韩国正在调查一起涉及1600万美元的未来网数字货币骗局

韩国当局正在调查一起诈骗投资者20多亿韩元(约1670万美元)的庞氏骗局。该骗局向投资者出售“广告套餐”,并用数字货币进行交易。

韩国首都首尔的警方称,该骗局共窃取了950名投资者的资金,这些投资者目前已向当地政府投诉。根据当地电视网TV Chosun报道,至少有161人参与了这场骗局。

未来网(Futurenet )是一个已经存在了很多年的骗局,但这是它第一次将韩国投资者作为目标进行诈骗。它向投资者出售数字广告套餐,宣称投资者可以将广告套餐转售并从中获利。该公司还诱使用户招募更多的人以增加公司的收入,这是庞氏骗局使用的经典伎俩。

2018年1月,未来网还推出了一种名为FuturoCoin的数字货币,并称其是Dash代码的扩展版本。

未来网已于2017年被波兰当局查获。该国消费者保护机构警告公众不要投资该公司,并称它是一个传销组织。在去年的另一次警告中,当局透露他们已经对该公司提出了指控。

区块链分析公司Chainalysis进一步调查了该公司,将该公司的结构比作有史以来最大的数字货币庞氏骗局之一PlusToken。区块链分析公司Chainalysis经过调查发现了一个庞大的犯罪团伙,该团伙从投资者那里骗取了数亿美元。

区块链分析公司还发现,未来网与两个数字货币处理器零售商——CoinDeal和BitcoinAPI密切相关。自2015年以来,他们支付给未来网的款项占其交易额的80%。这三家公司也是同一控股公司的注册子公司。

这种结构将未来网与最大的数字货币庞氏骗局区分开来。Chainalysis评论道,“经过进一步的调查,未来网似乎专门建造了一个空壳公司作为自己的基础设施,以便于与受害者进行加密货币交易。”

未来网的创始人斯蒂芬·摩根斯坦(Stephan Morgenstern)和罗曼·齐米安(Roman Ziemian)去年被指控从冈比亚非法获得外交护照。据冈比亚当地媒体报道,这两人被列为冈比亚政府顾问,尽管他们从未进入该国。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

South Korea investigating a $16 million Futurenet digital currency scam

South Korean authorities are investigating a Ponzi scheme that has defrauded over 2 billion won ($16.7 million) from investors. The scam sold ‘ad packages’ to its investors, transacting in digital currencies.

Police in Korea’s capital, Seoul, claim that the scam stole from 950 investors who have filed complaints with local authorities. According to a report by local television network TV Chosun, at least 161 people were involved in the scam.

Futurenet is a scam that has been around for a few years now, but this marks the first time it has targeted South Korean investors. It sells digital advertising packages to the investors which they can then resell and make a profit. The company urges the users to recruit more people to increase their earning potential, a classic trick used by Ponzi schemes.

Futurenet is also behind FuturoCoin, a digital currency launched in January 2018 that claims to rely on an extended version of the Dash code.

Futurenet was busted by Polish authorities in 2017. The country’s consumer protection authority warned the public against investing in the company, terming it a pyramid scheme. In yet another warning last year, the authority revealed that it had leveled charges against the company.

Blockchain analytics company Chainalysis further investigated the company, likening its structure to that of PlusToken, one of the largest digital currency Ponzi schemes ever. The investigation unearthed an extensive crime ring that had received hundreds of millions of dollars from investors.

Chainalysis revealed that Futurenet was heavily connected with two digital currency merchant processors – CoinDeal and BitcoinAPI. Payments to Futurenet accounted for up to 80% of their transactional volume since 2015. The three are also registered subsidiaries of the same holding company.

This structure sets Futurenet apart from most digital currency Ponzi schemes. Chainalysis remarked, “Upon further investigation, Futurenet appears to have its own infrastructure of purpose-built shell companies to facilitate cryptocurrency payments to and from victims.”

The founders of Futurenet, Stephan Morgenstern and Roman Ziemian were last year alleged to have illegally acquired diplomatic passports from Gambia. According to local outlet What’s On Gambia, the two were listed as advisors to the Gambian government, despite never having set foot in the country.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.