图瓦卢蓄势待发:成为世界上第一个完全数字化的国家——完全基于比特币SV

太平洋小国图瓦卢(Tuvalu)宣布实行完全数字化和无纸化的计划——在比特币SV(BSV)账本上管理其重要事务。BSV咨询公司Faiā,开发商nChainElas Digital与图瓦卢政府进行合作,该计划应运而生。

图瓦卢机遇与挑战并存,它的一些天然劣势也是其优势。迁移如银行业,货币管理和商业交易等基础设施比较简单,因为其人口稀少,缺乏可替代性的遗留的数字化业务。

正如Faiā首席执行官George Siosi Samuels所说,图瓦卢能“超越”其他的经济体,以“图瓦卢国家数字账本”为中心,努力迈向全面数字化和基于区块链的经济。合作方的任务是使这种账本展示出区块链技术和BSV处理所需数据量的能力,及其固定的、一成不变的协议的安全性和稳定性。

对于图瓦卢和BSV来说都是一项浩大的工程。作为一个国家级的项目,它不可避免会吸引许多关注——这一点有利也有弊。Faiaa,Elas Digital和nChain将与图瓦卢政府和人民密切磋商,以确定在推进该项目前到底需要什么(和不需要什么)。

Elas Digital首席执行官Brendan Lee制定了许多基本概念,以及包括图瓦卢有权进入nChain的大型知识产权库并利用其开发经验的约定。

nChain首席执行官David Washburn称这个约定具有“真正的革命性”,同时认为公司“很荣幸”受到图瓦卢远见卓识的领导人的委托,实现这一具有里程碑意义的数字经济转型。

图瓦卢之前的科技行业经历

坐落于新西兰和斐济以北的南太平洋,图瓦卢是一个偏远小岛——人口不到1.2万,自然资源稀少。这些情况迫使图瓦卢创造性地寻找新的经济机遇。

奇怪的是,图瓦卢过去充分利用的一种比较新颖的“资源”,也就是它的“.tv”互联网域名,通过向电视网络和制作公司出售其使用权而商业化(补充:图瓦卢用这些销售所得的第一笔钱于1999年加入联合国)。同样,图瓦卢还利用其电话区号,船舶登记,捕鱼权和邮票进行商业活动。

因此,图瓦卢政府在与信息和通信技术(ICT)行业打交道方面有着几十年的经验。图瓦卢与IT公司Verisign就.tv域名销售达成的为期12年的5000万美元的协议将于2021年到期,这是探索新方向的绝佳时机。

图瓦卢不是拿着科技玩具的天真门外汉

图瓦卢的计划并不是一个天真的外国人为了展示一个新的科技概念而进入一个陌生文化的案例。Samuels表示,要想计划成功实施,图瓦卢自身强大的本地因素很重要。

由于Samuels自己在母亲那边的在图瓦卢家族遗产,他对这个国家产生了兴趣。他把图瓦卢与Verisign的.tv交易看作是“一笔划算的买卖“,并认为图瓦卢重新获得该域名的完全控制权后,可以将它变成”一个巨大的摇钱树“,因为它对使用该域名的用户来说已经变得非常重要,并且他还认为图瓦卢可以利用这些经验发展一个全面的数字/知识经济体。

他在2020年1月撰写并发表了针对图瓦卢的五点以科技为中心的发展计划其中包括开放.tv 域名竞标、改善网络基础设施,将数字化转型作为经济战略重点、实现无现金化,以及投资土地和房产。

尽管图瓦卢现阶段仍依靠国外援助来满足预算,但它拒绝了中国公司在其水域建造人工岛屿的提议。图瓦卢在IT领域确实有两个优势:一是成人识字率高(99%),二是全民说英语。

Samuels 说,“数据就是新石油,图瓦卢正在采取正确行动来引导这个新的领域,就像我们寻路的祖先在大海中航行一样。”

图瓦卢政府注意到了Samuels的计划,与他实际联系来进一步探讨他的想法,Samuels也乐意这样做。

图瓦卢司法,通讯和外交部长Simon Kofe重申,在日常生活和中国家政策层面,意识到国家文化和价值观的同时,富有远见十分重要。

“然而,尽管采取以价值观为基础的方案,我们始终聚焦于未来。图瓦卢在有关气候变化的对外社交和行动方案上一直是太平洋地区的领头国家,但我们也希望在其他领域成为一个领导者,尤其是在信息技术领域。通过与nChain,Elas和Faiā的合作,我们乐观地认为,区块链技术将为图瓦卢释放新机遇和保障更美好的未来提供一个关键平台。”

另请参阅:Craig Wright博士在CoinGeek大会的直播视频,从互联网到比特币:推动世界技术基础设施的数字账本

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Tuvalu poised to become first fully digital country—and it’s all on Bitcoin SV

Tuvalu poised to become first fully digital country—and it’s all on Bitcoin SV

The tiny Pacific nation of Tuvalu has announced plans to go fully digital and paperless—managing its important operations on the Bitcoin SV (BSV) ledger. The plan comes from a partnership between BSV consultancy firm Faiā, developers nChain, Elas Digital, and the Tuvaluan government.

Tuvalu represents both a challenge and an opportunity, with some of its natural disadvantages also working as advantages. Migrating infrastructure such as banking, currency management, and business dealings is simpler with a small population and a lack of legacy digital operations to replace.

As Faiā CEO George Siosi Samuels put it, Tuvalu could “leapfrog” other economies struggling to move to an all-digital, blockchain-based economy centered on the “Tuvaluan National Digital Ledger.” The partnership’s task is to deliver this ledger as a working demonstration of both blockchain technology and BSV’s ability to process the volumes of data required, as well as the security and stability of its fixed, “set in stone” protocol.

It’s a big job both for Tuvalu and BSV. As a nation-state-level project, it will inevitably attract a lot of attention—a factor that also has its pluses and minuses. Faiā, Elas Digital and nChain will consult closely with the government and people to determine exactly what’s needed (and what isn’t) before pushing ahead with the plan.

Elas Digital CEO Brendan Lee developed much of the basic concept, and the deal includes access to nChain’s vast intellectual property library and development experience.

nChain CEO David Washburn described the deal as “truly revolutionary,” saying the companies were “honored to have been charged by the visionary leaders of Tuvalu to enable this landmark shift toward a digital economy.”

Previous experience with the technology industry

Situated in the South Pacific Ocean due north of New Zealand and Fiji, Tuvalu is small and remote—an archipelago with a population of under 12,000 and few natural resources. Its situation has forced it to be creative in looking for new economic opportunities.

Curiously, one of the more novel “resources” Tuvalu has used to its fullest potential in the past is its “.tv” internet domain, which it has commercialized by selling its use to television networks and production companies (trivia: Tuvalu used its first payments from these sales to join the United Nations in 1999). It has similarly exploited its telephone area code, ship registry, fishing rights, and postage stamps.

As a result of this, Tuvalu’s government has decades of experience in dealing with the information and communications technology (ICT) industry. Its 12-year, US$50 million deal with IT firm Verisign over the sales of the .tv domain will expire in 2021, perfect timing to explore new directions.

Not naive outsiders with tech toys

This is not a case of naive foreigners moving into a culture they don’t understand to showcase a new technology concept. Samuels said a strong local element is essential to make it all work.

He developed an interest in the country due to his own Tuvaluan family heritage on his mother’s side. Samuels regards the Verisign/.tv deal as “a bargain” and thinks Tuvalu could turn the domain, which it will regain full control over, into “a huge cash cow” given how important it’s become to the properties that use it, and leverage that experience into developing a full digital/knowledge economy.

His five-point tech-centric development plan for Tuvalu, which he wrote and published in January 2020, involves opening the .tv domain to a bidding war, improving internet infrastructure, focus on digital transformation as an economic strategy, go cashless, and invest in land and property.

Though Tuvalu at this stage remains dependent on foreign aid to meet its budget, it has resisted offers from Chinese firms to build artificial islands in its waters. Two advantages it does have in the IT world are a high adult literacy rate (99%) and the fact that everyone there speaks English.

“Data is the new oil, and Tuvalu is taking the right steps to navigating this new area, just like our wayfinding ancestors did with the oceans,” Samuels said.

The Tuvaluan government noticed his plan and actually approached Samuels to explore his ideas further, which he was happy to do.

Simon Kofe, Tuvalu’s Minister for Justice, Communication and Foreign Affairs, reiterated the importance of being visionary while recognizing the nation’s culture and values in daily life and at the national policy level.

“While taking a values-based approach, however, our eyes are always fixed firmly on the future. Tuvalu is already a leading Pacific nation in terms of outreach and action on climate change, but we hope to become a leader in other areas as well, especially ICT. Through our partnership with nChain, Elas, and Faiā, we are optimistic that blockchain technology will provide a key platform for unlocking new opportunities and securing a greater future for Tuvalu.”

See also: Dr. Craig Wright’s presentation at CoinGeek Live, From the Internet to Bitcoin: The Digital Ledger to Advance the World’s Technology Infrastructure

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]