美国法院批准SEC紧急冻结前参议员的首次代币发行的资产

美国一家法院支持美国证券交易委员会(SEC)冻结属于首次代币发行的资产。被称为Meta 1代币的项目,承诺客户在一年内可获得超过200000%的收益,这一项目的宣传工作是由一名前美国州参议员领导的。

美国证券交易委员会追踪 Meta 1 代币已经有几个月了。今年3月,监管机构在德克萨斯州对该项目提起诉讼,指控该项目的运营者违反了反欺诈法和证券登记规定。根据Finance Magnates的一份报告显示,如今,美国证券交易委员会终于获准冻结该公司的资产。

据CoinGeek报道,Meta 1 代币是一个首次代币发行骗局,该骗局在当局干预之前,成功地从不知情的投资者那里筹集了430多万美元。该公司由妮可·鲍德勒(Nicole Bowdler)和罗伯特·邓拉普(Robert Dunlap)于2018年4月创立。邓拉普是构架师,他负责处理公司的技术问题。另一方面,鲍德勒担任“受托人和艺术品收购以及业务发展取证总监”。

Meta 1 最初声称它的代币是由价值10亿美元的艺术收藏品所支持的。在其营销材料中,它声称其中一些作品是“由毕加索和梵高等大师级艺术家对人类生命的最伟大的表达”。该公司还声称,这些代币还由价值20亿美元的黄金支持。

首次代币发行还邀请了前华盛顿州参议员戴夫·施密特(Dave Schmidt)对此项目进行宣传。该项目进一步向投资者承诺了荒谬的收益,声称其代币将在两年内从首次代币发行期间的22.22美元零售价格飙升至5万美元。这将代表着荒谬的224923%的投资收益率。

这位前州参议员的参与以及该项目对财富的承诺,吸引了来自40个州的500多名投资者。根据一些报道,首次代币发行可能已经筹集了高达900万美元。

2011年,施密特被指控他将他的一大笔竞选资金用于个人开销。这位前参议员否认了这些指控,但后来不得不支付了1万美元的罚款。

鲍德勒认为自己是“化身来帮助人类的地球天使”,并声称自己拥有神秘的力量,甚至还开办了一所心理学学校。在她的一次授课中,她说亚伯拉罕·林肯(Abraham Lincoln)已经向她透露了全球经济在未来会发生什么。据称,林肯向她展示了防止经济衰退的最佳方式就是投资 Meta 1 代币。

截至发稿时,该骗局仍在社交媒体渠道上宣传其产品,尽管德克萨斯州地方法院法官罗伯特·皮特曼(Robert Pitman)明确下令禁止此类活动。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Court approves SEC emergency assets freeze on ex-senator’s ICO

A U.S. court has sided with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in its quest to freeze assets belonging to an initial coin offering (ICO). Known as Meta 1 Coin, the project promised over 200,000% returns in just one year, with its publicity being led by a former U.S. state senator.

The SEC has been after Meta 1 Coin for a few months now. In March, the regulator filed a complaint in Texas against the project, accusing the operators of violating anti-fraud and securities registration provisions. Now, the SEC has finally received the go-ahead to freeze the company’s assets, according to a report by Finance Magnates.

As CoinGeek reported, Meta 1 Coin is a scam ICO that managed to raise over $4.3 million from unsuspecting investors before the authorities intervened. The company was founded in April 2018 by Nicole Bowdler and Robert Dunlap. Dunlap was the architect, dealing with the technical aspects of the firm. Bowdler, on the other hand, served as the “Trustee and Art Acquisitions & Forensics Director of Business Development.”

Meta 1 initially claimed that its tokens were backed by a $1 billion art collection. On its marketing materials, it purported that some of the pieces were “humanity’s greatest expressions of life, by master artists such as Picasso and Van Gogh.” The company also claimed that the tokens were backed by $2 billion worth of gold. 

The ICO also brought on former Washington state Senator Dave Schmidt for publicity. It further promised its investors ludicrous returns, claiming that its token would spike from the $22.22 it retailed for during the ICO to $50,000 within two years. This would represent a preposterous 224,923% return on investment.

The involvement of a former state senator and the promises of riches attracted over 500 investors from 40 states. According to some reports, the ICO may have raised as much as $9 million.

In 2011, Schmidt was alleged to have used a chunk of his campaign funds for personal expenses. The former senator denied the charges, but later had to pay a $10,000 penalty.

Bowdler considered herself an “Earth Angel incarnated to help humanity,” and claimed to have mystic powers and even ran an online school for psychics. In one of her shows, she said that Abraham Lincoln had revealed to her what would happen to the global economy in the future. Lincoln purportedly showed her that the best way to hedge against the downfall was investing in the Meta 1 tokens.

At press time, the scam is still advertising its products on its social media channels, despite an explicit order by Judge Robert Pitman of the Texas District Court banning such activities.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.