俄罗斯终对Telegram解封

最终,俄罗斯政府解除了针对Telegram加密通讯平台的封锁。俄罗斯政府在解封时表示,Telegram一直在努力清除恐怖主义者与极端分子滥用该平台的行为。

俄罗斯联邦通信、信息技术和大众传媒监督局(Roskomnadzor)于6月18日宣布解封。此举标志着本就无效的封锁告终,因为俄罗斯人可以通过虚拟专用网络(VPN)使用该平台。

Roskomnadzor在其声明中肯定了Telegram创始人为“反击恐怖主义与极端主义”付出的努力。虽然该监管机构没有详细说明Telegram反击恐怖主义的具体方式,但其态度却与Pavel Durov近期的表态不谋而合。

创始人兼首席执行官Pavel Durov在其设于Telegram平台的个人频道中称,Telegram平台近年一直在努力打击恐怖主义。他透露,Telegram平台升级了侦测与清理极端主义宣传内容的方法。平台每月封堵的极端主义言论多达数万条。

2018年Roskomnadzor对Telegram平台实施了封锁,原因是Durov此前不准监管机构查看经过平台加密的秘密聊天内容。监管机构表示,相关聊天内容的用户是恐怖主义者。

封锁效力甚微,数百万俄罗斯人纷纷通过虚拟专用网络访问该平台。俄罗斯当地多家机构曾经透露,就连多位政府高官也在使用Telegram平台,对于封锁采取置若罔闻的态度。

此外,多个政府部门都曾经通过该平台发布关于新冠肺炎的消息。这导致联邦议会在今年五月份提议解除封锁。尽管通信与大众传媒部提出反对,但是最终仍然解除了封锁。

在两年的封锁期内,Telegram平台的俄罗斯用户人数从1000万人增加至3000万人。目前,该平台全球用户总数为4亿人,相比两年前翻了一倍。

看来,Telegram平台已经打赢了用户隐私保卫战。正如Durov在其帖子中所说,“打击恐怖主义和保障个人通信的隐私权利,两者并不冲突。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Russia finally lifts ban on Telegram

The Russian government has finally lifted the ban on encrypted messaging platform Telegram. While lifting the ban, the government claimed that Telegram has been working to stem out the use of its platform by terrorists and extremists.

The Federal Service for Supervision of Communications, Information Technology and Mass Media, better known as Roskomnadzor announced the lifting of the ban on June 18. In doing so, it brought to an end a ban that has proven to be ineffective, with Russians turning to VPNs to access the platform.

In its announcement, the Roskomnadzor praised Telegram founder’s efforts to “counter terrorism and extremism.” While the regulator didn’t go into details about how Telegram was fighting terrorism, it echoed similar sentiments expressed by Pavel Durov recently.

In a post on his Telegram channel, the founder and CEO Pavel Durov claimed that the platform has been fighting terrorism earnestly in recent years. Telegram had advanced its methods for detecting and removing extremist propaganda, he revealed. The platform was now stopping tens of thousands of extremist attempts every month.

The Roskomnadzor banned Telegram in 2018. This was after Durov refused to hand the regulator access to the platform’s encrypted secret chats. The regulator claimed that such chats were used by terrorists.

The ban has been quite ineffective, with millions of Russians turning to VPNs to access the platform. Local outlets in Russia have revealed in the past that even high-ranking officials in the government were using Telegram despite the ban.

Moreover, government departments used the platform to spread information regarding the coronavirus. This led the federal assembly to propose a lifting of the ban in May this year. Despite opposition from the Ministry of Communications and Mass Media, the ban has finally been lifted.

In the two years it was banned, Telegram’s user base in Russia grew from 10 million to 30 million. It now has 400 million users globally, double the number of users it had two years ago.

Telegram seems to have won the war and preserved its users’ privacy. As Durov stated in his post, “the fight against terrorism and the right to privacy of personal correspondence do not exclude each other.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.