爱沙尼亚吊销了500家数字货币公司的执照

欧洲对数字货币最友好的国家之一变了态度,吊销了500家公司的经营执照。继欧洲有史以来最大的洗钱丑闻后,爱沙尼亚当局试图整顿本国的金融服务业,因此,采取了严厉的措施。

自从丹麦当地Danske银行(Danske Bank)的一家分行被爆出涉嫌参与2260亿美元的洗钱丑闻以来,爱沙尼亚当局一直在打击金融公司。据彭博社报道,他们现在正将注意力从银行转向数字货币公司。

根据报道,爱沙尼亚已经吊销了500家数字货币公司的执照。这超过了所有获得执照的1400家数字货币公司的三分之一。这是该国试图确保罪犯不会转向非法交易和洗钱行业。

爱沙尼亚金融情报部门负责人马迪斯·雷曼德(Madis Reimand)认为此举是有必要的。他告诉彭博社,“这是整顿市场的第一步,我们只允许那些接受监管和强制措施的公司运营,从而让我们能够解决最紧迫的问题。”

他补充道,数字货币行业已经引起了爱沙尼亚监管机构的担忧。2019年,金融情报部门进行了56次监督检查,其中有36次涉及数字货币公司。在多起案件中,监管机构提到了涉嫌挪用客户资金或未经授权在国外提供金融服务的“几起案件”。

Reimand还透露,打击行动主要涉及未能在获得执照后六个月内在爱沙尼亚开展业务的公司。一些公司已经成为监管改革的受害者。

监管机构进一步提醒道,其余900多家加密公司中,有一半以上可能会失去执照。这是因为大多数公司还没有在爱沙尼亚建立业务,而且他们的经理也在国外。

爱沙尼亚是欧洲对数字货币最友好的国家之一。该国是最早为数字货币行业制定法规的国家之一。它友好的方式已经使得世界各地的许多交易所都在该国设立了办事处,最新设立的是印度的BuyUCoin。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Estonia strips 500 digital currency firms of licenses

One of Europe’s most digital currency-friendly nations has changed tune, stripping 500 firms of their operating licenses. Estonian authorities turned to the drastic measures as they attempt to clean up their financial services industry following Europe’s largest-ever money laundering scandal.

Ever since it emerged that a local branch of Denmark’s Danske Bank was heavily involved in a $226 billion money laundering scandal, Estonian authorities have been clamping down on financial firms. They are now turning their focus from banks to digital currency firms, Bloomberg reports.

According to the report, Estonia has stripped 500 digital currency firms of their licenses. This is over a third of all licensed digital currency firms which stand at 1,400. This is the country’s attempt to ensure that criminals don’t turn to the industry for illicit transactions and money laundering.

Madis Reimand, the head of Estonia’s Financial Intelligence Unit, believes that the move was necessary. He told Bloomberg, “This is a first step in tidying up the market, allowing us to take care of the most urgent issues by permitting operations only for companies that can be subjected to Estonian supervision and coercive measures.”

The digital currency industry has been the cause of concern for regulators in Estonia, he added. In 2019, the FIU conducted 56 supervisory inspections, with 36 being on digital currency companies. In most of the cases, the regulator was investigating embezzlement claims or allegations of providing financial services abroad without proper authorization.

Reimand also revealed that most of the casualties have been companies that failed to start operations within six months of obtaining a permit. Some of the companies have been victims of regulatory changes.

The regulator further cautioned that more than half of the remaining 900 licensed firms will most likely lose their permits. This is because most have not set up operations in Estonia and their managers are outside the country.

Estonia is one of Europe’s most digital currency-friendly nations. The country was among the first to formulate regulations for the digital currency industry. Its friendly approach has seen many exchanges from across the world set up shop in the country, the latest being India’s BuyUCoin.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.