俄罗斯邮局老板在工作中非法处理数字货币

俄罗斯一家邮局的老板因涉嫌使用工作电脑处理数字货币而入狱。当局称,自2019年9月以来,他一直在非法处理数字货币交易。

这名嫌疑人曾是俄罗斯南部一个名叫Mineralnye Vody的小镇的邮局负责人。据俄罗斯媒体RNS的一份报告显示,他一直在秘密使用邮局的资源处理数字货币。

根据俄罗斯主要的联邦调查机构——俄罗斯调查委员会(Investigative Committee of Russia)的说法,他已经处理数字货币有六个月了。该委员会在报告中表示,“根据调查,自2019年9月以来,嫌疑人安装并非法连接计算机设备到俄罗斯邮政JSC分公司的电网中,目的是为了挖矿。”

调查人员估计,这一非法活动给邮局造成了30000卢布(约合428美元)的损失。罪犯被指控滥用职权,但调查仍在进行中。由于警方仍在调查此案,所以他的名字还未向媒体透露。

这是俄罗斯常见犯罪行为的最新一例。在数字货币交易处理行业中,电力开销一直是最大的成本因素。为了规避高额的电力成本,最终,一些区块奖励矿商选择偷电或利用公司和国家资源进行挖矿。许多人最终被关进监狱。

在俄罗斯,非法交易处理尤其猖獗。一个月前,俄罗斯警方逮捕了10名非法处理数字货币的嫌疑人。这10人已经在全国各地建立了8个操作基地。他们低估了他们使用设备的用电量。嫌疑人被指控非法使用价值超过19万美元的电力。

在俄罗斯的另一个案例中,一名核科学家因被发现使用工作资源处理数字货币而被判处三年监禁。这位科学家还必须为他的罪行支付3100美元的罚款,当局声称罪犯至少从他们的活动中赚了15000美元。

非法交易处理不仅限于俄罗斯。在中国,科技巨头百度的一名员工被发现参与了非法交易处理活动。据报道,这名工程师在当局逮捕他之前赚了14250美元。他被判三年监禁,目前正在服刑。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Russian post office boss busted processing digital currency at work

A Russian post office boss is behind bars for allegedly processing digital currencies using work computers. According to the authorities, he had been illegally processing digital currency transactions since September 2019.

The suspect used to serve as the head of the post office in Mineralnye Vody, a town in the southern part of Russia. He had been processing digital currencies secretly using the post office’s resources, a report by Russian outlet RNS revealed.

According to the Investigative Committee of Russia, the country’s main federal investigating authority, he had been processing digital currencies for six months. In its report, the Committee stated, “According to the investigation, since September 2019, the suspect installed and illegally connected computer equipment for the extraction of cryptocurrency to the power network in the branch of JSC Russian Post.”

The investigators estimate that the illegal activity costs the post office 30,000 rubles ($428). The culprit is charged with abuse of power, but the investigations are still ongoing. His name has been withheld from the media as the police are still investigating the crime.

This is the latest instance of what has become a common crime in Russia. Electricity costs have always been the biggest cost factor in the digital currency transaction processing industry. To circumvent this, some block reward miners have ended up stealing electricity or using company and state resources to mine. Many have ended up behind bars.

In Russia, illegal transaction processing has been especially rampant. A month ago, Russian police arrested 10 suspects for processing digital currencies illegally. The 10 had established eight operation bases across the country. They used equipment that understated the amount of electricity used. The suspects were alleged to have illegally used over $190,000 worth of electricity.

In yet another case in Russia, a nuclear scientist was sentenced to three years in prison after he was found to have used work resources to process digital currencies. The scientist also had to pay a $3,100 fine for his crime, with authorities claiming they had made at least $15,000 from their activities.

Illegal transaction processing is not limited to Russia alone. Over in China, an employee of the tech giant Baidu was found to have engaged in the activity. The engineer reportedly made $14,250 before the authorities caught up with him. He’s serving a three-year prison sentence.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.