富达大量增持Hut 8股份

最近有消息称,总部位于伦敦的大型资产管理公司富达国际(Fidelity International)持有上市区块奖励矿业集团Hut 8 Mining Corp的大量股权。

近期,Hut 8以每单位1.45加元的价格公开发行股票,共向投资者出售了570万单位,募得830万美元资金。富达在上周向加拿大安大略省证券委员会(OSC)提交的替代性月度报告(AMR)中披露,公司在2020年6月23日隔夜市场发售中购买了410多万“单位”的Hut 8。富达的投资额约占Hut 8融资总额的四分之三。

每单位包含1份普通股和1份普通股认股权证。普通股认股权证的有效期至2021年12月25日,其行权价为1.80加元每股。

此次购买使得富达现在持有8,396,138股普通股和2,054,956股普通股认股权证。这些共计10,451,094股的普通股约占Hut 8在多伦多出售的该类别流通股的10.58%。这是富达此前持有的区块奖励矿工股票份额的两倍。

富达一直以来都在默默支持区块奖励挖矿。据,该公司自2014年以来就开始开采BTC数字货币。AMR报告指出,此次购买符合常规业务流程,仅出于投资目的。

操纵价格和FOMO推高BTC价格的风光日子一去不复返,因此规模较大的公司能够在收获可观利润后退场。机构投资者不能一直对市场的萧条状况和主流BTC采用率较低视而不见。

像Hut8这样的区块奖励矿工正在涌入过度饱和的市场,寄希望于这个无法扩容且不实用的代币能够奇迹般的涨价。我之前曾把区块奖励矿工比作扑克牌玩家,他们寄希望于能在最后一轮发牌时拿到那张幸运牌,最终成为黑马,获得丰厚回报。

如今,这个行业还不如赌博,因为它依赖的不是胜算和概率,而是老天保佑。这种策略更像一个让那些紧握失败的商业模式不放手的团队最终走向破产的公式。

富达管理的资产超过4799亿美元,而富达在未经验证的区块奖励采矿业中过度投资,这终将让这家公司感到悔恨与失望,还可能让一些员工失去工作。公司会生存下去。当回顾过去,分析失败的原因时,富达的领导者会发现,公司错失了支持唯一能够被企业和主流采用的公有链项目的机会,即比特币SV

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Fidelity holds bigger stake in Hut 8 than previously known

Fidelity International, the London-based giant asset management company, is recently revealed to hold a significant ownership stake in the publicly traded block reward mining group, Hut 8 Mining Corp.

Hut 8 recently raised $8.3 million by selling 5.7 million “units” to investors at C$1.45 apiece. In an alternative monthly reporting (AMR) filing with the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) last week, Fidelity disclosed it had purchased slightly over 4.1 million “units” of Hut 8 during that June 23, 2020, overnight market offering. Its investment comprised roughly three-quarters of the total amount raised by Hut 8. 

The “units” comprise one common share and one common share purchase warrant. The share purchase warrant has an exercise price of $1.80 per share until December 25, 2021.

Because of the purchase, Fidelity now holds 8,396,138 total common shares and 2,054,956 common share purchase warrants. These 10,451,094 common shares combined represent approximately 10.58% of the outstanding shares of that class for the Toronto-based Hut 8. It doubles the amount of shares Fidelity previously held in the block reward miner. 

Fidelity has been a quiet but long-time supporter of block reward mining. The firm is rumored to have mined the BTC digital currency since 2014. The AMR notes that the purchase was for investment purposes only in accordance with the ordinary course of business. 

Gone are the good old days of price manipulation and FOMO driving up BTC price, thus enabling bigger firms to exit with a tidy profit. Institutional investors cannot continue to turn a blind eye to stagnant market conditions and low en masse mainstream BTC adoption. 

Block reward miners like Hut 8 are piling hash into an over-saturated market, hoping a nonscaling zero utility token magically goes up in price. Previously I likened block reward miners to poker players hoping to get that lucky card dealt on the river that wins them a massive pot in a come from behind victory. 

The sector is now worse than gambling because it depends on divine intervention to work instead of odds and probability. The strategy is most likely a formula for bankruptcy by teams too committed to their failed business model.

With over $479.9 billion in assets under management, Fidelity’s over-investment in the non-validated block reward mining sector will one day leave them with regrets and disappointment and might cost a few jobs. The company will survive. As it looks back retrospectively analyzing the failure, its leaders will discover it missed an opportunity to support the only public blockchain project capable of enterprise and mainstream adoption i.e. Bitcoin SV

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.