为什么隐身于数字货币后变得不再可能

数字货币的设计从来都不是用于非法活动的说法出现已有一段时间,尽管一些腐败份子违反了比特币的最初原则。由于监管监督和审查的加强,个体将越来越难避开法律的监督。多个例子已经说明区块链上的匿名性是一个神话,现在又有一个示例证实这一说法。

韩国一直以来对数字货币活动的态度都相对开发,前提是人们遵守一定的规则,韩国的执法官员日前捣破了另一起儿童色情活动,通过跟踪数字货币痕迹,确认了至少40名涉案人员。

韩国媒体联合通讯社报导,一项调查发现一家大型地下儿童色情业务,用户使用数字货币访问儿童强奸和剥削的视频。

随着取得数字货币钱包地址,警方突击搜查了韩国20家最大的交易所,将这些地址与个人连接。其结果证实,客户尽职调查 (KYC) 和其他身份认证要求正在发挥作用,并且它们将很快成为全球整个行业的强制性要求。

目前还不清楚一切是如何开始瓦解的,但这似乎与一个在2019年底被识破的,名为N号房网站调查的最新发现有关。

据称,这个儿童色情团伙是由韩国国民Cho Joo-bin经营,他的身份由一名理应是同伙挺身而出后被揭露的。同伙显然对他的参与感到内疚,当他的名字随后被泄露给媒体时,他自杀了。

然而,他的手机提供了表明证据这名男子与Cho有联系,但没有证明他与该网站或运营有任何直接关系。尽管如此,仍有数字货币活动被用来对交易所展开更大幅度的调查,其中大多数都乐于帮助执法部门结束此案。

随着对N号房和Cho(又称“博士”)的调查继续进行,一些令人惊讶的细节已经被发现,更多的逮捕行动正在进行中。除了已经确认参与活动的40多人外,警方还确定了约有26,000人向博士付款以获得他的资料。这些人现在应该极为担心,执法调查无疑将揭示他们的真实身份。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Why it’s no longer possible to hide behind digital currency curtains

It’s long been said that digital currency was never designed specifically to be used for illicit activity, even though some corrupt individuals violated Bitcoin’s original mantra. It has also been said that it will become increasingly difficult for these individuals to remain beyond law enforcement’s reach, thanks to increased regulatory oversight and scrutiny. There have already been a number of examples of how anonymity on the blockchain is a myth, and there is now another one to add to the list.

Law enforcement officials in South Korea, a country that has been more open to digital currency activity as long as people play by the rules, have busted another child porn operation and were able to identify at least 40 people involved by following their digital currency trails.

South Korean media outlet Yonhap News reports that an investigation uncovered a major underground child porn business, with users spending digital currency to access videos of child rape and exploitation.

With the digital currency wallet addresses in hand, police raided 20 of South Korea’s largest exchanges, linking those addresses to individuals. The result is proof that know-your-customer (KYC) and other identification requirements are working, and that they will be mandatory for the entire industry across the globe sooner rather than later. 

It isn’t totally clear how everything started to unravel, but it appears this is the latest in an ongoing investigation of a site tied to what is known as the Nth Room, which was busted in late 2019.

That child porn ring was allegedly run by South Korean national Cho Joo-bin, whose identity was uncovered after a supposed accomplice stepped forward. The accomplice apparently had felt guilty about his involvement and, when his name was subsequently leaked to the media, he committed suicide. 

However, his cell phone apparently provided evidence that tied the man to Cho, but didn’t prove he had any direct involvement with the site or the operation. Still, there was digital currency activity that was used to launch the larger investigation into the exchanges, most of which have been more than happy to help law enforcement bring the case to an end. 

As the investigation into the Nth Room and Cho, also known as “Doc,” has continued, some surprising details have been uncovered, and more arrests are certainly on their way. In addition to the 40-odd individuals who have already been identified as having been involved with the activity, police have been able to determine that there were around 26,000 people who had sent payments to Doc for his material. Those people should be extremely concerned now, with law enforcement investigations undoubtedly set to reveal their true identities. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.