印度拟议的法律可能将导致对数字货币的永久禁令

印度拟议的法律可能将导致对数字货币的永久禁令

印度的数字货币行业面临着不确定的未来,因为最近提出的一项拟议的法律可能导致数字货币被永久禁止。如果该法律通过,那么,持有、出售、发行或转移数字货币都将成为非法行为。

印度财政部支持这一最新的举措,呼吁就拟议的法律进行部际磋商。如果各部就法律草案达成一致,他们就将把草案提交议会批准。

这项拟议的禁令是在最高法院判决支持数字货币行业三个月后出台的。当时,印度储备银行(RBI)发布了一份通知,限制银行为数字货币公司提供服务。这极大地影响了数字货币向法定货币的转换,并导致大多数交易所的交易量急剧下降。最高法院推翻了这项禁令,使该行业重获新生。

然而,正如《经济时报》报道的那样,并不是每个人都对这个决定感到满意。该报道援引财政部的消息来源称,正是这一决定刺激了当前全面禁止数字货币的提议。

然而,即使在禁令解除后,数字货币公司也并非一帆风顺。自法院判决以来,印度储备银行还没有给出将如何处理数字货币的明确指导。《经济时报》报道称,在没有任何关于如何处理数字货币支付的明确指导的情况下,银行选择不处理该行业的支付业务。然而,数字货币爱好者已经找到了其他方式来处理支付。

这不是印度政府第一次提议全面禁止本国的数字货币。2019年,由前财政部长(Finance Secretary)苏巴什·加尔格(Subhash Garg)领导的一个小组提出了类似的禁令。在其报告中,该小组建议对直接或间接接触数字货币的人应判处不少于一年的监禁。惯犯将因他们的罪行被判处最高五年的监禁。它还建议对罪犯处以其所获收益的三倍的罚款。

这项新拟议的禁令正值印度数字货币市场蓬勃发展之际。自银行禁令解除以来,印度交易所的交易量激增。WazirX是印度最重要的交易所之一,其交易量在3月份和四月份分别激增了400%和270%。在CoinSwitch这个很受欢迎的交易聚合网站上,随着交易量翻倍,用户数量也增加了158%。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

India’s proposed law may lead to lasting ban on digital currencies

India’s digital currencies industry faces an uncertain future following a recent proposed law that could lead to a permanent ban. The law, if passed, will make it illegal to hold, sell, issue or transfer digital currencies.

India’s Finance Ministry is behind the latest move, calling for inter-ministerial consultations on the proposed law. If the ministries agree on the draft law, they will pass it on to parliament for approval.

The proposed ban comes just three months since the Supreme Court ruled in favor of the digital currency industry. At the time, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) had issued a circular that restricted banks from serving digital currency firms. This had greatly affected the digital currency-to-fiat conversions and led to a drastic drop in trading volumes on most exchanges. The Supreme Court overturned this ban, giving the industry a new lease of life.

However, as the Economic Times reports, not everyone was happy with the decision. Citing a source at the Finance Ministry, the report claims that it was this decision that spurred the current proposals for a total ban.

It hasn’t been smooth sailing for digital currency firms even after the lifting of the ban, however. Since the court’s decision, the RBI has not given a definitive guide on dealing with digital currencies. Without any proper guidance on how to handle digital currency payments, banks have chosen to refrain from processing payments for the industry, the Economic Times reports. Digital currency enthusiasts have however found other means to process payments.

This isn’t the first time that the Indian government has proposed a blanket ban on digital currencies in the country. In 2019, a panel headed by former Finance Secretary Subhash Garg proposed a similar ban. In its report, the panel recommended a jail term of not less than one year for direct or indirect contact with digital currencies. Repeat offenders would get up to five years for their crimes. It also recommended a fine of up to three times the gains made by the offender.

The new proposed ban comes at a time when the Indian digital currency market is thriving. Since the lifting of the banking ban, the trading volume on Indian exchanges has spiked. On WazirX, one of the leading exchanges, trading volume surged by 400% in March and 270% in April. On CoinSwitch, a popular exchange aggregator, the user base went up by 158% as trading volume doubled.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.