日本财务大臣反对降低数字货币税

日本财务大臣表示,他可能不愿意支持将数字货币收入类比于股票分红的新法律。

麻生太郎(Taro Aso)表示,他不愿意推动将数字货币相关收入的税率降至20%,而高税率使得日本许多家庭很难投资数字货币。

这是早些时候在众议院财务事务委员会的会议上,麻生太郎针对日本复兴会的一名主要成员提问所做的答复。

麻生太郎表示,这很难吸引日本的户主放弃流动现金储蓄,他说,降低税率没有任何好处:“在日本户主持有的1900万亿日元(约合176亿美元)的金融资产中,现在约有900万亿日元(约合84亿美元)以现金存款形式持有,这很不正常。”

根据目前的立法,各种数字货币收入被归为杂项收入进行征税,税率高达55%。相比之下,与股票相关的收入的税率统一为20%,一些支持数字货币的立法者就想努力实现税收待遇平等。

财政大臣不愿支持税收改革,这就削弱了数字货币领域许多人士一直在游说的修改法律的可能性。

麻生太郎在讲话中还谈到了法律中数字货币的定义。《支付服务法案》(Payment Services Act)在日本的出台,使得法律中所有对“虚拟货币”的引用均被替换为“加密资产”。这反映出日本改变数字货币业务定义的决心。

麻生太郎建议用日语中的“稳定币”来代替“加密资产”,“angō shisan”可能是一个更合适的替代词:“加密这个词听起来有点阴暗,所以我们为什么不用日语单词来表示稳定币呢?[……]这样听起来更稳定,对吧?”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Japan finance minister voices opposition to lowering digital currency tax

The Japanese finance minister has said he may not be willing to support new legislation which is set to treat digital currency income like stock dividends.

Taro Aso said he would be unwilling to push for taxes on digital currency-related income to be reduced to 20%, citing reasons of a lack of accessibility to digital currency investments for many households in the country.

The remarks came during a meeting of the House of Councillors Committee on Financial Affairs earlier today, in response to a question from a leading member of the Japan Restoration Association.

Suggesting it would be difficult to tempt householders away from liquid cash savings in the country, Aso said there was no benefit in reducing the tax rate: “Out of 1900 trillion yen [17.6 billion USD] financial assets held by households in Japan, around 900 trillion yen [8.4 billion USD] is now being held as cash deposits and that is abnormal.”

Under current legislation, various types of digital currency income are taxed as miscellaneous income, attracting a rate of as much of 55%. This compares to a flat rate of 20% for income related to stocks, with some legislators keen to equalize the tax treatment.

The reluctance of the finance minister to support the tax changes undermines the prospect of a change in the law, which many in the digital currency sector have been lobbying for.

In his remarks, Aso also spoke about the definition of digital currency in law. The introduction of the Payment Services Act in Japan has seen all references in law to ‘virtual currency’ replaced by ‘crypto asset’, reflecting the decision to change how digital currency business is defined in the country.

In place of “crypto asset”, Aso suggested the Japanese word for ‘stablecoin’, angō shisan, might be a more suitable alternative: “The word ‘crypto’ sounds a bit shady so why don’t we use the Japanese word for stablecoin? […] Sounds more stable right?”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.