建议书及常见问题解答:请提升硬顶以迎接频繁的GB级区块

在2021年8月的第一周里BSV网络不断刷新区块记录:在8月6日和7日两天网络上一共诞生了3个1GB大小的区块。这不仅展现出了比特币如其设计本意可以进行大规模扩容,还彰显了BSV区块链具备赋能企业、承载大量用户和能够支持政府应用项目的能力。

这三个1GB区块都为挖出它们的矿工赚取了约5 BSV的交易费,除了每个区块的6.25BSV固定补贴外,挖出区块的矿工获得了超过11.25BSV的总区块奖励(比6.25高出80%)。交易费用在总区块奖励中的更大占比反映了一种趋势,这对于比特币挖矿行业和交易处理商如何在未来持续盈利至关重要。

随着用户对BSV主网容量需求的持续增长,BSV网络上算力占比较大的几个矿池已表示,他们打算将节点软件中限定区块大小的“硬顶”(hard cap)配置提升至2 GB。这一设定将在2021年8月13日星期五晚上9点(北京时间)激活。

比特币协会已向所有已知BSV池发出建议,将其区块硬顶(配置参数excessiveblocksize升至2GB,以顺利跟随BSV区块进度,避免被分叉这些矿池均给予了迅速的反馈,预计大多数(即使不是全部)矿池将按照协会的建议自己的节点硬顶提升至2GB

比特币协会现在还向所有运行BSV节点软件非矿工节点运商(交易所、应用及其它发出建议:请在2021813日星期五9点前(北京时间)将节点的区块硬顶(配置参数excessiveblocksize升至10GB

下面是我们对于一些常见问题的解答。如您有更多问题,请通过邮件联系我们:support@bitcoinsv.io

对于矿工

问题:我运行了BSV节点软件,并且是网络上的矿工,推荐的节点硬顶设置是什么?

BSV节点软件没有在代码层面限定的区块上限,因此在节点运营商启动节点之前,需要手动设置硬顶参数。此前大多数矿池选择使用了比特币协会推荐的1GB硬顶设置(参数值:1,000,000,000)。

而现在,比特币协会建议BSV网络上的所有矿工将节点软件上的excessiveblocksize(硬顶)配置参数提升到2 GB(参数值:2,000,000,000)。这将使您的节点能够接受来自其他矿工生产的大型区块,并确保您的挖矿节点运行正常。

要永久更新节点配置,请编辑bitcoin.conf文件,添加或修改blockmaxsize和excessiveblocksize。例如,要将excessiveblocksize(硬顶)设置为2 GB,则:

excessiveblocksize=2000000000

这些设置将在下次重新启动节点时生效。

您也可以使用setblockmaxsize和setexcessiveblock RPC调用直接更新相关节点的设置,而无需重新启动节点;但是之后仍需同步更新bitcoin.conf文件,否则下次节点重启时,新设置将失效。

问题:为何比特币协会建议我提高硬顶设置?

从短期来看,BSV网络已出现了对更大区块和更高吞吐量的显著需求。提高硬顶设置到建议的2 GB可确保您的节点能够接受网络上生成的较大块,持续追随最长链,防止自身被网络分叉出去。

而从长远来看,交易费成为矿工的主要收入来源是比特币迈向未来的关键一步。由于比特币每个区块的固定补贴约每四年减半一次,矿工必须通过赚取更多的交易费,以补偿区块奖励中固定补贴不断减半的收益缺失。而这只有能够承载更多数据的、可无限扩容的BSV网络才能实现这一点,与此同时BSV还能够保持较低的交易费以促进网络的真正使用需求。这就是中本聪对比特币的最初设计,推动矿业企业逐渐转变为交易处理商,这样他们才能持续保持盈利能力,这也是BSV实现“中本聪愿景”的路径。

问题:如果我不提升自己挖矿节点硬顶,会发生什么?

对于那些硬顶设置低于2 GB的矿工,当一个大于1GB的区块被挖出时,他们有可能会被分叉出去,因为他们的节点可能会认定这个大区块无效,因此将不能追随最长链。

问题:作为挖矿节点,如果我提高BSV节点的硬顶,那我的节点是否会尝试生成该配置参数大小的区块?

不会。在节点上提高顶硬(配置参数excessiveblocksize)设置并不意味着节点将尝试生成此大小的区块。这个值限定的是节点可以从其他矿工处接受的最大区块大小。

节点可以生成的最大区块是由软顶配置(配置参数blockmaxsize)确定的,矿工可自行决定是否更改此设置。提高软顶可以让矿工在挖矿时获得的潜在回报最大化。但比特币协会建议您,即使希望尝试生产大于1GB区块,也请不要在2021年8月13日之前调整此配置。

对于非矿工

问题:我运行了BSV节点软件,但并不是网络上的矿工,推荐的节点硬顶设置是什么?

如果您正在运行BSV节点软件但未进行挖矿,则您很可能已接受先前的建议将节点硬顶设置为2GB。但矿工未来将逐渐提升他们的软顶,因此比特币协会建议您现在就将硬顶提升至10 GB(参数值:10,000,000,000)。

问题:为何比特币协会建议非挖矿节点要将硬顶设置得比挖矿节点更高?

我们预计BSV网络的使用量将继续增长。为了满足更大容量的需求,矿工可以随时将其软顶设置提高到2GB以上(这是此前向非矿工推荐的硬顶设置)。而对于非矿工,现在就将硬顶提升至10GB可确保未来不论矿工生产多大的区块,您的节点都已提前做好了准备;在区块逐渐增大的过程中,您能够始终追随正确的链。

如果您不想将硬顶提高到10GB,则可以选择介于2GB和10GB之间的数值。但是您需要更加密切地监控矿工活动,如果矿工开始挖出大于您硬顶设置的区块,那你就需要再次提升自己的硬顶。这就是为什么我们建议您直接将硬顶设置为10GB,这样在您下一次必须提升硬顶之前,网络有足够的增长空间。

如果未来矿工准备开采大于10GB的区块,那么同样的,我们建议您届时将硬顶设置到比10GB更高的数值。

问题:作为非矿工节点运营商,我如何配置硬顶至10GB

要永久更新节点配置,请编辑bitcoin.conf文件,添加或修改blockmaxsize和excessiveblocksize。例如,要将excessiveblocksize(硬顶)设置为10GB,则:

excessiveblocksize=10000000000

这些设置将在下次重新启动节点时生效。

您也可以使用setblockmaxsize和setexcessiveblock RPC调用直接更新相关节点的设置,而无需重新启动节点;但是之后仍需同步更新bitcoin.conf文件,否则下次节点重启时,新设置将失效。

问题:比特币协会建议我何时完成对节点硬顶的配置更改?

比特币协会建议非挖矿节点运营商在2021年8月13日晚9点(北京时间)之前更新节点硬顶配置。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Advisory and FAQs: Raising the hard cap setting in Bitcoin SV Node software in anticipation of multi-gigabyte blocks

The first week of August 2021 has been a record-breaking one for the Bitcoin SV (BSV) network, with a succession of three 1 gigabyte (GB) blocks mined on August 6 and 7. This shows Bitcoin can scale as always intended and that BSV can power enterprise, high volume consumer and government applications.

All three of these 1 GB blocks earned the winning miner 5 BSV coins in transaction fees, in addition to the 6.25 fixed subsidy amount per block – for a total block reward of over 11.25 coins (an 80% increase above the 6.25 coins). The substantial proportion of transaction fees generated by the record blocks reflects a trend that is important for the Bitcoin mining and transaction processing sector to remain profitable in the future. 

As demand for capacity on the mainnet continues to grow, miners representing the majority of the current hash rate on the network have signalled that they intend to raise the block size ‘hard cap’ setting on their node to 2 GB, with this change to be actioned by Friday August 13, 2021 at 13:00 (UTC).

Bitcoin Association has advised all other known miners to raise their excessiveblocksize (hard cap) setting to 2 GB in order to follow the BSV chain and avoid being forked off the network; these other known miners responded quickly, and most (if not all) known miners are expected to lift their hard cap setting to 2 GB as recommended.

Bitcoin Association is also recommending that all non-miners running the Bitcoin SV node software (exchanges, applications and others) raise their excessiveblocksize (hard cap) setting to 10 GB, and that you take this action before Friday August 13, 2021 at 13:00 UTC.

Answers to the most frequently asked questions follow. If you have any further questions, please email support@bitcoinsv.io.

MINERS

Q: I run an instance of the Bitcoin SV Node software and am a miner on the network, what is the recommended hard cap setting for my node?

Bitcoin SV does not have a hardcoded block capsize. Each node operator is required to choose this limit before the node will start up. Most miners have chosen to use the values recommended by Bitcoin Association which is 1GB or 1,000,000,000.

Bitcoin Association is at this time recommending that all miners on the network raise the excessiveblocksize (hard cap) setting on their node software to 2 GB or 2,000,000,000. This will enable your node to accept these larger blocks from other miners and ensure that your mining node continues to operate on the network.

To permanently update your node with new settings, edit the bitcoin.conf file and add/change lines for blockmaxsize and excessiveblocksize. For example, to set the excessiveblocksize (hard cap) to 2 GB:

excessiveblocksize=2000000000

These settings will take effect the next time your node is restarted.

The relevant node settings can be updated directly without restarting the node using the setblockmaxsize and setexcessiveblock RPC calls; however the bitcoin.conf file must still be updated as otherwise the new settings will be lost when the node next restarts.

Q: Why does Bitcoin Association recommend that I raise that hard cap setting on my node?

In the short term, it is evident that there is demand for bigger blocks and higher data capacity than currently available on the Bitcoin SV network. Raising the hard cap setting to the recommended 2 GB ensures that your node will continue to follow the longest chain and accept the larger blocks being produced on the network; eliminating the risk of being forked from the network.

In the long term, this is a key step towards a future for Bitcoin in which transactions fees are the primary contributor to the viability of the network. With the fixed subsidy amount per block halved approximately every four years (in the block reward halving events), miners must earn more in transaction fees to compensate for the increasingly lower fixed subsidy portion of the block reward. This is only possible through scaling the network with bigger blocks that hold more transactions and data, all while maintaining low transaction fees to facilitate genuine utility. This is how Satoshi Nakamoto designed Bitcoin to remain profitable for miners as they gradually shift to become transaction processors, and this is the path BSV is taking to fulfill the “Satoshi Vision.”

Q: What will happen if I do not raise the hard cap setting on my mining Bitcoin SV node?

Miners who remain with a hard cap setting below 2 GB are likely to be forked off the network when a block larger than 1 GB is mined, as their node will consider bigger blocks invalid and therefore will no longer follow the longest chain.

Q: As a mining node operator, if I raise the hard cap setting on my Bitcoin SV node, will my node attempt to produce blocks of that size?

No, raising the excessiveblocksize or hard cap setting on your node does not mean that your node will attempt to produce blocks of this size, rather, this is the largest-sized block that your node will accept from another miner.

The maximum sized block that your node will attempt to produce is determined using the blockmaxsize or soft cap setting. There is no need to change this setting unless the mining pool wishes to; however, doing so will maximise the potential rewards the mining pool will receive when mining larger blocks. Bitcoin Association recommends that miners wishing to attempt to produce blocks larger than 1 GB do not adjust this limit until after August 13, 2021.

NON-MINERS

Q: I run an instance of the Bitcoin SV Node software but am not a miner on the network. What is the recommended hard cap setting for my node?

If you are running the Bitcoin SV Node software but are NOT mining, you have likely accepted a prior recommendation to set the hard cap setting on your node to 2,000,000,000 bytes. In preparation for anticipated future soft cap increases by miners, Bitcoin Association recommends increasing your hard cap to 10 GB or 10,000,000,000 bytes at this time.

Q: Why does Bitcoin Association recommend that non-mining nodes run a higher hard cap setting than on mining nodes?

We expect usage of the BSV network will continue to grow. To meet demand for more capacity, at any time, miners may continue increasing their soft cap settings to higher than 2GB (the previously recommended hard cap setting for non-miners). For non-miners, raising your hard cap limit now to 10GB ensures that your node is prepared for any future rises in block sizes produced by miners and that you will continue to follow the correct chain as block sizes grow.

If you do not wish to raise your hard cap to 10GB, you could choose any other number as long as it is equal or greater than 2 GB (2,000,000,000 bytes). However, you would need to monitor miner activity more closely to determine if you need to increase your settings again if miners begin mining blocks bigger than your hard cap setting. That is why we recommend 10GB as your hard cap setting, to allow significant room for growth before you need to again chain settings.

In the future, if miners ever prepare to mine blocks bigger than 10GB, we would advise you at such time to raise your hard cap setting to an even higher number.

Q: How do I update the configuration of my non-mining node to reflect the recommended new 10 GB hard cap setting?

To permanently update your node with new settings, edit the bitcoin.conf file and add/change lines for blockmaxsize and excessiveblocksize. For example, to set the excessiveblocksize (hard cap) to 10 GB:

excessiveblocksize=10000000000

 These settings will take effect the next time your node is restarted.

The relevant node settings can be updated directly without restarting the node using the setblockmaxsize and setexcessiveblock RPC calls; however, the bitcoin.conf file must still be updated as otherwise the new settings will be lost when the node next restarts.

Q: When does Bitcoin Association recommend that I make these changes to my non-mining node?

Bitcoin Association recommends that non-mining node operators update the appropriate settings on their node no later than 13:00 (UTC) on August 13, 2021.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]