: Dr. Craig Wright and Peter McCormack

Wright诉McCormack案最终于2022年5月23日开庭:到目前为止此案件的最新进展

在经历Peter McCormack的多次拖延和几乎认罪之后,Wright诉McCormack案最终将于5月23日周一开庭。在这场为期两天的庭审中,双方将就Peter McCormack的诽谤罪名是否成立展开辩论,此前Peter McCormack在社交媒体上发表帖子质疑Wright博士是否是比特币发明者中本聪本人。

虽然此案件是关于Peter McCormack的推文是否对Wright博士进行了诽谤,但在实际庭审中讨论的问题相对有限。过去两年,在经历了一系列辩护失败和放弃辩护后,Peter McCormack现在只能为自己辩护道,尽管他的推文内容存在虚假,但它们并没有对Wright博士造成严重伤害。

此案件发展到这一步经历了漫长而又曲折的历程

这还要从Peter McCormack发布的一系列推文说起——一些推文是他对其他用户的回复,而另一些推文是他单独发布的,但这些推文都表达了同一信息:即Craig Wright博士是个骗子,而不是中本聪本人。McCormack的有些推文甚至公开邀请Wright博士去起诉他,询问自己是否会因此成为接下来第一个被他告上法庭的人。

“Craig Wright不是中本聪本人【原文如此】!”他在一条已被删除的推文中说:“我什么时候会被起诉?”

McCormack在2019年4月17日得到了他的答复,当时Wright博士就该推文和其他类似推文对相关博主在法院提出上诉,控告他们犯有诽谤罪。除了臭名昭著的稳定币Tether承诺为McCormack的辩护提供精神和经济上的支持外,该诉讼状似乎无济于事,只是让双方在英国法院对立。

自此以后的三年多时间里,McCormack的态度发生了极大的转变。先前,他曾公开表示自己希望与Wright博士对簿公堂,为自己发表的推文中的言论负责,但此后完全不同的是,McCormack一直在尽力躲避他声称想要的审判

在他最初的辩护中,McCormack称Wright博士上诉是“出于自己的自私,滥用了司法程序”,并表示如果Wright博士想证明他本人是中本聪,那就太容易了——他只需转移早期的比特币或用中本聪密钥签署一条信息。这始终是在转移注意力:Wright博士明确表示,他无意使用所谓的中本聪密钥来验证自己的身份,因为密钥与所有权无关,比特币与身份无关。Wright博士一直认为,解决此类纠纷的最佳场所是法院。

无论如何,McCormack坚持认为,验证Wright博士是否为中本聪本人的方法非常简单。

然而,仅仅几个月后,McCormack的恫吓就被证明是在虚张声势。在提交证据的前夕,当双方都应该开始交换所有相关证据时,这位博主在法庭严格的、基于规则的框架下似乎已经失去了挑战Wright博士的兴趣。他提出动议,要求法院推迟展示证据的时间,以便法院可以听到他要求完全驳回诉讼的请求。McCormack(和Wright博士)如此渴望公之于众的证据对于McCormack来说显然并不那么令人垂涎。

一周后,这一请求被英国高等法院驳回。Dagnall大法官在拒绝McCormack的申请时表示,这样的延迟将使证据开示时间接近庭审日期(当时庭审日期定于2021年5月4日),这将是“不令人满意的”并且是“违背正义”的。此外,McCormack被勒令支付18,500英镑用于支付Wright博士与申请失败相关的费用。McCormack的驳回申请在2020年11月被审理,但这是在证据开示之后进行的。

证据开示如期进行,一旦双方都看到了公开的证据,McCormack急于躲避它的原因很快就变得显而易见了。证据开示几周后,CoinGeek得知Tether取消了对McCormack的支持,显然他们甚至不愿意再等待几周,来看看McCormack的Hail Mary试图将案件驳回是否会得到支持(McCormack证实Wright博士在一个月后已经提交了能证明他本人是中本聪的大量证据)。Tether的总法律顾问Stuart Hoegner最初否认了这一消息,但在听证会前几天,当McCormack的辩护律师通知Wright博士的辩护律师他们不再打算为这一指控辩护时,这一消息得到了证实。

结果,Wright博士提出了即决判决申请,鉴于McCormack决定放弃辩护,这本可以让他处于优势地位而结束审判。然而,由于文书出错,该申请于2020年11月被拒绝:法官批准了Wright博士的请求,将开庭时间提前至2021年2月16日,期望届时可以更正并重新审理即决判决申请.

然而,在2月份之前,McCormack试图在最后一刻恢复为自己辩护的权利。引人注目的是,McCormack证实他正在撤回他最重要的辩护言论:他承认自己的推文是虚假的(如果可以证明的话,这将完全证实Wright博士的说法),不再声称自己的言论是为了公共利益,不再辩称Wright博士的上诉是在滥用司法程序。相反,他会以所谓的诽谤推文虽然不真实,但并未对Wright博士造成严重伤害这一唯一理由为自己辩护。该审判最终被重新定于2021年9月开庭。

然而,McCormack为了恢复自己在后期的辩护权利,他试图将超过1,000页的文件作为证据,这些文件主要由第三方制作的其他已发布的信息组成,据称这些已发布的信息涉及的内容与McCormack所面临指控的推文中的内容相同。Wright博士的律师辩称,McCormack除了在为自己放弃事实辩护这件事中出尔反尔外,他还逃避了一项既定的法律规则——这项法律是在Dingle诉Associated Newspapers案中确立的——即被指控犯有诽谤罪的被告不得借助其他第三方发布的信息来减轻他们自己发布的信息所具有的冒犯性。

法院同意Wright博士的论点,并在拒绝McCormack上诉许可后,命令McCormack向Wright博士额外支付与辩护失败和放弃辩护相关的9万英镑费用,然后恢复他去年11月的辩护。这些费用是基于之前判决的18,500英镑之上的,法官认识到这些费用并不能说明一切,同时命令初审法官来判决进一步的费用。

McCormack仍在继续逃避法庭:今年2月,英国上诉法院驳回了McCormack最后的上诉希望,甚至法院也明确表示,是时候让他面对现实了:

“这场诉讼案旷日持久,并且审判日期已经推迟了好几次。给予【上诉许可】的后果将是再次推迟审判日期。剩下的问题都是相对具体的,其中包括意义、伤害的严重性和(如果原告人在这些方面胜诉的话)数量。”

现在,审判最终将在2022年5月23日继续进行。然而,这并没有阻止McCormack拖延行动。在未能支付上述9万英镑后,法院命令McCormack前往伦敦,详细说明他的经济状况。McCormack是在最后一刻支付这笔账单的,避免了任何此类统计。这件事情本身就很有趣,因为McCormack一边似乎在抱怨Wright博士的诉讼使他破产,而另一边却在购买昂贵的汽车、足球俱乐部并进行欺诈性贷款

在审判前夕,所有这一切都会有结论,我们最终将看到Wright博士的诽谤案在法庭上得到解决,但其能够解决的范围非常有限。人们没有机会看到能够证明Wright博士就是中本聪本人的证据,虽然这些证据被多次谈论到。其中一些证据在去年的Kleiman诉Wright案中浮出水面,McCormack已经设法通过放弃自己的几乎所有辩护来设想一种根本不可能发生的情况,即如果他能以某种方式辩称他现在承认自己发布的推文是不真实的,但推文并没有严重损害Wright博士的声誉,那么他仍然具有在付出高昂代价后获得胜利的希望。

此次审判于2022年5月23日上午开庭。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

: Dr. Craig Wright and Peter McCormack

Wright v McCormack finally begins next week: The story so far

After multiple delays and near-capitulations by Peter McCormack, the Wright v McCormack trial will finally begin on Monday May 23. In a trial set for two days, parties will present their arguments over whether Peter McCormack is liable for defamation with regard to social media posts he made about Dr. Wright’s status as Bitcoin inventor Satoshi Nakamoto.

Though the case is about whether Peter McCormack’s tweets defamed Dr. Wright, the actual questions up for discussion at trial are relatively limited. Following a series of failed and abandoned defenses over the past two years, all McCormack has left in his defense is to argue that though his Tweets were indeed untrue, they did not cause serious harm to Dr. Wright.

Getting to this point has been a long and winding road.

It started with a series of tweets—some in response to other users and some made independently, but all with the same overall message: Dr. Craig Wright is a fraud and is not Satoshi Nakamoto. Some were even open invitations to be sued by Dr. Wright, asking if he (McCormack) would get to be first in line to be pulled into court.

“Craig Wright is not Satohis [sic]!” he said in a since-deleted tweet, “When do I get sued?”

McCormack got his answer on April 17, 2019, when Dr. Wright filed a claim for defamation against the blogger over that tweet and others like it. Other than infamous stablecoin Tether pledging to support McCormack (morally and financially) in his defense, the filing appeared to do nothing but set both parties on a collision course in the English courts.

In the three-plus years since, McCormack’s tone has changed considerably. Quite distinct from the man who said publicly that he was eager to stand by his publications opposite Dr. Wright in court, McCormack has been doing everything he can to avoid the trial he claimed to want.

In his initial defense, McCormack called Dr. Wright’s suit a “cynical abuse of the court process” and said that if Dr. Wright wanted to prove he is Satoshi, it would only be too easy—simply transfer early Bitcoin or sign a message with the Satoshi keys. This was always a red herring: Dr. Wright has been clear that he has no intention of using the so-called Satoshi keys to validate his identity that keys have nothing to do with ownership and Bitcoin has nothing to do with identity. Dr. Wright has always maintained that the best venue for disputes of this kind is in the courts.

Regardless, McCormack maintained that proof that Dr. Wright is Satoshi would be trivially simple.

However, McCormack’s bluster proved hollow mere months into the case. On the eve of discovery, when both parties were due to begin exchanging all of their relevant evidence, the blogger seemed to lose his appetite for challenging Dr. Wright within the rigorous, rules-based boundaries of the courts. He filed a motion requesting that the court delay discovery so that his request to have the lawsuit dismissed entirely could be heard. The evidence which McCormack (and Dr. Wright) had been so eager to have made public apparently didn’t look so appetizing to McCormack.

The attempt was rejected by the English High Court a week later. Master Dagnall, in rejecting McCormack’s application, said that such a delay would push discovery so close to the date of trial (then scheduled for May 4, 2021) that it would be ‘unsatisfactory’ and ‘not in the interests of justice’. Additionally, McCormack was ordered to pay £18,500 towards Dr. Wright’s costs associated with the failed application. McCormack’s strike-out application would be heard, but after discovery, in November 2020.

Discovery went ahead as scheduled, and once both parties had seen the evidence on the table it quickly became obvious why McCormack was eager to avoid it. Weeks after discovery, CoinGeek learned that Tether pulled its support for McCormack, apparently unwilling even to wait a matter of weeks to see if McCormack’s Hail Mary attempt to have the case thrown out would pay off (McCormack confirmed that Dr. Wright had submitted a ‘crazy’ amount of evidence that he is Satoshi a month later). The news was initially denied by Tether’s general counsel Stuart Hoegner, but was confirmed days before the hearing when counsel for McCormack informed Dr. Wright’s lawyers that they no longer intended to defend the claim.

As a result, Dr. Wright filed an application for summary judgment, which would have resolved the trial in his favor in light of McCormack’s decision to abandon his defense. However, the application was denied in November 2020 due to a paperwork error: the judge granted a request by Dr. Wright to expedite the trial to February 16, 2021, with the expectation that the summary judgment application could be corrected and re-heard then.

Before February, however, McCormack attempted to revive his defense at the eleventh hour. Tellingly, McCormack confirmed that he was withdrawing the most significant of his defenses: he was no longer arguing that his tweets were true (which would have provided a complete defense to Dr. Wright’s claim, if provable), no longer claiming that his statements were in the public interest and no longer arguing that the claim amounted to abuse of process. Instead, he would defend the claim on the sole basis that the allegedly defamatory tweets, though untrue, did not cause serious harm to Dr. Wright. The trial was ultimately re-set for September 2021.

However, as a part of the late resurrection of McCormack’s defense, he sought to introduce over 1,000 pages of documents into evidence which chiefly comprised of other publications made by third parties which purportedly contained the same allegations made by McCormack. Counsel for Dr. Wright argued that as well as amounting to a smuggling in of his already-abandoned truth defense, it also circumvented an established legal rule—established in Dingle v Associated Newspapers—that a defendant to defamation may not rely on other third-party publications to mitigate the offensive nature of their own publication.

The court agreed with Dr. Wright’s argument and, after denying McCormack permission to appeal, ordered that McCormack pay Dr. Wright an additional £90k in costs relating to the failed attempt and abandonment and then revival of his defense from the previous November. This was on top of the £18.5k earlier ordered, and the Judge recognized that these costs didn’t account for everything while leaving further costs orders to the trial judge.

Attempts to avoid court continued: this February, the U.K. Court of Appeal rejected McCormack’s last hope of appeal, with even the Court making clear that it is finally time for the blogger to face the music:

“This litigation has already been protracted, and several trial dates have already been lost. The effect of granting [permission to appeal] would be to lose the trial date once again. The remaining issues are relatively narrow, being meaning, serious harm and (if the claimant succeeds on these points quantum.)”

The trial, now, will definitively go ahead on May 23, 2022. This hasn’t stopped McCormack from dragging his feet, however. After failing to pay the aforementioned £90k, the court ordered McCormack down to London to give a full account of his financial means. The bill was paid at the last minute, pre-empting any such accounting. This itself would have been interesting, as McCormack appears to oscillate between complaining that Dr. Wright’s suit has bankrupted him and buying expensive cars, football clubs and taking out fraudulent loans.

On the eve of trial, the net result of all of this is that we will finally see Dr. Wright’s defamation case resolved in court, but on a very limited basis. Rather than a chance to see the much-talked-about evidence that Dr. Wright is Satoshi, some of which surfaced in last year’s Kleiman v Wright trial, McCormack has managed to engineer a situation where that can’t happen at all by abandoning almost all of his defense while still being able to cling to the hope of a pyrrhic victory if he can somehow argue that the tweets he now accepts were untrue did not seriously harm Dr. Wright’s reputation.

Trial begins on the morning of May 23, 2022.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]