处理638MB大小的区块推动了比特币SV成为世界货币的旅程——以及其他的一切成就

大交易区块是比特币系统——以BSV的形式——展示其在大数据方面优于其他区块链货币的方式。本周,在世界各地的BSV爱好者的支持下,BSV主网上处理了一个638MB的区块,这又刷新了记录。区块#678301已由TAAL处理(CSE:TAAL | FWB:9SQ1 | OTC: TAALF),TAAL用推文来纪念了这个时刻:

如今没有其他的区块链能够处理那么大的交易区块,其成本(交易费用)足以让企业和其他大型组织能够来大规模地使用它。BTC开发人员坚决抵制将网络容量提高到超过理论上每区块4MB的“区块权重”(占SegWit的比重)的要求,这导致BTC目前每笔交易的费用超过16美元。由于以太坊面临的扩容方面地挑战,ETH用户现在要承受每笔交易20美元或更多的“gas”费用(交易费用)。

尽管这个新的638MB的区块显著提升了整体区块大小的记录,但它由体积较大的文件组成,其数量更为适中——有2674个。BSV此前已经证明,它可以处理具有大量交易的区块:之前的记录中,在一个369MB的区块中(2020年5月16日)包含了超过130万笔个人交易,2020年5月12日,区块#634643在309MB的容量之下包含了超过110万笔交易。

最新记录的诞生是朝着BSV的最终目标所迈出的又一步,该目标是处理1TB或更多的常规交易区块,其中包含大量个人交易。比特币协议“Teranode”的实施会使人们发现它朝着这个目标迈出更大的一步,开发人员预计今年将在BSV网络上实施“Teranode”协议。

对于那些希望以这种方式使用BSV的人来说,BSV将永远发挥电子货币的作用,尤其是在互联网上的小额支付方面,它实现了比特币最初的承诺。但是,比特币系统的能力不止于此,它能够大规模处理并保护数据,与互联网协同工作,从而增强区块链的高级数据功能。

随着BTC和ETH的单价及交易需求在过去几个月里的上升,它们的网络变得更加拥挤——主要因为交易者在交易所上来回发送BTC和ETH。由于容量的限制,人们在无法在BTC或ETH上部署任何有用的商业应用——它们会遇到高额费用的问题。尽管大众传媒大肆炒作,但BTC实际上无法发挥作为世界电子现金系统的作用以供日常使用,并且ETH太贵了/太堵了,无法用于任何规模的分布式应用程序(DApps)、智能合约甚至代币。这一事实在喧嚣声中(被故意地)消失了,因为持有者瞄准了他们的资产所具备的投机性的市场价格,让重要的投资者想知道“价值”究竟从何而来。

压力测试获得通过

于本周创纪录的比特币SV区块是开发者在一项由社区驱动的压力测试中所取得的成果,这项测试旨在进一步突破BSV主网能够处理的最大容量以及处理能力的边界。来自全球BSV支持者的各种应用程序及服务,在短时间内通过网络发送或促成了价值3.7GB的交易额。在此过程中,nChain的BSV基础架构团队提供了一些技术支持。

稍等……我们上个月不是在讨论1GB和3.15GB的区块吗?是这样的,也不是这样的。那些较大的区块位于比特币扩容测试网络(STN)上,其目标是尽可能地扩大区块的大小。本周的记录发生于比特币主网上,这也就是人们所使用的可以用移动钱包进行小额交易进行支付的区块链,同时它也是可以在上面使用诸如Twetch、Relica、Streamanity和PowPing等社交网络的区块链。

扩容测试网络的存在使开发人员可以尝试新技术,并将其推向极限,而不必担心对现实世界的用户造成破坏。

比特币是如何变成这样的

比特币SV,或称BSV,代表着原始的比特币协议,其区块链可一直追溯到2009年1月中本聪(Satoshi Nakamoto)的创世(Genesis)区块。多年来,对协议规则的控制慢慢被一个由私人公司和企业利益支持的集中式开发团队接管,这些公司与比特币所期望的为每个人提供低费用、快速交易的愿景不吻合。

这些开发人员还更改了协议操作的几个核心功能和经济激励措施。它的交易处理器,或称作矿工,需要BTC单位价格的不断上涨来弥补其成本——BTC给矿工的“区块奖励”每四年减半(BSV也是如此),现在是6.25币每区块。由于每10分钟的数据区块最大消耗1到4MB,因此他们还必须依靠每笔交易费用的大幅度增加。支付10美元或更多的费用来进行一次BTC支付并不罕见,这使得BTC无法用于原始比特币白皮书中提到的“小额临时交易”。

2017年,当BTC Core的开发人员试图通过引入外部“支付层”和隔离见证(SegWit)交易格式更改来隐藏此问题时,他们改变了数字签名链,而这是比特币系统定义“币”(coin)的关键, 所以这些原始协议的支持者决定适可而止。

那年,这些项目正式分道扬镳,开发人员努力将比特币协议恢复其原始形式,具有处理(并保留可审计的证明)任何规模的交易区块的能力。在2018年,还存在着另一种意见的分歧(BCH和BSV之间),BSV继续并恢复了最初的比特币协议。

得益于BSV协议和应用程序开发人员的努力,比特币系统的最初承诺仍然存在,并且它将继续作为BSV而存在。对于每个人来说,BSV交易的成本仅为一美分的一小部分,而且该网络也有足够大的容量供企业级大数据项目使用。直到现在,人们才开始认识到比特币的真正用途(也就是可用于所有用途)。比特币(BSV)作为世界新货币,才仅仅处于开始阶段。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

638MB block advances Bitcoin SV’s journey to be world’s money—and everything else too

Big transaction blocks are how Bitcoin—in the form of BSV—demonstrates its utility over other blockchains for big data. This week, another record fell with a 638MB block processed on BSV’s mainnet, as a result of a test run and supported by BSV enthusiasts around the world. Block #678301 was processed by TAAL (CSE:TAAL | FWB:9SQ1 | OTC: TAALF), who marked the occasion with a tweet:

No other blockchain today is capable of processing transaction blocks that large, at a cost (in transaction fees) that makes it feasible for business and other large organizations’ use at scale. BTC developers have steadfastly resisted calls to increase that network’s capacity past a theoretical “block weight” (accounting for SegWit) of 4MB per block, resulting in BTC fees currently running over $16 per transaction. Due to the Ethereum network’s scaling challenges, ETH users are now enduring per-transaction “gas” fees of $20 or much more.

While this new 638MB block significantly increased the record for overall block size, it was comprised of a more modest number of larger-sized files—2,674. BSV has previously proven it can process blocks with a much larger number of transactions: the prior record 369MB block (May 16, 2020) contained over 1.3 million individual transactions, and block #634643 on May 12, 2020 contained over 1.1 million transactions in a 309MB block.

The latest record is another step towards BSV’s ultimate goal, which is to process regular transaction blocks of 1TB or more filled with large numbers of individual transactions. The “Teranode” implementation of the Bitcoin protocol, which developers anticipate testing this year on the BSV network, should see further and even bigger steps towards that goal.

BSV units will always function as electronic cash for those who wish to use it that way, especially for micropayments over the Internet, fulfilling Bitcoin’s original promise. But Bitcoin was always capable of much more, processing and securing data at a massive scale to work together with the Internet to power advanced blockchain data capabilities.

As both BTC and ETH unit price and trading demand have risen over the past months, their networks have become even more congested—mainly by traders sending BTC and ETH coins to and from exchanges. With their capacity limits, it’s virtually impossible to deploy any useful business application on BTC or ETH—without running into high fee problems. For all of their mass-media hype, BTC cannot actually function as the world’s electronic cash system for daily use, and ETH is too expensive/clogged to use for distributed apps (DApps), smart contracts and even tokens at any scale. That truth is (deliberately) lost in the noise, as bagholders point at their assets’ speculative market prices, leaving serious investors wondering where on earth that “value” could be coming from.

Stress test passed

This week’s record Bitcoin SV block was the result of a community-driven stress test, designed to further push the boundaries of much capacity the BSV main network could handle, and how well it could handle it. Various applications and services, with contributions from BSV supporters around the world, sent or contributed to 3.7GB worth transactions across the network over a short time. The BSV Infrastructure Team at nChain provided some technical support during the process.

Wait… weren’t we talking last month about 1GB and 3.15GB blocks? Yes and no. Those larger blocks were on the Bitcoin Scaling Test Network (STN), where the goal is to push block sizes as far as possible. This week’s record happened on the Bitcoin mainnet, or, the same blockchain people use to pay for small purchases with mobile wallets, and use social networks like Twetch, Relica, Streamanity and PowPing.

The Scaling Test Network exists so developers can try new techniques, and push it to its limits without fear of breaking it for real-world users.

How Bitcoin came to be like this

Bitcoin SV, or BSV, represents the original Bitcoin protocol with a blockchain reaching all the way back to Satoshi Nakamoto‘s Genesis block in January 2009. Over the years, control over the protocol’s rules were slowly taken over by a centralized group of developers backed by private companies and corporate interests that didn’t necessarily align with Bitcoin’s vision of low-fee, fast transactions for everyone.

Those developers also altered several functions central to the protocol’s operations and economic incentives. Its transaction processors, or miners, need the BTC unit price to constantly rise in order to cover their costs—the BTC “block reward” for miners halves every four years (as it also does with BSV), and now stands at 6.25 coins per block. With a crippled 1-4MB maximum for every 10-minute block, they also must rely on large per-transaction fee increases. It’s not unusual to pay $10 or more to make a single BTC payment, making BTC unusable for “small casual transactions” as the original Bitcoin white paper referenced.

When BTC Core developers tried to hide this problem in 2017 by introducing external “payment layers” and the Segregated Witness (SegWit) transaction format change that altered the chain of digital signatures which is key to Bitcoin’s definition of a “coin”, supporters of the original protocol decided enough was enough.

The projects formally parted ways that year, and developers worked to restore the Bitcoin protocol to its original form, with the ability to process (and retain auditable proof of) transaction blocks of any size. There was another split of views in 2018 (between BCH and BSV), with BSV has continued and restored the original Bitcoin protocol.

Thanks to the work of BSV protocol and application developers, Bitcoin’s original promise still exists, and continues as BSV. BSV transactions cost a small fraction of a U.S. cent for everyone, and the network has plenty of capacity available for Big Data enterprise-tier use as well. Only now are people beginning to understand what Bitcoin can really be used for (that is, everything). The world’s new money was just the beginning.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]