南非企业因涉嫌数字货币欺诈, 将面临美国两个州制裁

德克萨斯州和阿拉巴马州的证券监管机构对三家南非数字货币公司下达了命令,要求其停止针对当地居民的涉嫌诈骗行为。涉案公司宣称提供一种与稳定币挂钩的借记卡,并吹嘘公司的股票能在短短24个月的时间内带来高达500%的利息回报。

德克萨斯州证券委员会在一份新闻稿中透露,已对三家公司—Liquidity Gold Solution LLC、Liquidity Gold Trust和Liquidity Global Card Solution (PTY) LTD下达了紧急禁令,勒令其停止违法行为。

监管机构称,这三家公司以奥斯汀居民为目标,依靠在当地一家广播电台播放广告来吸引受害者。他们也使用了包括Facebook、推特和LinkedIn在内的线上平台。

这三家公司都是由兰斯·安格斯·耶拉德(Lance Angus Jerrard)创立,并一直在推广Liquidity Card,声称这款借记卡由万事达卡发行。然而,与其他借记卡不同的是,Liquidity Card与稳定币挂钩。根据他们的电台广告宣称,该卡支持泰达币(USD Coin)、PAX币和TrueUSD币 。

三家Liquidity公司吹嘘的最大卖点是以1150美元的价格出售给奥斯汀居民的有限所有权“份额”。据称,投资者只需购买了一份份额,便有权从Liquidity Card持有人支付的费用中获得剩余收益。每一份份额会在18个月后给投资者带来每月1516.72美元的收益,在24个月后每月收益可达5008美元。

这些公司宣称,不仅保障收益,而且向投资者书面承诺100%退款。

然而,根据德克萨斯州监管部门的说法,这一切都是一个大骗局。

三家Liquidity公司一直以来都在隐瞒关于其运营和报酬的重要信息。监督机构称:“他们没有提供关于公司资金使用情况的重要信息,也没有根据命令披露与其商业计划相关的重大风险。”

这些公司也一直在用网络图片来描绘他们的办公室。根据公司网站信息,公司的总部位于南非约翰内斯堡。

此外,这三家公司都没有在德克萨斯州注册销售证券。

监管机构执法总监乔·罗通达(Joe Rotunda)告诫德州居民,不要被骗子保证回报的承诺所引诱。他说:“在经济形势不明朗的时期,每月能有一份有保障的预期收益,看起来就像是美梦成真。不幸的是,加密货币骗局通常缺乏事实和证据来支持所谓的致富承诺。到最后,这只是科技的泡沫,一戳就破。”

就在一个多月前,德克萨斯州监管机构关闭了另一家针对德州居民的南非数字货币相关企业。这家名为Mirror Trading International的公司,声称提供BTC和外汇池的投资。但是,监管机构揭露,这不过是一个多层次的传销骗局。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

South African firms face sanctions in 2 US states over alleged digital currency fraud

Securities regulators in the states of Texas and Alabama have ordered three South African digital currency firms to desist from targeting local residents in an alleged scam. The firms claim to offer a debit card that is pegged on stablecoins, with shares in the companies being touted to return up to 500% interest in just 24 months.

In a press release, the Texas State Securities Board revealed it had entered an emergency cease and desist order against the three firms—Liquidity Gold Solution LLC, Liquidity Gold Trust and Liquidity Global Card Solution (PTY) LTD.

According to the regulator, the three firms have been targeting residents of Austin by running ads on a local radio station. They have also been using online platforms, including Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

The three firms, all founded by Lance Angus Jerrard, have been promoting the Liquidity Card, a debit card they claim is issued by Mastercard. Unlike other debit cards, however, it works with stablecoins. According to their radio ads, the card reportedly supports the USD Coin, PAX Coin and TrueUSD.

The Liquidity companies’ alleged biggest selling point is their limited ownership ‘portions’ which they are selling to residents of Austin at $1,150. By buying a portion of the companies, an investor is reportedly entitled to residual income from the fees paid by the Liquidity Card holders. For each portion owned, an investor will earn $1,516.72 per month after 18 months and $5,008 monthly after 24 months.

The returns are guaranteed, the companies claimed, and investors are promised a 100% written money back guarantee.

However, according to the Texas regulator, it’s all a big scam.

The Liquidity companies have been concealing important information about their operations and compensation. “They are not providing material information about their use of money and they are not disclosing the significant risks associated with the business plan, according to the order,” the watchdog claims.

The companies have also been using stock photographs to depict their offices. According to their website, they are based in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Additionally, the three companies are not registered to sell securities in Texas.

Joe Rotunda, the regulator’s director of enforcement cautioned Texans against being lured by scammers through promises of guaranteed returns. He stated, “The prospect of guaranteed monthly income may seem like a dream come true during times of economic uncertainty. Unfortunately, cryptocurrency scams typically fail to support promises of prosperity with facts and evidence. In the end, it’s often smoke and mirrors, with a technological twist.”

Just over a month ago, the Texas regulator shut down yet another South African digital currency-related venture that was targeting Texans. Known as Mirror Trading International, the firm claimed to be offering investment in a BTC and forex pool. However, the regulator revealed that it was just a multi-level marketing scheme.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.