韩国驳回Bithumb投资者的数据泄露诉讼

据韩国相关报道,法院拒绝了一位投资者的诉讼请求。该投资者声称因加密货币交易所Bithumb的过失而导致其损失约400,000美元。

韩国联合通讯社率先报道,这位被称为A先生的投资者因其损失而将Bithumb告上法庭,他声称这些损失是由该交易所2017年的重大数据泄露事件造成的。

但是,由于A先生无法有力证明其损失是由该交易所的过失造成,因而高等法院法官拒绝受理该案件并驳回了诉讼请求。经裁决,Bithumb将无需赔偿A先生。

A先生表示,在2017年数据泄露事件发生之前,这些损失的韩元存放于该交易所。据称,黑客非法窃取了这些韩元并通过Bithumb交易所用于购买以太坊代币,后来又分四次将这些代币兑换成法定货币。

对Bithumb的指控只是投资者因2017年数据泄露事件导致损失而发起的最新一起诉讼。本月月初时,另外两位投资者分别提出的126,000美元与38,000美元的索赔请求亦被驳回,而第三位投资者仅获得5000美元的赔付。

这些消息将让其他因数据泄露而遭受损失的投资者受到打击,也会令在交易所中存放货币或数字货币的其他投资者保持警惕。

由于业内的欺诈与盗窃活动非常猖獗,投资者一直被敦促使用冷存储解决方案来保管他们的资金,并确保不在热钱包中留存任何资金,以免被诈骗者与窃贼轻松盗用。

对于A先生来说,目前看来401,000美元的损失已无法追回。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Bithumb investor data breach lawsuit dismissed in South Korea

An investor who claims to have lost some $400,000 as a result of the negligence of cryptocurrency exchange Bithumb was denied relief in court, according to reports emerging from South Korea.

First reported by Yonhap news agency, the investor, known as Mr. A, had taken Bithumb to court in connection with the losses, which he alleges were the result of a significant data breach at the exchange back in 2017.

However, a judge in the high court refused the case and dismissed liability, after Mr. A failed to sufficiently prove that the negligence of the exchange had caused his losses. Following the ruling, Bithumb will not be required to compensate Mr. A.

According to Mr. A, the losses arose from Korean won stored on the exchange prior to a data breach in 2017. Hackers allegedly gained unlawful access to the won and bought Ethereum tokens with it through the Bithumb exchange, before converting these back into fiat at four separate intervals.

The case against Bithumb was only the latest to have been raised by investors concerned about losses emerging after the 2017 data breach. Earlier this month, two of these claims were dismissed, for $126,000 and $38,000 respectively, while a third was awarded just $5,000 in partial settlement.

The news will be a blow to other investors who have suffered losses arising from the data breach, and a cautionary tale to anyone holding money or digital currency within live exchange accounts.

With fraud and theft rampant in the industry, investors are always urged to use cold storage solutions for holding their funds, and to ensure no funds are left in hot wallets where they can be easily misappropriated by fraudsters and thieves.

For Mr. A, the result appears to be a now non-recoverable loss of $401,000.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.