罗马尼亚程序员承认7.22亿美元的BitClub庞氏骗局的罪行

一名罗马尼亚(Romanian)程序员已经承认了他参与创建BitClub Network的罪行。BitClub Network是一个从投资者那里诈骗了7.22亿美元的数字货币区块奖励挖矿骗局。该程序员现在面临五年监禁以及25万美元的罚款。

美国司法部(U.S. Department of Justice)在一份新闻稿中透露,Silviu Balaci在德国被捕,他一直住在那里。Silviu Balaci通过视频会议承认了一项双重目的合谋实施电信诈骗的指控。他还就合谋提供和出售未注册证券的行为而认罪。

Silviu Balaci的宣判日期尚未确定。

Balaci是BitClub Network的关键操纵者之一。该公司向美国公民征集投资,然后用这些投资购买据称是数字货币区块奖励挖矿业务的股票。BitClub从2014年4月运营至2019年12月,它还是一个多级传销骗局,在骗局中,BitClub奖励那些招募新成员的投资者。

据称,Balaci负责技术工作,其他被告Matthew Goettsche和Russ Albert Medlin负责市场营销和其他商业事务。据美国司法部(DoJ)称,Balaci公开表示,潜在投资者是“愚蠢的”,并声称他们“在白痴的支持下构建了整个业务模型。”

应Goettsche的要求,Balaci进一步改变了公司在其网站上显示的数据,以展示公司的盈利远高于实际水平。在2015年2月的一次事件中,Goettsche要求Balaci将日利润提高60%。虽然Balaci警告说,这个数字是不可持续的,而且这踏入了“庞氏骗局的范围”,但他还是按Goettsche的要求做了。

Balaci向美国地方法官Claire C. Cecchi证实,BitClub确实从其投资者手中盗走了价值7.22亿美元的数字货币。

Balaci认罪三周前,BitClub的另一位联合创始人Russ Albert Medlin被捕。Medlin被印尼警方逮捕,并被指控性侵未成年人。警方根据Medlin在首都雅加达(Jakarta)的邻居的举报展开了抓捕行动,这些邻居注意到几个未成年人离开了Medlin的家。

如果Medlin在印度尼西亚(Indonesia)被判违反该国的《儿童保护法》(Law on Children Protection),那么,他将面临15年的监禁。然而,正如CoinGeek报道的那样,印尼警方预计美国会对这名逃犯提出引渡请求。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Romanian programmer pleads guilty in $722M BitClub Ponzi scam

A Romanian programmer has pleaded guilty in connection with his role in creating BitClub Network, a digital currency block reward mining scam that defrauded $722 million from investors. He now faces five years in prison and a fine of $250,000.

Silviu Balaci was arrested in Germany where he had been residing, the U.S. Department of Justice revealed in a press release. He pleaded guilty, via video conference, to one count of dual-object conspiracy to commit wire fraud. He also entered a guilty plea for conspiracy to offer and sell unregistered securities.

His sentencing date is yet to be set.

Balaci was one of the key operators of BitClub Network. The company solicited investment from U.S. citizens for purported shares in a digital currency block reward mining operation. BitClub, which operated from April 2014 to December 2019, also acted as a multi-level marketing scam where it rewarded investors who recruited new members.

Balaci allegedly took care of the technical work, with fellow defendants Matthew Goettsche and Russ Albert Medlin attending to marketing and other business matters. According to the DoJ, Balaci is on record referring to potential investors as ‘dumb’ and claiming that they were “building this whole model on the backs of idiots.”

Balaci further changed the figures the company displayed on its website, at Goettsche’s request, to show that the company was earning way more than it actually was. In one incident in February 2015, Goettsche asked Balaci to bump up the daily profits by 60%. While he warned that the figure wasn’t sustainable and that it was “Ponzi territory,” he still executed the order.

Balaci confirmed to U.S. District Judge Claire C. Cecchi that BitClub indeed made away with $722 million worth of digital currencies from its investors.

Balaci’s guilty plea comes three weeks after the other BitClub co-founder, Russ Albert Medlin was arrested. Medlin was arrested by Indonesian police and charged with sexually assaulting minors. The police acted on tip-offs from his neighbors in the capital Jakarta who had noticed several minors leaving his house.

Medlin face 15 years in prison if he is convicted in Indonesia for breaking the country’s Law on Children Protection. However, as CoinGeek reported, the Indonesian police expect an extradition request from the U.S. for the fugitive.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.