碧昂斯名下内衣品牌制造商遭Nefilim勒索软件攻击

一款新型恶意软件正在肆虐,已有一家斯里兰卡内衣制造商和一家澳大利亚航运巨头遭其攻击。这款名为Nefilim的勒索软件攻击了MAS控股集团,该司负责生产碧昂斯、维多利亚的秘密等多家内衣品牌产品。

5月5日,这些网络罪犯袭击了MAS控股集团,声称从这家斯里兰卡公司窃取了价值300多GB的数据。然后,他们在网上公布一些被盗文件索要赎金,威胁说如果不满足要求就公布其余数据。

据Sky News报道,被公布的文件包括一些以雇员工资单为主的审计资料。MAS控股集团拒绝对数据泄露事件表态,仅对媒体称:“MAS集团时刻关注安全状况,偶尔确有恶意分子试图侵入公司网络。但我们已采用符合行业标准的最佳实践来管理此类威胁。”

MAS控股集团是顶级内衣品牌的制造商,包括歌手碧昂丝的个人品牌Ivy Park和维秘。

Nefilim还对澳大利亚航运巨头Toll Group进行了攻击。和MAS控股集团的遭遇一样,犯罪分子勒索赎金并威胁将被盗数据公布。然而,Toll Group坚持自己的立场,并明确表示不会让勒索得逞。

“Toll Group不打算满足任何赎金要求,现阶段也没有证据表明数据是从我司网络流出。我们会与澳大利亚网络安全中心(ACSC)定期联系,了解事件进展。”该公司表示道。据当地媒体ITNews报道

这家由日本邮政拥有的航运公司不得不关闭部分面向客户的系统。鉴于在新冠肺炎COVID-19疫情期间快递运输的重要性迅速激增,这次攻击的时机非常糟糕。公司不得不依靠手动流程满足客户的需求。

该公司向媒体表示:“事情发生后,我们立即与受该问题影响的客户们取得联系,我们将继续与他们沟通尽量减少不便产生。”

据安全研究人员表示,通过窃取数据并威胁公布来勒索赎金的恶意软件事件近来持续上升。网络安全公司Emsisoft的高级安全专家布雷特·卡洛(Brett Callow)告诉Sky News,“在这种情况下,被盗数据正日益被武器化,有组织威胁要在暗网或竞争对手那里出售这些数据,或者将其用于身份盗窃,或用于对客户和业务合作伙伴进行网络钓鱼。

根据卡洛的说法,受攻击的公司处境不理想。即使最终支付了赎金,数据仍然会被武器化,在网络钓鱼中被利用。他表示:“鉴于个人用户和其他公司在这些情况都面临高风险,快速披露对于事态应对至关重要。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Nefilim ransomware attacks Beyoncé’s lingerie maker

A new malware is wreaking havoc, attacking a Sri Lankan lingerie maker and an Australian shipping giant. Known as Nefilim, the ransomware attacked MAS Holdings, the company that manufactures lingerie for Beyoncé, Victoria’s Secret and more.

The cybercriminals attacked MAS Holdings on May 5, claiming to steal over 300 GB worth of data from the Sri Lankan company. They then went on to publish some of the stolen files online and demanded ransom, threatening to publish the rest of the data if their demands aren’t met.

Some of the documents they published include audit documents featuring the employees’ payroll summaries, Sky News reports. MAS Holdings has refused to shed light on the data breach, stating, “MAS is constantly reviewing its security posture and threat actors do attempt to penetrate our network at times. We also adopt best practices in line with industry standards in managing such threats.”

MAS Holdings is the manufacturer of lingerie for top brands including singer Beyoncé’s Ivy Park and Victoria’s Secret.

Nefilim has also targeted Australian shipping giant Toll Group. Just as with MAS Holdings, the criminals demanded payment from the company, threatening to publish the stolen data if demands are not met. Toll Group has, however, stood its ground and made it clear that it will not be extorted.

“Toll has no intention of engaging with any ransom demands, and there is no evidence at this stage to suggest that any data has been extracted from our network. We are in regular contact with the Australian Cyber Security Centre (ACSC) on the progress of the incident,” the company stated, as reported by local outlet ITNews.

The shipping company, owned by the Japan Post, has had to shut down some of its customer-facing systems. This attack couldn’t have come at a worse time, given the rapid surge in importance of courier shipping amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The company has had to turn to manual processes to keep up with its clients’ needs.

“We have been in contact from the outset with various customers impacted by the issue and we continue to work with them to minimize any disruption,” the company told the outlet.

According to security researchers, ransomware that steals data and threatens to publish it online to extort payment has been rising in recent times.

Brett Callow a senior security expert at cyber security company Emsisoft told Sky News, “The stolen data is increasingly being weaponized in these cases with groups threatening to sell it on the dark web or to competitors, or to use it for identity theft, or to spear phish customers and business partners.”

According to Callow, a company in this type of situation has no good options available to it. Even if it ends up paying the ransom, the data could still be weaponized and used in spear phishing campaigns. “Speedy disclosure is absolutely critical in these cases given the risk they present to the both individuals and other companies,” he stated.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.