数字货币公司Longfin被裁定赔偿2.23亿美元

Longfin被指控为了在纳斯达克上市,作出虚假陈述来欺骗投资者。一家纽约法院对该公司作出缺席判决,裁定该公司必须向投资者偿还超过2.23亿美元。

纽约南区法院同意了首席原告穆罕默德·马里克(Mohammad Malik)提出的动议,即向该公司及其高管作出缺席判决。法庭规定7月24日为缺席判决申请的截止日期。由于被告未能对该判决提出反对,因此丹尼斯·科特(Denise Cote)法官对该公司及其高管作出了缺席判决。

丹尼斯·科特法官在判决中指出:“判决支持集体诉讼一方,裁定缺席被告方需承担个人和连带责任,赔偿金额为223,037,680美元,另外需支付自2018年4月6日起计算的判决前利息,以及实际偿还之日的欠款利息。”

Longfin所涉嫌的诈骗始于2017年,当时该公司在纳斯达克交易所举行了首次公开募股。为了在交易所上市,该公司向投资者发行了409,360股普通股。当时,公司宣称自己是首家依照《A+条例(Reg A+)》在纳斯达克上市的金融科技公司。该条例允许上市公司向合格投资者和非合格投资者筹集资金。

该公司在2017年收购了区块链解决方案供应商Ziddu.com后便以区块链作为主营业务。随着数字货币和区块链的炒作达到历史新高,其股价从发行时的5美元飙升至2018年初的142美元,涨幅超过2700%。

2018年4月,美国证券交易委员会(SEC)对Longfin展开调查,其股价随之下跌。该监管机构指控Longfin作出误导性和虚假声明来获得《A+条例》允许的募股资格。

文件称该公司于2018年11月关闭。但SEC没有停止追查,最终起诉成功并冻结了该公司超过2600万美元的资产。去年纽约法院还勒令Longfin支付680万美元的罚款。该公司首席执行官文卡塔·S·梅纳瓦利(Venkata S. Meenavalli)已同意支付40万美元的非法所得数额和罚款。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Digital currency pivot costs Longfin $223 million

A New York court has ruled that Longfin Corp. owes its investors over $223 million in a default judgment against the company. Longfin was accused of deceiving investors by issuing false statements regarding its listing on Nasdaq.

The Southern District of New York court granted the motion moved by the lead plaintiff Mohammad Malik for the entry of default judgment against the company and its executives. The court had set July 24 as the deadline for a request for entry of default judgment. Since the defendants had failed to oppose the judgment, Judge Denise Cote issued a default ruling against them.

In her ruling, Judge Cote stated, “Judgment is entered in favor of the class against the Defaulting Defendants, jointly and severally, in the amount of $223,037,680, plus prejudgment interest beginning on April 6, 2018 and post-judgment interest until the judgment is satisfied.”

Longfin’s alleged scam began in 2017 when the company conducted an initial public offering on the Nasdaq exchange. It issued 409,360 shares of its common stock to investors to get listed on the exchange. At the time, it claimed to be the first public-listed fintech firm under Reg A+ on Nasdaq. This regulation allows listed companies to raise funds from both accredited and non-accredited investors.

The company pivoted to blockchain in 2017 after it purchased Ziddu.com, a blockchain solutions provider. With digital currency and blockchain hype being at an all-time high, its stock price surged by over 2,700% from $5 during the offering to over $142 in early 2018.

Longfin’s house of cards began to crumble in April 2018 when the U.S. Securities and Exchanges Commission (SEC) launched an investigation into the company. The regulator accused Longfin of having used misleading and false statements to qualify for a Reg A+ offering.

The company shut down in November 2018, the filing claims. However, the SEC continued to pursue it, successfully suing to freeze over $26 million of the company’s assets. A New York court also ordered Longfin to pay $6.8 million in penalties last year. The CEO Venkata S. Meenavalli further agreed to pay $400,000 in disgorgement and penalties.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.