为什么非洲将成为数字货币界下一个前沿市场

“非洲是加密货币采用最有希望的地区之一,甚至会是机会最多的市场。”

上面一段话引述自一篇关于非洲大陆数字货币产业的新报告概要部分。这份题为“加密业现状——非洲”的报告探索了该地区的巨大潜力与未来挑战。

这份报告是由挪威奥斯陆的Arcane Research公司与非洲数字货币交易所Luno合作发布的。种种迹象表明,非洲已经准备好使用数字货币。最近的调查显示,在拥有数字货币的互联网用户中,南非以13%的占比位列全球第三。其中尼日利亚占11%,远高于全球7%的平均水平。

非洲如此高涨的兴趣背后有若干原因。其中之一是因为大多数非洲国家的高通货膨胀率,导致公民需要寻找更好的替代货币。虽然津巴布韦的极端情况受到很多关注,但其他“更稳定”的经济也表现的不顺利。例如,南非兰特在过去十年中兑美元贬值了50%。

非洲也存在严重资金不足的问题。世界银行的一项调查显示,撒哈拉以南的非洲地区的银行服务覆盖率较全球平均水平低61%。即使该地区有银行,收费也非常高。虽然国外的汇款费用高昂,但非洲国家之间付款的费用甚至更高,平均超过交易价值的18%。

数字货币为非洲人民的许多难题带来了缓解措施。利用数字货币实现资金跨境转账的服务已经非常普及。成立于内罗毕的Bitpesa(目前隶属AZA集团),通过数字货币处理了5亿多美元的跨境转账。南非的Centbee也引起大量兴趣,在使用比特币SV的帮助下,可以节省更多费用和交易时间。

然而,报告中同时指出若干挑战的困扰。其中一项就是缺乏支持数字货币使用的基础设施。非洲13亿人口只能依靠少数交易所提供服务。Luno是最大的交易所,用户人数刚刚超过400万。为了克服这一难题,非洲人民依靠P2P平台,如Paxful和LocalBitcoins。

在非洲,接受数字货币支付的商户数量也相当少,数字货币ATM自动存取款机的数量也相当少。技术采用率甚至更低,非洲在主流数字货币节点中占比不到0.3%。非洲对数字货币开采的贡献也几乎不存在。

互联网和智能手机普及率低也是一个挑战,肯尼亚M-Pesa和其他移动服务提供商的竞争也让问题雪上加霜。监管机构让数字货币之路更加崎岖,像摩洛哥和阿尔及利亚等地区的人名是完全被禁止使用数字货币的。

报告的总结部分指出,“如此不发达的现状使项目和公司获得巨大机会,以利用、建设必要基础设施以及采用与本报告所讨论的项目类似的进入市场战略。我们已经看到非洲加密货币的不小进步,并期望在未来几年内能继续加速优化。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Why Africa is the next frontier for digital currency

“Africa is one of, if not the most promising region for the adoption of cryptocurrencies.”

That was the introduction of a new report on the digital currency industry in the continent. The report, titled ‘The State of Crypto: Africa’, looks at the vast potential the region has, while also acknowledging the challenges that lie ahead.

The report was compiled by Oslo, Norway-based firm Arcane Research, partnering with African digital currency exchange, Luno. Africa has shown early signs that it’s ready to use digital currencies. Recent surveys have showed that among Internet users who own digital currencies, South Africa ranks third globally at 13%. Nigeria is at 11%, way above the global average at 7%.

This high interest in Africa stems from a number of factors. One is the high inflation in most African countries which has led citizens to seek better alternative currencies. And while the extremity in Zimbabwe receives all the attention, other ‘more stable’ economies haven’t fared well either. The South African rand, for instance, has lost 50% of its value against the U.S. dollar in the past decade.

Africa is also grossly underbanked. A World Bank survey revealed that availability of banking services is 61% lower in Sub-Saharan Africa compared to the global average. Even when they can access the banks, the charges are incredibly high. And while remittances from abroad are costly, payments between African countries are even higher, averaging over 18% of the transactional value.

Digital currencies offer reprieve for Africans from many of these challenges. Already, services that enable funds transfer across borders using digital currencies are becoming hugely popular. Nairobi-born Bitpesa, now part of AZA Group, has processed over $500 million in cross-border transfers through digital currencies. South Africa’s Centbee has also attracted high interest, with even lower fees and faster transaction times using Bitcoin SV.

There are several challenges, however, the report acknowledges. One is the lack of infrastructure to support digital currency usage. Africa’s 1.3 billion people are only served by a handful of exchanges. Luno is the largest one with just over 4 million users. To overcome this, Africans rely on P2P platforms such as Paxful and LocalBitcoins.

The number of merchants accepting digital currency payments is also quite low in Africa, as is the number of digital currency ATMs. Technical adoption is even lower, with Africa accounting for less than 0.3% of nodes for popular digital currencies. Africa’s contribution to digital currency mining is also almost non-existent.

The low internet and smartphone penetration are other challenges, as is competition from mobile service providers such as Kenya’s M-Pesa. Regulators haven’t made it easier, with some like Morocco and Algeria banning digital currencies altogether.

The report concluded, “This underdevelopment presents a large opportunity for projects and companies to take advantage of, building out the necessary infrastructure and adopting go-to-market strategies similar to the projects discussed in this report. We already see a lot of growth related to cryptocurrency in Africa and expect this development to accelerate in the years ahead.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.