议,并移除了所有数据的限制。像Kronoverse这样的公司,凭借其《CryptoFights》战斗/战略型游戏的推出,从以太坊转阵比特币,已成为比特币电子竞技能力最突出的展示。

Kronoverse将区块链独特的优势(例如,可验证的结果、投注比赛和游戏项目所有权),作为选择在比特币上构建竞争的原因。他们还认为比特币BSV比以太坊及其Enjin游戏平台在技术上更有能力。

首席执行官亚当·克林(Adam Kling)表示:“当我看到以太坊的扩容路线图时,我很清楚地认识到,我们永远不会让一百万玩家在Kronoverse游戏。相反,每个人都必须具备第二层技术,并且只将结果上传给以太坊区块链。而使用比特币SV没有那么麻烦。

关于电子竞技

“电子竞技”、“网络游戏”和“线上博彩”领域有许多相似之处,但每个都有独特之处。我们将解释电子竞技的历史和背景,以便你了解电子竞技的区别。

电子竞技这个一个概念早在20世纪70年代和80年代就已经存在了,同年代的你可能会记得那时候的比赛,这很正常。尽管如此,观看别人玩你真正喜欢的游戏,总让你热血沸腾,观看人们竞争冠军也是一样的让人抱有热情。
然而,正是多人游戏的出现,真正见证了电子竞技的腾飞。现在,竞争对手可以在同一场比赛中直接对抗对方,不仅仅通过达到最高分,而是像常规运动赛事一样。

电子竞技可以涉及任何类型的游戏。竞技游戏的市场,如《反恐精英》、《星际争霸II》、《Dota2》已经赢得了最多的关注,很多游戏都是以电子竞技为设计理念的。但是,对于更简单的游戏或普罗大众都爱的游戏了下来说,会有更多的市场机会。只不过需要有人来组织比赛和建立系统。

例如,Kronoverse的《CryptoFights》是专为竞技而设计的,但只能移动设备上播游戏。它和其他类似想法提供的可能性是无穷无尽的。

多年来,人们一直在争论电子竞技是否可以被归类为“合法运动”。然而,如果电子竞技比赛能和实际的比赛一样吸引人群(和金钱)的话,这个争论就无关紧要了。

一些市场预测称,电子竞技甚至有可能超过F1或欧洲冠军联赛等热门体育赛事的收入,到2022年将超过23亿美元。此外,这些预测是在2020年3月之前做出的,当时由于新冠肺炎COVID-19疫情的影响,世界开始倾向于在线互动,而不是线下的人群。

电子竞技比赛经常在实际体育场举行。但是,考虑到他是一种只需要在线上进行的游戏或比赛,电子竞技实际上更容易被更多的潜在玩家使用,提高了它的吸引力。

据称2017年有1.06亿人在观看世界电子竞技比赛,这足以让国际奥委会就此事举行峰会。虽然与会者认为电子竞技可以被视为体育,但人们担心暴力游戏内容和国际管理机构的缺乏。尽管电子竞技作为一项示范性的体育运动或是作为一个展示性的附加项目,但仍有一些运动以某种方式在奥运会上展示电子竞技。

不过,就像常规运动一样,你不需要参加锦标赛或体育场级别的比赛才能体会到他的快乐,甚至可以轻松赚钱。比赛可以是任何规模的,奖金可以来自入场费,即使没有公司赞助商。家庭观众可以通过更多方式与比赛互动,而不是旨在电视上看足球比赛。如果你所在的管辖区允许的话,甚至还有一个二级市场可以下注谁赢。

透明度、公平性和舞弊问题

游戏完整性——即电子竞技游戏是否对所有玩家都同样公平,以及检测谁可能作弊——这一直是该行业的一大问题。如果比赛在线进行,并且玩家使用自己的设备,这个问题便尤其重要。

Kronoverse表示,比特币在缓解这些问题方面起着重要作用。项目所有权、游戏规则和移动设备等信息都可以永久记录在区块链上。其他人可以仔细查看和分析这些记录,看看是否发生了异常,无论是何时进行的游戏。

这就是比特币的无限扩容性发挥作用的地方。专为数据处理设计的区块链(如以太坊)已经在链上项目流行时遭遇挫折。而BTC无法执行数据处理。两者都不得不依靠第二层协议来处理大量数据(对BTC来说,任何内容都得如此),所有这些“解决方案”都有自己的成本。

不过,在大型玩家看到收益之前,需要一个成功的电子竞技平台在比特币BSV上运行。Kronoverse希望自己成为这一领域的领导者,该公司自2019年末以来一直在测试《CryptoFights》。它希望在未来几个月内发布更多开放的Beta测试版,并在2020年底推出市场,届时,游戏将全方位准备就绪,随后将组织竞赛活动。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Why esports and Bitcoin are a natural match

Esports, aka competitive video game tournaments, is one of those ideas that’s been touted as perfect for Bitcoin since the beginning. Easy payments and prize pools, portable game item ownership, provably fair games with permanent and transparent records, anti-cheating measures, accessibility from anywhere, and a billion-dollar market. So where are the stadium-sized Bitcoin esports events? Let’s take a look at the issues to find out why you might be seeing some soon.

It’s not as though no one has tried to make Bitcoin esports a thing. Like many other ambitious ideas, though, they often ran into the blockchain industry’s technical (and human) limitations. Bitcoin Core’s (BTC) hobbled block size nixed the idea of any kind of blockchain there. Others, like Ethereum and EOS, have had more appeal for game builders but still suffer from those platforms’ technical and scaling limitations.

Then there’s the problem of convincing the big companies and players in the gaming industry that Bitcoin offers the benefits they’re looking for. This is common in any industry. Even if you believe in Bitcoin and want to build your own esports platform from scratch, there’s the challenge of attracting enough game designing and building talent away from the mainstream producers.

Enter Bitcoin SV, which in early 2020 restored the original Bitcoin protocol and removed all data limits. Companies like Kronoverse, with its “CryptoFights” combat/strategy game, have made the jump from Ethereum to Bitcoin and serve as the most prominent demonstration of Bitcoin’s esports capabilities.

Kronoverse have cited advantages unique to blockchain, like verifiable results, betting on matches, and game item ownership, as reasons why they chose to build their competition on Bitcoin. They also saw Bitcoin BSV as more technically capable than Ethereum and its Enjin gaming platform.

CEO Adam Kling said, “When I looked at the scaling roadmap of Ethereum, it became clear that we were never going to be able to have a million players playing on Kronoverse. Instead, everyone is having to develop layer-two technologies and are only submitting the results to the Ethereum blockchain. With Bitcoin SV, we wouldn’t have to do that.”

All about esports

The worlds of “esports,” “online gaming” and “online gambling” share many similarities, but there are components unique to each. We’ll explain the history and background for esports to get an idea what distinguishes it.

Esports as a concept has been around since the 1970s and 80s, but if you’re old enough to remember those times you’ll also remember the games back then weren’t much of a spectacle. Still, there’s always been a certain rush from watching someone play a game you like really well, and the same intensity in watching people compete to be number one on the leaderboard.

It was the advent of multiplayer games, though, that really saw esports take off. Rather than just trying to achieve the highest score, competitors could now play directly against each other in the same game—just like regular sports.

Esports can involve any kind of game. The nature of the market has meant combat games like Counter Strike, League of Legends, StarCraft II and Dota2 have gained the most attention, and many were designed with esports in mind. But there’s plenty of opportunity for simpler games and games for all demographics. All that’s needed is someone to organize the competition and build the system.

Kronoverse’s CryptoFights, for example, is designed for competition yet played only on mobile devices. The possibilities it and other similar ideas offer are endless.

There’s been a lot of debate over the years over whether esports can be classified as “legitimate sports”. However that argument is pretty irrelevant if esports tournaments can haul in crowds (and money) on par with the more physical kind.

Some market projections claim esports could even eclipse popular sports tournaments like Formula One or the UEFA Champions League in revenues, topping US$2.3 billion by 2022. Moreover, those projections were made before March 2020, when the world began its preference for online interaction over physical crowds thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Esports tournaments have frequently taken place in actual stadiums. But if it’s the kind of game or tournament that can be played online, esports is actually more accessible to more potential competitors, enhancing its appeal.

Claims that 106 million people watched the World Esports competition in 2017 was enough for even the International Olympic Committee to hold a summit on the matter. While participants argued esports could be considered sports, there were concerns over violent game content and the lack of an international regulatory body. There are still campaigns to feature esports at Olympic events somehow, even if as a demonstration sport or showcase side event for starters.

Just like regular sports, though, you don’t need to be playing at tournament or stadium level to enjoy them—or even make money. Competitions can be any size, and prize money can be pooled from admission fees even if there isn’t a corporate sponsor. Home viewers can interact with the tournament in more ways than say, a football match on TV. There’s also a secondary market for gambling on who’ll win, if that’s permitted in your jurisdiction.

Transparency, fairness and the problem of cheating

Game integrity—whether esports games are equally fair to all players, and detecting who might be cheating—has been a big problem for the industry. This is especially true if a tournament happens online and if players are using their own devices.

Kronoverse says Bitcoin plays a big part in overcoming these problems. Game elements like item ownership, game rules and moves can all be recorded on the blockchain permanently. Others can scrutinize and analyze these records to see if anything untoward has taken place, no matter when the game was played.

Here’s where Bitcoin’s unlimited scalability comes into play. Blockchains designed for data processing, like Ethereum, have hit snags when on-chain projects became popular. BTC can’t do data. Both have had to lean on second-layer protocols to handle large quantities of data (or in BTC’s case, anything much at all) and all these “solutions” come with their own set of costs.

Still, it will take one successful esports platform to run on Bitcoin BSV before larger players will see its benefits in action. Kronoverse hopes to be that leader, and has been beta-testing CryptoFights since late 2019. It hopes to hold more open betas in the coming months and launch a marketplace by the end of 2020, with a fully-playable game and competition following after.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.