加州男子承认非法经营BTC自助取款机业务

一名加州男子已对涉嫌经营非法数字货币服务业务的三项联邦指控表示认罪。当局表示,其公司已处理了近2500万美元资金,其中大部分是犯罪活动赃款。

调查人员称,凯斯·穆罕默德(Kais Mohammed)曾在2014年12月至2019年11月期间,创建并运营一家名为“Herocoin”的非法数字货币公司。据称,这名36岁的男子帮其客户将BTC兑换成法币,并从中收取25%的服务费。

穆罕默德使用“Superman29”的网名,在线上平台推广业务。据当局透露,穆罕默德自称能够在南加州帮助客户购买和出售BTC。他经手的交易额高达25000美元。他会在公共场所与客户碰面并进行交易,但他从未询问资金来源或查验客户身份。在认罪时,他表示知悉部分资金是犯罪活动所得。

当局称,随着业务增长,他开始扩展到BTC自取提款机服务。他购买了多部自取提款机,安装在加州各地的购物中心和加油站。据称,他为这些提款机供应现金,并为BTC储户兑换现金。

美国司法部(Department of Justice)表示,穆罕默德故意不在金融犯罪执法网络(FinCEN)上进行业务注册。而且,穆罕默德没有制定一个有效的反洗钱计划,也没有为10000美元以上的兑换交易提交货币交易报告,但他承认自己其实已知晓这些都是他应该做的。

后来,FinCEN联系了穆罕默德,要求其注册公司,他也照做了。但是,他依然不遵守监管机构的多项规定。

司法部称,执法人员以卧底身份与穆罕默德进行过交易,多次购买过BTC,每笔交易都超过了14000美元。在一次交易中,一名卧底自称经营性贩运业务,需要将其非法所得“洗净”,穆罕默德就照做了。

这名来自加州奥兰治县的居民承认自己犯有一项无证经营汇款业务罪、一项未能维持有效的反洗钱计划罪和一项洗钱罪。预计听证会将在未来几周内进行。他面临的法定最高刑罚为30年监禁。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

California man pleads guilty to operating illegal BTC ATM

A Californian man has pleaded guilty to three counts of federal charges in connection with operating an illegal digital currency money services business. Authorities said the business processed close to $25 million, with much of it being the proceeds of criminal activities.

Kais Mohammed was the founder and operator of Herocoin, an illegal digital currency business that operated from December 2014 to November 2019, investigators said. The 36-year-old allegedly helped his users to convert BTC to fiat, charging a 25% commission for his service.

Mohammed operated under the moniker ‘Superman29’ on online platforms where he advertised his services. Authorities said he claimed he could assist his clients buy and sell BTC throughout Southern California, in transactions of up to $25,000. He would meet his clients in public places and conduct the transactions, and never inquired about the source of funds or required client identification. In his guilty plea, Mohammed admitted that he was aware some of the money was proceeds of criminal activities.

As his business grew, he expanded into BTC ATMs, authorities said. He bought and installed the ATMs in malls and gas stations across California. He allegedly exchanged the BTC that the clients deposited and supplied the machines with cash.

The U.S. Department of Justice said Mohammed intentionally failed to register his business with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). He also chose not to develop an effective anti-money laundering program or file currency transaction reports for exchanges above $10,000, which Mohammed admitted he was aware he had to.

FinCEN later reached out to Mohammed regarding the obligation to register his company, which he did. However, he continued to fail to comply with the regulations set out by the watchdog.

The DoJ said that law enforcement agents conducted business with Mohammed in undercover capacity. These included a number of BTC purchases, each over $14,000. In a separate incident, an undercover officer claimed to be operating a sex trafficking business and needed to launder his proceeds, which Mohammed did.

The Orange County, California resident pleaded guilty to one count of operating an unlicensed money transmitting business, one count of failure to maintain an effective AML program and one count of money laundering. He is expected to have his hearing in the coming weeks. He faces a statutory maximum sentence of 30 years in prison.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]