美国司法部要求从OneCoin律师Mark Scott处没收3.93亿美元

美国检察官试图从马克·斯科特(Mark Scott)处没收3.93亿美元,这名律师被指控是维卡币(OneCoin)骗局同谋,负责为此数字货币骗局洗钱。在一封呈递至纽约南区法院的信中,检察官力主没收斯科特部分银行账户的钱款及特定财产和资产。

据报道,美国司法部申请了初步没收令,判决罚金为3.929亿美元,作为对这名律师判决的一部分。美国司法部在信中表示,斯科特的部分银行账户含有构成洗钱罪的财产。

该申请的部分内容指出,“政府要求没收斯科特部分银行账户的权益,这些银行账户构成了斯科特在审判中被判洗钱罪名成立所涉财产,以及可追溯到此类财产的某些特点财产和资产。”

2019年11月,斯科特因参与维卡币的4亿多美元洗钱行动而被定罪,现面临50年监禁。该判决定于2020年10月9日进行。

美国司法部还试图对斯科特执行定罪后禁止令,称在审判中提呈的证据证明,斯科特利用了他控制的空壳公司名下的银行账户,洗白了诈骗所得。据称,斯科特通过进行一系列复杂的交易转移了这些资金,以逃避侦查。目前,美国政府表示仅追回了斯科特洗白的4亿美元的一小部分。

这起涉案金额达40亿美元的维卡币骗局瓦解工作仍在继续,最近牵涉其中的是迪拜商人艾默·阿卜杜勒阿齐兹·萨尔曼(Amer Abdulaziz Salman)。CoinGeek最近的报道指出,萨尔曼被指控从该起骗局中获益后,澳大利亚赛马官员正在对萨尔曼的赛马公司展开调查。此外,《内城出版社(Inner City Press)》报道,萨尔曼正在英国接受调查,据报道,起诉书指控他从马克·斯科特那里收受了超过2.18亿美元,作为为骗局创始人茹雅·伊戈纳托娃(Ruja Ignatova)洗钱的酬劳。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

DOJ seeks $393M in forfeiture from OneCoin lawyer Mark Scott

U.S. prosecutors are seeking $393 million in forfeiture from Mark Scott, the alleged OneCoin co-conspirator who is accused of laundering the digital currency scam’s proceeds. In a letter to the New York Southern District Court, the prosecutors sought to forfeit some of Scott’s bank accounts as well as specific properties and assets.

The U.S. Department of Justice applied for a preliminary order of forfeiture in the amount of $392.9 million as part of the sentence against the lawyer, according to reports. In its letter, the DOJ claimed that some of Scott’s bank accounts constitute property involved in the money laundering crime.

Part of the filing stated, “The Government seeks to forfeit Scott’s interest in certain bank accounts, which constitute property involved in the money laundering offense Scott was convicted of at trial, and certain specific property and assets that are traceable to such property.”

Scott was convicted of laundering over $400 million for OneCoin in November 2019 and now faces 50 years in prison for his crime. His sentencing is scheduled for October 9, 2020.

The DOJ is further seeking a post-conviction restraining order against Scott, claiming that evidence presented at trial proved he had cleaned the proceeds of the scam through bank accounts in the name of shell companies that he controlled. Scott is alleged to have moved the funds in a complex series of transactions to evade detection. Currently, the U.S. government said it has been able to recover just a small portion of the $400 million he laundered.

The $4 billion OneCoin scam has continued to unravel, with the latest to be sucked in being Dubai-based businessman Amer Abdulaziz Salman. As CoinGeek reported recently, Salman’s horse racing company is under investigations from Australian racing officials after he was alleged to have benefitted from the scam. According to Inner City Press, Salman is also under investigations in the U.K., with court filings reportedly claiming he received over $218 million from Mark Scott to launder for Ruja Ignatova, the scam’s founder.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.