菲律宾监管机构提出对云挖矿公司Mining City诈骗保持警惕

菲律宾证券监管机构针对一家区块奖励云挖矿公司发出公开警告,称该公司从事传销骗局。这家公司名为Mining City,其向客户承诺每日可获高达92美元收益,并以Bitcoin Vault支付。

菲律宾证券交易委员会(SEC)告诫公众不要投资Mining City,称该公司未向菲律宾注册提供服务。

该监管机构在新闻稿中指出,“Mining City未向菲律宾证券交易委员会注册,且在没有获得相应的许可和/或授权的情况下,向公众招揽、接受或获得投资/配售,或发出投资合同和发行其他形式的证券。”

证券交易委员会表示,该公司也未依照菲律宾中央银行发布的《虚拟货币交易指南》进行注册以提供其服务。该指南规定所有开展数字货币活动的实体均需取得注册证书。

证券交易委员会还称该公司可能是一个骗局。

“而且,Mining City采用的所谓计划清楚地显示这可能是一个庞氏骗局,即把新投资者手的资金作为‘虚假收益’支付给先前的投资者。”

Mining City是一家云挖矿公司,据报道,该公司把从投资者那里募集的资金用于区块奖励挖矿。该公司提供不同的计划,最基本的计划价格为300美元获得每秒3TH算力,白金计划则要求投资者支付12600美元,以获得每秒138TH算力。该公司官网表示,所有计划均运行1100天,从购买计划10日后开始计算,并以BTC进行支付。

Mining City是Prophetek Ltd.的下属公司,后者为格雷高利·罗戈夫斯基(Gregory Rogowski)所拥有和运营。证券交易委员会还列出了两名个别人士,安东尼·阿吉拉尔(Anthony Aguilar)和约翰·格雷(John Grey),两人一直密切参与该公司在菲律宾的营销活动。

Bitcoin Vault(BTCV)是由波兰华沙挖矿公司MineBest创建的数字货币,而Mining City与Bitcoin Vault密切相关。 Mining City的首席执行官罗戈夫斯基此前还曾担任过MineBest的营销副总裁。两家公司关系如此密切,也就不难理解Mining City为何以BTCV代币支付投资者了。

根据CoinMarketCap数据显示,BTCV自今年4月以来就已出现。其价格从4月份的23美元飙升至8月初的485美元,创下历史新高。随后即暴跌,上周略有回升,截至发稿时其价格为166美元。

证券交易委员会向推销Mining City的销售人员、经纪人、交易商和代理人发出警告,并表示他们将因其行为受到刑事追究。一旦罪成,他们将面临21年监禁、10万美元罚款或两者兼施。

根据Alexa网站的数据显示,Mining City在日本最为活跃,其网站有超过半数的访客均来自日本。其在韩国和越南等其他国家也成功吸引到用户。尽管该公司的业务遍布多个国家和地区,但未提供证据表明其已在上述任何司法管辖区注册。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Philippines regulator warns against Mining City cloud mining scam

The Philippines securities regulator has issued a public warning against a block reward cloud mining company that it claims is a pyramid scheme. Known as Mining City, it promises returns of up to $92 daily, paid out in Bitcoin Vault tokens.

The Philippines Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) warned the public against investing in Mining City, claiming that the company is not registered to offer its services in the Philippines.

“Mining City is not registered with the Commission and operates without the necessary license and/or authority to solicit, accept or take investments/placements from the public nor to issue investment contracts and other forms of securities,” the regulator stated in a press release.

The company is also not registered to offer its services under the Guidelines for Virtual Currency Exchanges issued by the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, the SEC said. These guidelines require all entities engaged in digital currency activities to obtain a Certificate of Registration.

The SEC further alleged that the company could be a scam.

“Moreover, the said scheme employed by Mining City clearly shows indication of a possible Ponzi Scheme where monies from new investors are used in paying ‘fake profits’ to prior investors.”

Mining City is a cloud mining company that reportedly pools together funds from its investors and channels it towards block reward mining. It offers different plans, with the most basic starting off at $300 for 3 TH/s and the Platinum plan costing an investor $12,600 for 138 TH/s. All plans run for 1,100 days and start after 10 days, the company’s website states. Payment is done in BTC.

Mining City is owned by Prophetek Ltd., a company owned and operated by Gregory Rogowski. The SEC also listed two other individuals, Anthony Aguilar and John Grey, who have been highly involved in the marketing activities for the firm in the Philippines.

The company is closely linked to Bitcoin Vault (BTCV), a digital currency created by Warsaw, Poland-based mining firm MineBest. Mining City’s CEO Rogowski also previously served as the vice president of marketing at MineBest. This close relationship sees Mining City pay out its investors in BTCV tokens.

As per CoinMarketCap data, BTCV has been around since April this year. Its price spiked from $23 in April to an all-time high of $485 in early August. It then plummeted before making a slight recovery in the past week to $166 at press time.

The SEC cautioned salesmen, brokers, dealers and agents promoting Mining City that they stand criminal prosecution for their actions. They face 21 years behind bars, a $100,000 penalty or both if convicted.

According to Alexa, Mining City is most active in Japan where over half of its website visitors are from. South Korea and Vietnam are the other countries it has managed to attract an audience. Despite the multi-state presence, the company hasn’t provided any evidence that it’s registered in any of these jurisdictions.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.