美国推迟了对OneCoin头目的判决

由于与执法部门的持续合作,美国法院推迟了对OneCoin骗局中关键人物的判决。

据Inner City Press 报道,康斯坦丁·伊格纳托夫(Konstantin Ignatov)原定于周三被判处最高90年的监禁。然而,由于他继续与检察官合作,以使得针对该骗局的案件能够提前解决,法院推迟了这个判决,没有规定明确的判决日期。

这个推迟的决定是应检察官的要求而作出的,他们要求将听证会延期四个月。美国代理检察官奥黛丽·施特劳斯(Audrey Strauss)说,“由于我们与被告的合作尚未结束,恳请政府考虑将判决日期推迟大约四个月。”

根据公开有效的法庭日程表,另一宗案件正在原定法庭计划对伊格纳托夫判决的时间内进行审理,这一报道证实了推迟判决的请求已获批准。

这一进展是针对伊格纳托夫一案的最新转折,他是OneCoin数字货币骗局的头目之一。特别是,当局尤其希望能从伊格纳托夫那里获得信息,以此来抓获他妹妹,也就是该骗局的创始人鲁贾·伊格纳托娃(Ruja Ignatova),迄今为止她一直在逃避当局的追捕。

在与检察官达成认罪协议后,康斯坦丁·伊格纳托夫在提供证据方面发挥了重要作用,这也引发了法院对律师马克·斯科特(Mark Scott)提起的诉讼,斯科特因参与了与该骗局相关的4亿美元的洗钱行动而被定罪。

据报道,这个设在保加利亚的骗局多年来已经从毫无戒心的受害者那里骗取了高达40亿美元。

尽管达成了认罪协议,但康斯坦丁·伊格纳托夫仍可能因对一系列他名下的指控而面临90年的监禁。

当局现在希望他能提供关于鲁贾·伊格纳托娃下落的进一步线索。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

OneCoin ringleader US sentencing pushed back

A key player in the OneCoin scam has seen his sentence deferred by a U.S. court, due to ongoing cooperation with law enforcement authorities.

Konstantin Ignatov was due to be sentenced on Wednesday, facing a maximum prison sentence of 90 years. However, the court deferred sentencing without imposing a future date, as he continues to work with prosecutors in advancing the case against the scheme, Inner City Press reported.

The deferral came at the request of prosecutors, who asked for a period of an additional four months for the adjourned hearing. Acting U.S. Attorney Audrey Strauss said, “Because the defendant’s cooperation is not yet complete, the Government respectfully requests that the sentencing control date be adjourned for approximately four months.”

According to the publicly available court calendar, another case is now being heard in the time slot scheduled for Ignatov’s sentencing, which is being reported as confirmation that the deferral request has been granted.

The development is the latest twist in the case against Ignatov, one of the ringleaders of the OneCoin digital currency scam. In particular, authorities are keen to rely on Ignatov for information that could lead to the capture of his sister and scheme founder, Ruja Ignatova, who has so far evaded the clutches of the authorities.

After entering into a plea deal with prosecutors, Konstantin Ignatov was instrumental in providing evidence which led to the prosecution of lawyer Mark Scott, who was convicted for his involvement in a $400 million money laundering operation connected to the scam.

The Bulgaria-based scheme is reported to have scammed as much as $4 billion from unsuspecting victims over a number of years.

In spite of the plea deal, Konstantin Ignatov could still be facing a 90 year sentence for the litany of charges against his name.

The authorities will now hope he can provide further clues as to the whereabouts of Ruja Ignatova.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.