日本金融监管机构新任负责人呼吁推动数字日元

日本金融厅(FSA)新任长官敦促日本加快央行数字货币的发行进程。此外,他还建议谨慎对待现有数字货币法规的放宽计划,并表示会有更好的方法来促进创新。

冰见野良三(Ryozo Himino)于7月接任金融厅长官。虽然刚上任不久,但他多年来一直参与数字货币监管工作。2019年,他主持了G20数字货币会议,该会议呼吁对数字货币行业采取更加严格的监管措施。

冰见野良三在接受路透社(Reuters)采访时,对放宽当前数字货币法规的呼吁表示担忧。

他告诉媒体:“放宽对比特币和其他加密货币的监管,并不一定会促进技术创新,如果单纯这样做只会助长投机交易。”

虽然他预见数字货币,尤其在日本,将拥有一个光明的前景,但他认为政府不应该在推广该行业上耗费时间,而是应该专注于开发和发行央行数字货币(CBDC)。

最近几个月,日本央行一直在加大对CBDC的关注。一周前,该行委任了其首席经济学家领导CBDC项目。而且,该行还在其官方经济计划中涵盖了许多CBDC的考虑因素。

他评论道:“最后,日本必须认真考虑是否发行CBDC,因为发行CBDC会有其利弊两面。现在日本所能做的是,做好准备工作,以便于日本决定发行CBDC时,可以立刻行动。”

他建议,日本应该停止关注发行CBDC的挑战问题,而是应该专注于开发数字日元。

冰见野良三认为新冠肺炎疫情更加凸显了无现金社会的必要性。在日本这个东亚国家,新冠病毒已经导致了48000多人感染,1000多人死亡。因此,政府必须加快开发数字支付系统。他相信,数字日元会在这一转变中发挥重大作用。

日本在数字货币领域一直处于全球领先地位,它是最早承认数字货币为法定货币的国家之一。当大部分国家还对该行业采取观望态度时,日本金融厅就已发挥关键作用,对该行业进行监管。其所创造的有利环境,促使了一些交易所发展成为世界上最大型的交易所。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Japan new financial regulator chief calls for digital yen

The incoming head of Japan’s Financial Services Agency (FSA) has urged the country to accelerate its efforts towards issuing a central bank digital currency. He also urged for caution regarding relaxing the existing digital currency laws, claiming that there are better ways to promote innovation.

Ryozo Himino took over as the head of the FSA in July. While new to the office, he has been involved in digital currency regulation for years. In 2019, he chaired the G20 meeting on digital currencies which called for stricter rules for the industry.

Speaking to Reuters, Himino voiced his concern over calls to relax the current digital currency laws.

“Deregulating bitcoins and other cryptocurrencies may not necessarily promote technical innovation, if doing so simply increases speculative trading,” he told the outlet.

While he sees a bright future for digital currencies, especially in Japan, he claimed that the government shouldn’t be devoting it’s time to promoting the industry. Rather, it should focus on developing and issuing a CBDC.

Japan’s central bank has been stepping up interest in a CBDC in recent months. The bank appointed its top economist to head the CBDC initiative a week ago. It also included considerations for a CBDC in its official economic plan.

“In the end, Japan must think really hard about whether to issue CBDCs because there are merits and demerits to doing so. What it can do now is to be ready so that when Japan decides to issue CBDCs, it can do so straight away,” he remarked.

Japan should stop focusing on the challenges of issuing a CBDC and instead focus on developing the digital yen, he advised.

Himino believes that the coronavirus pandemic has made the need for a cashless society greater. The virus has infected over 48,000 people in the East Asian country, with over 1,000 deaths. This makes it critical for the government to accelerate its efforts towards developing digital payment systems. The digital yen could play a big role in this transformation, he believes.

Japan has been a global leader in digital currencies, having been one of the first countries to recognize them as legal tender. The FSA has played a crucial role, regulating the industry at a time when most countries took a wait-and-see approach. The enabling environment has seen the rise of some of the world’s largest exchanges.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.