韩国最大银行将提供数字资产托管服务

韩国最大的银行,即国民银行(Kookmin Bank,又称KB银行),将开始提供数字货币资产托管服务。这家银行已经与区块链风险投资公司Hashed和数字货币交易所Cumberland建立了合作关系。

Hashed的法律合规官Jin Kang在一篇博客文章中透露,这三家公司将合作发展区块链相关业务。

他表示,该合作“将涉及管理和存储数字资产、倡导最佳的监管发展,以及改变传统金融业”。

KB银行进军数字货币托管业务,正值监管机构对该行业逐步释放积极信号之际。美国货币监理署(Office of the Comptroller of the Currency)最近发布了一项指令,准许银行提供数字货币托管服务,此外,它还准许了银行为数字货币业务提供金融服务。

韩国政府也一直在为银行与数字货币进行牵线搭桥。这促使该国四大银行开始了数字货币行业探索之路,如今,KB银行率先迈出了决定性的第一步。

Kang表示,KB银行认为,除了数字货币之外,房地产和艺术品等其他资产也将会在区块链平台上代币化、发行和交易。

Hashed首席执行官Simon Kim评论道:“结合我们对区块链行业的见解,并提供技术和商务咨询,这必将为消费者和国家打开新的大门,引向数字化转型新时代。”

KB银行过去就已参与过区块链项目。2019年6月,该银行与Atomrigs Labs签署了谅解备忘录,共同探索数字资产托管解决方案。据报道,这两家公司在合作开发一个名为Lime的平台,该平台将与该银行的基础设施相结合,为数字货币提供最高水平的安全保障。

KB银行的保险子公司今年也开始涉足区块链。这家KB保险公司与韩国电信公司(KT Corporation)合作开发一个区块链驱动的 通知服务系统

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

South Korea’s largest bank to store and manage digital assets

Kookmin Bank, considered to be the largest bank in South Korea, is set to offer digital currency custody and management services. The bank, better known as KB Bank, has partnered with blockchain venture capital firm Hashed and Cumberland digital currency exchange.

The three companies will partner on all things blockchain, Hashed’s legal compliance officer Jin Kang revealed in a blog post.

The partnership “will entail managing and storing digital assets, advocating for optimal regulatory developments, and transforming the traditional financial sector,” he stated.

KB Bank’s move into digital currency custody comes at a time when regulators have progressively taken a positive approach towards digital currencies. In the U.S., the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency recently issued a directive allowing banks to offer custody services for digital currencies. It also allowed them to provide banking services for digital currency businesses.

In Korea, the government has been warming up to banks interacting with digital currencies as well. This has allowed the country’s four leading banks to begin exploring the industry, with KB Bank now making the first definitive move.

According to Kang, KB Bank believes that apart from digital currencies, other assets such as real estate and artwork will be tokenized, issued and traded on blockchain platforms.

Hashed CEO Simon Kim remarked, “Combining our insight in the blockchain industry and providing both technical and commercial consultations will inevitably open new doors to consumers as well as to the country in ushering the new era of digital transformation.”

KB Bank has been involved in blockchain projects in the past. In June 2019, the bank signed a memorandum of understanding with Atomrigs Labs to explore digital assets custody solutions. The two were reported to be working on a platform known as Lime that would combine with the bank’s infrastructure to offer state-of-the-art security for digital currencies.

KB Bank’s insurance subsidiary also ventured into blockchain this year. Known as KB Insurance, the firm partnered with KT Corporation on a blockchain-powered insurance mobile notification system.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.